Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Texas

Unique Conversion Near the Beach

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Location, uniqueness of older style hotel, clean
Cons: Some basic improvements in plumbing and newer windows that operate better. Beds are a little hard.
Location: Beach 1 block away and great restaurants.
The Shell is not quite a "resort", but has some unique charm. If you're looking for the Hyatt, go to the Hyatt. But if you want to experience an older, but quaint hotel near the beach, Shell is for you. It seems to have been an apartment building converted to hotel. But that in itself is unique and allows the imagination to flow imagining how it "used to be". Although older, it's very clean and only 1 block to the beach. In fact, you can see the ocean from the second floor balcony. The pool is crystal clear and well maintained. Be sure to bring a hair dryer and ask for an iron before 8pm. No room service here, but take advantage of the many great restaurants within walking distance. For the price, and with the right expectations, the Shell is a little gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel it self needs to be updated but location is great. Staff was great. Will stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Amy from Pa

poor. pics are very decieving

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place was very dirty. Toilet didnt work. Room dingy. Shower drain clogged. Tv didnt work. No alarm clocks. Only good thing was Staff was friendly and nice pool
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple and good for one night

Posted May 6, 2014
Hotel staff very friendly and stayed an extra 30mins after they were meant to leave to let us in as we were late due to delayed flights. Room was very clean but the bath looked very old (and grubby due to age) and the plug hole was blocked. Quite noisy due to clubs round the corner. Pool was lovely as was the courtyard. We only stayed one night after flying into Miami to start a road trip so was good for the price you pay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paula from Ft. Myers, FL

Hotel is safe, clean, and quiet.

Posted May 2, 2014
We found "The Shell" to be safe, clean, and quiet. It's no palace, but it offers good value to a budget conscious traveler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great value for money, good location and friendly

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 of us stayed here in late April 2014 for 2 nights. It was exactly what we needed. The room was nice, location was great, couldn't have asked for more for the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Madeline from Virginia

Small but pleasant

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Came down with my daughter to fort Lauderdale to have some fun. The hotel was at it's best location especially since the beach was right there. You could also rent bicycles and eat right in front of the beach. It was perfect. They accept dogs so that was a plus since I also broughtmy doggy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by cathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Hale from IN

Relaxation !

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay at the shell resort. My room was clean , the staff was very attentive to my needs. I got in early post cruise and management got right on getting a room ready for my family. Its not the Hilton but for the price and location I was very pleased. Thank you to the man working the counter !!!!!! My son left his IPod in the office where we had our bags waiting on room . After getting our rooms my son was looking for his iPod and its nowhere to be found so we thought he must have left it in the cab. Anyways after that excitement was dying down the gentleman from the office came to me with the IPod and that was a great feeling. Honesty and integrity . Cant wait to see the Shell after the upcoming renovations .