Ratings based on 1,184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation Getaway for 2!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the massage place on site was very convenient.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a jacuzzi tub.
Location: Nemo's on Beach is a great restaurant with great food! The Lazy Flamingo had the best Seafood. Go visit Sanibel Island & the Mercado in Naples
This is by far the best Hotel right on the beach in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Staff was extremely friendly and greeted as soon as we pulled up and actually took our things to our room. Construction was taking place at the restaurant bar at the hotel during the week we stayed so that was a little disappointing. Instead of a $100.00 voucher we were given a $200.00 voucher to sit through a talk for a real estate agent sell us a 1 week time share for $15,000.00 that took 2.5 hours. I did not mind the voucher, but being on vacation I wish I could have gotten my time back. When I booked on expedia I paid more for ocean front on the beach level, but I was put in the highest floor of the hotel in the nicest room which was ok, but it would have been nice to get what I initially paid extra for which was approximately 40 dollars more per day for 6 nights. I enjoyed my time there and it was very nice, only complaints were that we ran out of kleenex that was not replaced and small ants were in the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Great Hotel: access to Everglades and Sanibel

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: it copuld be a bit prettier
Location: see above
Un-prepossessing, an ugly giant overlooking pretty well everything else on Fort Myers Beach, but the guest experience was altogether different. Really friendly and helpful staff (Derek and David), comfortable room with all we could wish for, plus exceptional view over the beach (white sands and an occasional dolphin playing off-shore), clean well equipped gym. And reasonably priced. And from there we explored – the Everglades in a day long eco-tour, Fort Myers (Edison and Ford's holiday mansions) and the duckboard walk thru the 6 Mile Cypress Nature reserve and multiple trips to Sanibel and Captiva Island – bird watching, kayaking though the Mangroves and great meals (Mad Hatters and Key Lime Café stand out)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great hotel, great location

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Great location, great resort, great beach, great staff.
Cons: Two days out of six, our room was not cleaned before 5:00 which was very inconvenient. As stated above, food was sub-optimal.
Spent Thanksgiving week at Diamond head resort. We usually go to the Cayman Islands, but wanted to stay domestic this year. Expectations were optimistically high. We arrived at the resort, and Marika, at the front desk, could not have been nicer or more welcoming. Our room, on the 8th floor, was FANTASTIC! Beach front, excellent location. Other good things: the location was close enough to "town square" Fort Myers Beach where restaurants and shopping was located, but still far enough away that there was not a lot of foot traffic. The beach was wonderful, the pool, very nice. They had NFL ticket so we were able to see our team play on Sunday which was terrific. Now for the "negative": The restaurants on site (Chloe's and Cabana Charlie's) were definitely not to the standard of the resort. We had lunch at Cabana Charlie's a few times, mainly because it was on campus. The food was unremarkable at best, boring and bland for the most part. Dinner at Chloe's was even worse. I had high hopes for this restaurant as it advertised a water view location and great food. The dining room was dim and dull, with a very dated feel to it. Our server was quite nice, but could not make up for the dismal dining experience. I ordered the Snapper which came with a gloppy, heavy sauce and the worst potatoes I have ever had. My husband's dinner was marginally better. He also had seafood and the potatoes. At least the wine was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Cons: One thing we did not appreciate was waking up to two phone calls on our first morning asking if we wanted to attend the mtg for a timeshare at hotel.
We stayed for two nights while visiting family in FL and overall we were very pleased with the hotel. We asked to switch rooms upon check-in because we wanted a room with a sunset view and hotel staff easily accommodated us. Only problem was we were put in a handicap room right over the air conditioning unit - view was great though and we loved waking up with the view of the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Plainfield, IN

Absolutely Beautiful Resort and view!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Maybe a bigger selection on the menus. The food was really good!
Location: Beach location is awesome! Walk to the pier and there is plenty of restaurants and shops!
I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed staying at Diamond Head. Everyone there is so nice, helpful, and attentive to your needs. We bought a time share while we were there and are so much looking forward to our future vacations with them.....as owners!! We couldn't have asked for anything more than what we experienced!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by SunStreamResorts, Hotel Management
Dear Brenda, Thank you very much for staying with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa on Fort Myers Beach and for becoming a Vacation Club owner. Nothing pleases me more than knowing you received fantastic service and had a wonderful overall experience. We truly do strive to exceed your expectations at every opportunity. Thank you again and we are looking forward to seeing you back in the future. Sincerely, Neil Hopgood - General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Not bad.....Could be better

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Had an 11th floor room with an excellent view. One bedroom suite with kitchen and 2 televisions was nice. Large screened-in furnished balcony was nice
Cons: Maid service was bad. Would be nice if you could get a complimentary cup of coffee like most hotels.
Location: Water sports and wave runner rentals were abundant and within walking distance. Rentals at this hotel were the most expensive in the area.
Found this resort online at the last minute. Went for a four day three night stay. The view was nice and the pool was ok. The bartender at "Cabanas" was on the spot, however the poolside service did not live up to expectation. The server passed us up several times, even after being generously tipped for the initial order. Overall, the service at the bar, the restaurant, and maid service was sub-par. The day we checked in we made arrangements for a wave runner dolphin tour for the next morning. When we arrived we were told we would not be able to go on the tour because a staff member did not show up for work that day. Fortunately they made arrangements with another hotel to accommodate our tour. Eventually found out that wave runner rentals and tours are cheaper at other locations nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by SunStreamResorts, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and your time at Cabana's Beach Bar. Our staff always strives to give our guests the best service and I'll be making sure that we keep our award winning reputation in good order. I do apologize for the dolphin tour issue, the company that runs the tours and serves our guests is an important relationship for our hotel and I'll be making sure issues like this don't happen in the future. Thank you again and we do hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Neil Hopgood - General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen, UK

Expensive for what you get

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Decor and price
Location: 5 minute walk to an area of shopping/eateries etc. only other hotels immediately adjacent.
Great staff and food. Small clean room, but very expensive for what we got. Good Tv picture and stations. External hallways on room floors were very dark and dingy. This hotel developed on very small footprint of land so felt somewhat claustrophobic. Small pool. Right on the (clean) beach but sea here not quite as blue as photos suggest was a murky grey colour. I note that hotel group seems to own many similar hotels in the area which possibly explains similar pricing of all hotels (expensive for what you get). Paid for a gulf view room, which did provide a view of gulf, but also of many of the balconies of adjacent rooms and thus their guests (not quite the point). This was our first experience of Fort Myers Beach having decided to spend a few days here after a holiday in Orlando. Fort Myers is totally overdeveloped in my view so that plus not quite a nice a beach as I had expected plus high room costs for what we got means we would not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by SunStreamResorts, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our one-bedroom suites are much larger than your normal hotel room, we give guests a complete living room, kitchenette, large balcony, and separate bedroom. The Gulf of Mexico does have seasons just like the weather. We are currently in the rainy season so the water does turn darker, but in the spring and summer the water is a gorgeous blue-green color that we know you would enjoy. We believe Fort Myers Beach is a special place that is very charming, not over-developed like Daytona, Fort Lauderdale or Miami. We are a special spot that many people love. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Neil Hopgood - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Directly on the beach, nice beach bar, good food in hotel restaraunt, very nice clean rooms with good sized kitchenette, 5-10 minute walk to Times Square. Only con, didn't want to hear about the time share opportunities!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jax Beach, FL

Excellent hotel - no complaints at all.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent location not far from restaurants, bars and shops.
Staff very professional and friendly. Loved the large balcony and suite very comfortable. Great view of Gulf and city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by SunStreamResorts, Hotel Management
Dear Ramona, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa on beautiful Fort Myers Beach. Nothing makes me happier than knowing our staff was able to help give you a great experience. Your happiness is always our number one goal. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your suite and large balcony as well. Thank you again and we do hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Neil Hopgood - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

five stars

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Awesome!!!! Clean, big, every room has excellent views of beach. Friendly awesome staff! This was my second stay here. I will for sure be going back and recommending this place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by SunStreamResorts, Hotel Management
Dear Sherri, Thank you very much for staying with us again and for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. I'm excited to hear that you had another fantastic experience and enjoyed your beach-view suite. There's nothing like sitting out on your balcony and watching the pelicans fly by and the waves roll ashore. Thank you again and we do hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Neil Hopgood - General Manager