Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older but comfortable bed

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The bed
Cons: Common areas, bathrooms and desks need attention.
Location: walking distance to Carrowinds.
The hotel is a bit run down, but the bed is comfortable. There were a lot of TV channels, but they were hard to navigate through as they were not in order. The desk was built for a giant. I had to stand up at it. The toilet ran really slowly and the AC was not real cold. All of these things were pretty minor individually, but all together make for a less than desirable property. Just needs TLC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hope mills nc

Close to carowinds

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Was very convenient to the amusement park and had a great breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Classic case of good photographer and not so great hotel. Breakfast was pretty good, but there was a weird old musty smell as soon as I walked in and got worse went through the halls to my room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Carowinds

Posted Jul 14, 2014
everything was nice but it would have been nicer if the ice machine was on each floor and since this hotel is right next to Carowinds if they had some kind of shuttle service also with the amount of people eating breakfast and wanting waffles they need more then 2 waffle makers
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrensburg, MO

A little run down

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Rooms and hallways need some work. Crumbling sheet rock, etc. smoke smell is bad.
After the lobby the hotel was kind of run down and smoky. Good breakfast though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winsron Salem

Stayed overnight. Summer 2014

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Love location so close to #Carowinds. 1 worker at entrance and doing work of 5. Placed in room 25. Air wouldnt cool room, coke machine jams. No ice either on the vending area. 3 floor works. But take stairs elevator is scary and quite slow. Love the view of a brick wall too. Pool very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Initial view misleading

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Very good complimentary hot breakfast
Cons: Not have NON-SMOKING rooms on a SMOKING floor
Location: Next to Carowinds
Outside of hotel looks nice; nice lobby. Then went to our NON-SMOKING room and hallway smelled like a a smoking area. Was told by staff that half the hall is smoking rooms and half is non-smoking. Unfortunately, the smoke and it's smell, didn't know where to stop in the hallway. Also, my NON-SMOKING room had a toilet lid with an old cigarette burn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, NC

Only benefit was convenience to Carowinds

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Convenience to Carowinds
Cons: EVERYTHING - upgrade rooms, repair water damage, replace soiled and damaged linens, remove items that aren't usable, like the safes
Location: Carowinds
I don't think I have ever stayed in a more filthy or poorly kept hotel. Considering the 3.9 out of five stars given by users I expected to be getting my money's worth and not the one issue after another that we ran into. The hallways were filled with smoke even though we were in a no smoking room. The bathroom had extensive water damage and what appeared to be mold and mildew along the upper wall above the shower head and down the side of the edge of the surround. The tub drain made dripping noises constantly. Upon arrival at 9:00 p.m. there was a 'be right back' sign on the counter and a lobby full of guests that indicated that they had been waiting about 15 minutes. When we got checked in and into our room, we took the comfortors off the bed and the blankets were full of cigarette burns. When I went into the bathroom shortly after arrival I noticed ants crawling up the walls. My husband called the front desk to see if there were any other rooms and were told that the only thing left were smoking rooms. We tried to use the remote control to change the TV only to discover that the older TV in our room only got the first 20 channels and that if we'd had a 'flat screen' like some of the other rooms had we would have about 100 channels. The next day as we were getting ready to go to the amusement park, I had gathered several things to put into the safe in the closet and found it locked. The front desk said they had lost the contract with the vendor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ron J from New York

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was courteous, the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Although I wasn't there for the Carowinds Amusement park, the location was right off of the interstate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Judy from Dublin, VA

convienent

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff very attentive and friendly. The entrance to the hotel had huge pot holes and was in much need of repair. We will definitely stay there again.Great breakfast with ample seating area.