Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Just a little late

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Location
The hotel was very busy when we were there, and I think they should have had more staff available to work. Our room was not ready at check in so we left our bags and went out to do activities. When we came back everything was done and we had no further complaints. The restaurant at the hotel is very good, and their breakfast was good and well priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom n.c.

Dirty bathroom

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: good location
Cons: cleaning/odors
Location: golf tournament
The whole room and bathroom need a good cleaning. Terrible smell from carpet. Until they clean, I would not stay here again, no matter how cheap the rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Durham, NC

Get what you pay for-cheap hotel = cheap condition

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: The price was the only good thing. But even if it were free, I would not stay there again.
Cons: The whole entire hotel needs a thorough cleaning regularly. Everything had a grimy feel to it.
Location: Right next door to Carowinds amusement park. Otherwise, not much else within walking distance.
We were warned against choosing a hotel next to Carowinds, but the price was right. Hotel had overall musty smell. Cigarette butts all over the grounds; like it hadn't been swept in ages. Black marks on the toilet seat. Elevator buttons were greasy. Fingerprints on all the doors and windows. Just overall had a feeling of neglect; like nothing ever got thoroughly cleaned. During the day they made the beds but didn't replace the used cups and didn't throw out the trash. Would not recommend if you care about cleanliness. No complimentary breakfast; which we just assumed most Choice hotels had by now. On site restaurant was a Mexican restaurant. Hotel advertised a pool but the pool was empty. Some work was being done on site so there were a lot of workmen horsing around at all hours outside in the parking lot.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Myrtle Beach, SC

SOOOOO OUTDATED !

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: other than PRICE .....nothing at all
Cons: update....update....update. then hire front counter people that at least act like they care to be there.
Location: Carowinds Park.
The entrance to this place is pretty nice. The hallways to the rooms had NO a/c on, and the wallpaper in the hallways were bubbled real bad everywhere. Will have to say the carpet looked pretty new in the hallways (as well as the room) Now as far as the room itself....bathtub had mildew all around the edge of the tub. and lets just say the room furniture as well as decor seemed to be from the late 80's or early 90's . Bed was a little on the FIRM side.Step outside to the pool and it looked as if it hadn't been painted since the 80's. Tennis court (although i don't play tennis ) surly hasn't been even looked at since the 80's.BUT I MUST SAY, to be right at Carowinds, the price was good. SINGLE KING BED room on Monday 5/11/15 was only 79.00 for the one night. The 2 different counter attendants cared less if I was even there. NO MATTER how low the price was, rest assured I will not be staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom raleigh nc

Working stay

Posted May 8, 2015
Spent little time in room but always found it clean and kept. Coffee pot leaked .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Cons: The coffee cups were dirty and we had to ask for more. The sliding glass door would open but was very shaky.
Location: Really convenient to Carowinds.
Overall, it was worth what we paid and would stay again. I'm not a hotel snob but I like clean up to date hotels. This one fit the bill for the most part.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

On our way.

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: On our way.
Cons: No free breakfast.
Location: Carowinds.
We needed a halfway point on our trip back home from Florida. This hotel was convenient BUT if you were going to Carowinds Amusement Park; this would be great as you could see the park from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hot Springs, AR

Second class Expedia citizen at a 2nd class hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Location was the only that met our needs.
Cons: Everything, it's a shabby rundown piece of garbage.
Tried to register at 2:00pm check in time 3:00pm. No problem we would wait. At 2:45 a Texas Quidditch team was allowed to check in early, going to the same World Cup event as us. Finally allowed to check in at 3:30. Tried to register my rewards account, was mold because we used the cheaper Expedia rate we were not eligible for rewards or amenities. Was given a room on the 5th floor at the very end in a small alcove. Room had a very definite sour smelling odor. Cleaning staff was on the floor they came in and sprayed a deodorizer. A/C was off, turned it on. Six hours later very little improvement in temp or odor correction. No assistance from front desk to change room. Was told the customers who made reservation directly with them had priority. Not a very helpful attitude for an AARP member. Thankfully we had a full thre days of activities associated with the 8th Annual Quidditch World Cup and had to spend minimal time in this unsatisfactory room. Will never use Expedia or Clarion again if this is how AARP members are treated.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Close to Carowinds - but a little shabby

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Location: Carowinds and Cabelas
Check in went smoothly, I heard them tell several people on the phone they were booked for the night. The hotel was perfect in its location to Carowinds' entrance, but I was a little disappointed in the hotel itself. While newer furniture and vanities in the bathroom have been installed, you can still feel the age of this hotel. The work seemed to be just on the surface. Things still felt a little shabby. There was not an iron in the room, which I think is pretty standard these days. Also the drain in the shower did not drain very well. I ended up standing in water while showing. I will be trying out other hotels in the area next time we visit Carowinds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First room Yuk

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: The front desk staff was very pleasant
Cons: These hotels need to repair broken plaster makes a room look scary
Location: Just a place to stop on way north
First room was dirty, food container left beside TV, light bulbs missing all around the room, remote missing. Front Desk very nice let me check out another room and that was better but needed updating. Had a comfortable night. Would stay again if in the area.