Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from Pittsburgh

A great value on Sanibel Island

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sanibel Moorings is an excellent value when staying on Sanibel Island. The accommodations, the location and the grounds are outstanding. We have been going to Sanibel Moorings for more than 30 years, and we have never been disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by ks, Hotel Management
Thanks for the positive review. We are so pleased you had another great stay at Sanibel Moorings. All of our guests are special, but we love seeing our "returners" every year! Hurry back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet condo right on the beach

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Quiet well manicured condo development. Nice beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Your input is important to us. We work very hard to maintain pristine grounds at our property. Thanks for telling us that you enjoyed the peace and quiet. Sometimes you just need to get away from all of the hustle and bustle of the city. Our beach area is gorgeous- especially this time of year. We are hoping you got to see plenty of sea life and that you went home with a bunch of interesting shells. We hope to see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maureen from Pennsylvania

Beautiful accommodations!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
This was a fabulous condo- the facilities were ideal, close to everything. We have no complaints. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location a few steps from the beach. It was an ideal experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RAY from cmch NJ

excellent stay in Sanibel great location

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: clean, comfortable, home like, beautiful
Cons: zoning for air conditioning was an issue in my unit. 1 bedroom units were somewhat small but we were only in the unit at night
Location: bike path kayaking 'DaRLING " NATIONAL PARK, HIKING SHELLING BIRD WATCHING, GREAT RESTURANTS, SOMEWHAT PRICEY BUT NO MORE THAN NORTHEAST PRICES
wonderful staff, great gardens onsite bike rental and kayak use, every condo was no more then 10 minutes walk to the beach, beach chairs and umbrellas on site. beautiful gardens, garden tour was exceptional, Anita was wonderful, the person who manages the gardens, The staff was the best I have ever dealt with. Prices for incidentals ie soap towels, etc were fair. I would advise to buy groceries off the island. The condos are well equipped and comfortable. I did have very minor issues with the set up but all in all the unit was a 3.8 out of 4. I am already planining my next trip with my entire family. This will be my vacation of choice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nan from Omaha, NE

Exceptional Beach Condo

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Bed pillows were hard, but a quick trip to Target took care of that.
Location: Location near the Bridge worked great for us as we had an early departing flight. We were near the Marina and enjoyed a ride on the Sanibel Thriller.
We were delighted with this spacious condo and the access to the beach. We also enjoyed salt water pool and the "botanical garden" reputation of Sanibel Moorings. It was beautiful. We will definitely come back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cat from New Jersey

2nd Stay, Great Experience

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: quiet, private, botanical garden, business center
Location: 2 mile walk on the beach to the lighthouse, kayak and paddle board rentals on site, a quick drive to shops and restaurants
This was our 2nd time at The Moorings. We like it becasue it's on the beach, quiet, with lush landscaping, and a good walk to the lighthouse. I've always found the staff friendly and helpful. We've stayed in two different rooms, and they've been clean and comfortable. While I don't cook much on vacation, it's nice to have the option with a full kitchen. This year, the air condidtion did not work well in the bedroom, though. The duct vent is not centrally located in the room. Maybe a ceiling fan would help to keep the bedroom cooler. Other than that, it was a comfortable stay. I anticipate going back to The Moorings next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lucy from Staten Island, NY

Beautiful , peaceful and tranquil. Will go back

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: The privacy, cleanliness, and beauty
Location: The restaurants are great. Food is delicious and reasonable. Billy's Bikes is run by the nicest sweetest people
Sanibel Moorings is so peaceful. The grounds are so pretty. We loved the privacy and the staff was so accommodating and helpful. There are so many positive aspects. Ex: your own parking spot, the condo was decorated so appropriately for the beach it was the best. Air conditioning was so cold and felt great everyday. That was a huge plus. The hotel offers beach chairs and umbrellas, kayaks and bikes for free. Even the laundry room was spotless! There was only one drawback that had nothing to do with the hotel. The beach water was clean but brown. The local lake poured its overflow into the ocean causing the color. This was throughout Sanibel. We drove up to Captiva-20 minutes away. Water was better. I hope next year the Sanibel waters are blue again and I will be back to Sanibel Moorings
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kalina from Orlando

Nice condo close to the beach and restaurants.

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: Great location and helpful staff. Beautiful botanical gardens! Right on the beach.
Cons: Mattress had very little support.
Location: Beach, restaurants, shopping. Ice cream, bike riding, kayaking.
We had a great time at Sanibel Moorings, very clean and great linen service. Very nice and helpful staff. Close to amenities, restaurants and shops. Our bed/mattress was a little too soft. Overall great experience and will definitely return. Also very dog friendly, although we did not take our dog this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul from Northeastern Pa.

Great place, great location

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Proximity to beach, cleanliness of the resort, accommodating staff
Location: We enjoyed meals from Island Cow and ice cream from Pinocchio's.
This was our first trip to Sanibel Island. We stayed for a long weekend in August. Three adults, two children (including a 4 month old). The condo and resort were both very clean. We loved the proximity to the beach and the option of a beautiful pool. The grounds are well maintained and the staff is friendly. The resort allowed us to check-in a little early and they had the crib ready to go that we requested prior to our arrival. We would definitely be recommending this resort and would love to come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kara from Kansas City, MO

Great for families

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: The location, the full kitchen, the grounds.
Cons: More beach umbrellas! Also, the brick walkways between buildings were oddly painful to walk on with bare feet, flip flops are recommended!
Location: JN. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge, Tarpon Bay nature tours, parasailing, jet skis, and boat rentals on Ft. Myers Beach!
We stayed in a 2-bedroom condo and found it clean, comfortable, and in great shape. The full kitchen was well stocked with dishes, glasses, utensils, pots, pans, casserole dishes, even wine glasses and tupperware! We bought breakfast food and made sandwiches for the most part, but it was great to be able to make anything we wanted. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the grounds of the resort are gorgeous: they truly are a botanical garden with all sorts of wonderful plants and critters living in them. Although thankfully none of the lizards found their way into our rooms, I can imagine myself as a kid having a ball trying to catch them. The beach was well maintained and we always found chairs, but umbrellas were scarce. I thought it was annoying that beach towels were rentals only, but they were only $5 for the duration of the stay, so not unreasonable. We ended up using our shower towels instead and that was fine. They do have two small, clean pools on the property if you'd prefer to not swim in the Gulf. The water around Sanibel isn't very clear, especially in summer when we went, but the beach was lovely to walk along, pick up shells, or just sit and read.