Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, nc

Nice location to Carowinds

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Clean rooms, great breakfast and nice friendly staff. Would book with Expedia again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton

Rollercoaster break room

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Staff, clean
Cons: Updated
Location: Carowinds is 10 minute walk.
Booked due to being close to Carowinds. Facility is old, dated. But staff was super, free breakfast was good and rooms were super clean. All things considered - for the price it is a great choice. I would stay again. Be aware - pool is small, no elevator and beds are soft (but I slept well anyway). You could walk to Carowinds - but it is a bit far.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Carowinds In Walking Distance

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Greatest feature is that the hotel is in walking distance to Carowinds which eliminates having to pay $10 for parking. Plus you get to walk off the morning breakfast and all day eating at the park. The room was nice and very comfortable bed. Not sure what everyone who gave it a thumbs down was drinking but if you want the Mariott or Embassy Suites then pay those prices to get that lavish benefits. Otherwise, for the money, this is one of the best hotels near the attraction with a convenience store and Wendy's close by. Will stay again and it is a steal. Maybe some folks make bad complaints in hopes of getting free stays on there next visit, but I am sure that this is yet one of the best hotels to stay in that is close to the park. The continental breakfast could be expanded to have two service lines, but I think it's sufficient enough to get the job done with just one line if people are civilized and use some patience and common courtesy instead of acting like savages and then don't even eat all the food that they crammed on their plate preventing someone from getting a muffin that was being wasted by a gluten. Good hotel, keep up the good work and will stay again...no doubt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Hotel with Partial Updating

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Location to my appointment the next day
Cons: replace the finishes in rooms that still have the smoker's smell. Ensure the hot breakfast items can be maintained hot.
Location: this hotel is across the street entrance from Carowinds Amusement park off I-77 south of Charlotte, NC just inside the SC line.
This is a budget hotel which has had some upgrades/updating recently, but the hotel is still a third tier hotel. My room smelled like strong cleaners to offset decades of old smoking even though the hotel is now 100% smoke free. even my clothes picked up the smell when I got home the next day! Breakfast was ok, but nothing fancy. Cold biscuits and sausage patties, no microwave to reheat. Other items which I didn't try were scrambled eggs, several types of bread/bagels, yogurt and waffles. Hotel was a bit noisy. I paid $80/night and I would have considered this a $60/night hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Excellent guest services and rooms very nice!

Posted Jun 11, 2015
As stated above! Excellent guest service and delicious free breakfast!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced - just an OK hotel

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Convenient for my needs
Cons: bugs in my room
Location: N/A - business trip
Prices were cheaper through Expedia than calling directly to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Nice buffet breakfast, limited selections but good.
Location: Easy on/off I-77.
Room had very nice bed and was located in relatively quiet area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel for the price!!!

Posted May 17, 2015
Staff was helpful and kind. Hotel clean and updated, microwave, fridge. Pool was in good condition. Nice hot breakfast. For the price, can not beat it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, clean room with great staff

Posted May 2, 2015
Everyone was so accommodating and friendly. I enjoyed interacting with everyone. They made me feel like a guest, not just a customer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dorsel from Beckley

TRIP TO SOUTH CARLONIA

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
GREAT LOCATION,CLEAN,QUALITY STAFF.GOOD BREAKFAST.