Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton Ab. Canada

Downtown location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The Merit was a great choice for location. Close to all amenities. Booked a 1 bedroom suite with kitchenette. Nice sitting area with pullout sofa bed. 2 flat panel TVs Large bedroom with 2 Queen beds. Great comfort. Super clean and Seattles Best coffee to boot. Bathroom was on the small side but neat and tidy. Defiantly will stay again on my next trip to Fort McMurray Ab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort McMurray

One of the best deals in Fort McMurray.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Cons: Improve the dining options, and renovate the lobby/main floor to make the restaurant/pub and lobby more connected.
Location: It is close to the college, and Heritage Park (which is closed at the time of this review), and I guess Showgirls...
This hotel is one of the cheaper places I was able to find in Fort McMurray. Positives: The room was clean and large and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the toiletries were restocked each day of my stay with quality products. The TV was decent with a fairly standard selection of channels. Negatives: The in hotel dining is not great and is quite expensive for what you get. I had the chicken wings and onion rings and while both were edible neither were anywhere close to the quality of a chain like Original Joes where the prices are if anything a little cheaper. They both seemed of the quality you get from a supplier like Bridge Brand and not made in house. The location is also quite out of the way for most people coming into the town for meetings and the like. It would take a cab ride to get to the central business district of downtown and this hotel is more in an industrial type of area. All in all I am pleased. The place was clean, quiet, and the service was great. There are hotels I have stayed in in Fort McMurray that I will admit I like a little more, but their slight improvements are not worth their larger price tag.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay, however

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, value for the money, close to amenities, comfortable clean room.
Cons: Some training for "someof the front desk staff"
Location: Not applicable
This is a nice place for a first timer in Fort McMurray like myself as it was accross the street from my new employer Keyano. The rooms are comfortable and right accross the street from a convenience store. The resturant was pricy but good, maybe a discount for guests would be an added touch. There was a young man who worked nights was extremely helpful as my wife and daughters and my own luggage was delayed. However, when I asked if the shuttle could take me to walmart to get a change of clothes for my wife, daughter and I the young lady was not so helpful, "call a cab" was the reply. Most all hotels in a city will provide a shuttle to and from the airport, and in cases of emergency such as this. The young ladies there at the desk were not friendly, the young man was new only 2 months there, new ! But the young ladies could take some lessons from him.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Donfrom Edmonton

Great room design for a working visit

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A quiet nights rest with a good breakfast at the attached restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Great staff. I was able to check in early with their help. I will stay there again on my next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton

Good hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Clean and good condition, bed appeared to be comfortable. Underground parking was nice feature and at no extra charge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just minutes away from the tittybar

Posted Jul 15, 2014
I was pretty wasted there. So don't remever much. But it seemed nice. I'll probably go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big Concern: $300.00 deposit on prepaid rooms!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Service and comfort of room.
Cons: The deposit is taken before the consent to take it is offered for signature. Deposit is a flat $300.00--not a percentage of the cost of the room.
Location: Fast food and college
Convenient and good value for the money. Guest should be cautioned about the $300.00 deposit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Deb

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com