Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and convenient

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Great view for carowinds. Very convenient and comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MastersTraveler from Newark,DE

Very good for one night sleep..

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: It's location was perfect for our roadtrip. The rooms have been just updated
Cons: There need to be a stand for your suitcase. The closet door was off track in my room. I did not call maintenance. There for one night...
Location: Within 1/2 to 3 miles there is a lot the eaters and shopping.
The hotel staff was very very very nice. The lobby had a light smokie smell and so did the hall area leading to your room. The smell was not in my room thou. I do not smoke so it is really easy for me to pick that sense up. The room was updated and was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice bathroom comfortable bed good overall

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Had a great time, enjoyed the television and wifi very comfortable bed and a small balcony
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Still needs work..!....$

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Three nite stay room was clean and neat. Wall paint was really bad paint job needed to be trim up neatly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty smelly hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The woman at the front desk
Cons: renovations
Location: you can see Carowinds out your window and gas was the cheapest next door than anywhere else we found
I did the Expedia "masked rate" for a discounted room before they revealed what hotel they booked, and unfortunately it was the ONE hotel my cousin who lives in the are told me to "avoid like the plague." I was unable to cancel the reservation because I booked through Expedia this way, so we sucked it up, but it was pretty bad. The front desk woman was very nice, but that was the only positive experience. The hotel has supposedly been bought out by new owners, but they haven't done much renovating to the inside and it smells awful. The sheets on the bed had cigarette burns and stains and when I asked for more towels, I was told they were "catching up on laundry." It didn't seem that anyone else was staying there, so I'm not sure why they were behind. I thought it wouldn't be that bad, but just pay the $5-10 a night extra for a nicer hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jjgaby from miami fl

Hotel close to carowinds

Posted Mar 30, 2014
I arrived early , no good idea because I have to wait till 3 , no rooms ready. The room looks update, the bed and pillows very comfortable . Even the hotel , looks update , the hallways got a weird smell , like old house/dusty/dirty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from McAllister

Honest Opinion

Posted Mar 29, 2014
This is my blunt honest experience at the Clarion in Fort Mill, SC. My overall experience at the location across from the Carowinds was between not acceptable and okay....let me explain. Upon check in, I was greeted by a very nice woman who sent me to the 10th floor. The elevator smelled like the carpet needed a little cleaning and as soon as I got off the elevator, a light unpleasant odor rushed through my nose. I brushed it off. When I entered inside the room, there was another unpleasant odor sort of like urine. I sprayed the room and bed with perfume because I didn't want my personal belongings to absorb the odor. The toilet flushed really slowly. Thought it would over flow lol. I had to pre run the shower because the hot water took a few minutes to kick in. The light fixture was broken to a point where you could see mold, wires, and rust behind the decorated lighting. It honestly spoiled my appetite for the evening. There are two laundry rooms in the building, one on the second floor and the other on the eighth. I used the second floor laundry because the 8th floor wash and dryer was dirty and broken. It was as if your clothes would get dirtier if you used that washer! I was a little disappointed but really enjoyed the balcony view, king sized bed, and decorated carpet. Wifi was great! Loved the cherry oak wood theme. I'd stay again for a cheaper price and different room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gerri from fort mill, SC

Very comfortable.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
We stayed 7 nights. Great bed. Pleasant stay. Very reasonable rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ken from Charleston, SC

Close to our business project

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed..close to business meeting we were in town to attend
Cons: construction completed. Trim work around tub and tiles broken.
Location: Carowinds, Time warner arena
Front desk lady rude and short with us when we asked questions about the area event parking we were attending.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Bed was comfortable.
Cons: Everything!
Location: There are several fast food restaurnts nearby and the entrance to the amusement park is a little more than a block away.
The pictures online are very misleading. The hotel needs a face lift/renovations/repairs and cleaning. I had a stain on the door that looked nasty. It could have been wiped off. The hallway walls going to my room needed repair. The room did not look or feel clean or smell clean; even the bathroom. It was too late to find another hotel. Did not like the location of the hotel. I had a lady watching me in the parking lot as if she knew me. She dropped someone off at the hotel and she came back near my car and slowed down. I will not go there again!