Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toledo, Ohio

Captiva Charm

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Proximity to beach. Quiet area. Nice size room and kitchenette combo.
Cons: New A/c units.
Location: Beach place for sure. Fun family friendly restaurants.
Had a nice two night visit to Captiva. It's all about the beach for us. This "inn" fits the vibe and character of Captiva. The cottage was nicely outfitted and the colors of the paint let you know you were in Captiva (same motif as their sister adjoining restaurants). It's a bit worn, humid and smells of bleach ( but that is better than something else-and it's clean). It was quiet, had separate sitting and sleeping areas and a small but functional kitchenette area. The bathroom was standard and functional. The bed and real down pillows were very comfortable. I liked the loud window a/c units because I like white noise ( my wife not so much). The ceiling fan in sitting room was great. The tv was great and turned for either room. And the beach was a short walk away. We would come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster & Worcester, Ma

Great location, beautiful "honeymoon suite"

Posted Mar 29, 2015
We were greeted in a business formal way and discovered all along the 3 day stay in captiva that the hotel staff and staff at area resturants were all lacking warmth. Nonetheless...the Captiva Inn is cute and perfectly located. The only two issues w had were that while our suite had a coffee maker there was no coffee or filters. (Even cheap motels provide this extra amenity)....and we had to leave at 4:30 am in our last day so couldn't use our free breakfast voucher. At the end of our late breakfast 12:00 (at the resturant that provides the said breakfast) I asked if perhaps we could get a bagel, muffins or fruit to put in our fridge that day and take in the morning. The waiter said no because all tj's breakfast items were put away. Disappointing. No nightlife after 10 pm...we had s nice time but won't go back again...too many other gun places to explore!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Waldorf, MD

Very close to the beach but no coffeemaker

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Clean and close to the beach
Cons: Coffeemaker
Location: It's close to many bars/restaurants but every closes very early.
The cottage was very cute but no Hyatt. It was very comfortable and clean. The bathtub faucet had a crack down the middle but posed no problem. There was no coffeemaker but disappointed me. I loved that it was close to the beach. The island is very laid-back so don't look for any night-life. Everything closes about 8-9:00 pm. I love the quaintness.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pa

Great for the price

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Close to beach, bike rental and good restaurants. Music at the restaurant next door that we could enjoy on our patio.
Cons: Sheets that fit the bed. Keep the noise down in the early morning. There was a motion detection light outside our cottage that went on all night long.
Location: Well located. you can walk to everything. Beach is very close.
close to restaurants and beach. Noisy in the mornings as it is located close to other businesses. Included breakfasts were great. Bed not that great. Price was good for this expensive town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic Accommodations Close To The Beach

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Parking is a huge issue...there is none. A lot of SMALL things about the hotel room itself could be improved upon. The balcony door is so hard to open I had to get my husband to do it every time; many blown out light bulbs throughout, the stench from the restaurant next door (dirty grease trap maybe?) is horrendous and wafts right up into this room, the spindles on the balcony are cracked or broken. Nothing overtly horrible, the room WAS CLEAN but there were small touches that would have made it a better place to stay. It's not where I'd stay again if I made the same trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paulfrom Sonoma County, California

A Budget Cottage in an EXCELLENT Location!

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
The Captiva Inn is a small set of budget cottages in the midst of a fairly dense beach-oriented tourist area. As such, it is undoubtedly the best economic bargain on the island and among the best on neighboring Sanibel as well. Another positive is the gratis breakfast that guests can enjoy at the restaurant in front of the cottages. But I would emphasize "budget" in this review-- luxury it is not. The rooms are small and Spartan, the en suite kitchen is lacking most amenities that one expects to find there (e.g., a coffee maker), the TV is the size of a laptop screen, and (at least in our unit, the "Sunflower") WWW connectivity was exceptionally poor. And I might add that the bed mattress seriously needs replacement. Oh, one more: the Sunflower directly abuts the restaurant and the latter features live entertainment on most nights-- which translates to a somewhat loud evening if you stay in the room at that time. But all that being said, the location is excellent, the price is excellent, and the staff services are more than acceptable. I was with my wife on this trip and I'm not sure if she would want to return to the Captiva Inn, but I would readily do so were I alone and on a limited budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jeneenefrom Cincinnati

Best value on Captiva!

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Terrific place and the best value on Captiva. We had a darling little cottage with a kitchen for less than most rooms there. The breakfast was amazing. Crab cakes Benedict at Key Lime Bistro, served up until noon, included in the price of the room. I would recommend this place to anyone. The only small downside is that parking is shared with the restaurants, but we always found a spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Fort Myers, FL

Wonderful Experience

Posted Dec 16, 2014
My husband and I stayed in Cottage 10 our first night which while it was beautiful, could have used a good dusting. The cable was out in the cottage and when we notified the front desk about the situation they moved us to the Violet Villa #13. What an upgrade! I was totally floored by how beautiful this villa was. The fact that we were able to have a real full breakfast every morning was wonderful. I get that they wanted you to go to their coffee shop to buy their coffee instead of putting coffee pots in the rooms, however some people like myself and my husband are early risers and need coffee well before the coffee shop or restaurants open. So a coffee pot or instant coffee would have been nice. Also, when I reserved our cottage it was because the web said that they had a hot tub. I knew that after all the craziness of our wedding I would want to soak in a hot tub. We asked where it was only to find out that it had not worked for 2 years and that it "Wasn't going to be fixed today". That was VERY DISAPPOINTING! The sunsets and food at the Muckey Duck are Fabulous! You have to Check it out! And the little store down the street called YOLO is awesome too! We had a great time and wonderful Honeymoon!
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom f

Great great location

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Room was musty smelling but clean. Many things in bathroom in need of repair Decor very very outdated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenniferfrom Florida

Cute place

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the price, this place is great. It's nothing fancy, and could use some upgrades, but it was a great location and fine for what we paid. I didn't realize our room was a suite, which was a nice surprise. We were also given meal vouchers for breakfast at one of the neighboring restaurants. If you're looking for an affordable place, stay here. If you're looking for something fancy with more service, increase your budget and find somewhere else.