Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but noisey

Posted Apr 8, 2015
The staff was great. The location can not be beat! We stayed in the motel building and had the perfect views for sunsets . The whole place is loaded with charm! One warning- if you are wanting quiet choose a cottage NOT the motel!!! The walls are floors are paper thin and you will hear every move your neighbors make and every word of every conversation. Great for loud families but not for a peaceful stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware County PA

Nice stay at the beach

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The hotel is steps from the beach. The room has a balcony which was a very nice feature with screen at each end providing adequate privacy.
Cons: The owners need to begin renewing the room interiors. The flooring and trim shows signs of wear.
Location: Besides walking the beaches and biking there aren't many other attractions. The place is very low key.
The weather was good enough at the beginning of the week then became "to die for" good. This is important since there really isn't much else to do in Sanibel unless you can go outside. The motel is middle of the road in terms of condition it is right on the beach and that is one very special asset it has going for it. Shortly after arriving at the room we noticed 2 Queen sized beds instead of a king size bed. We were told after asking that there are a limited number of king size beds available. This is not obvious from the online ad. Maid service is not available unless the stay is for a whole week, this too was not obvious from the ad. The staff we encountered is very pleasant and helped us with renting bikes, reasonably priced, which we did once the weather cleared. There were some surprises. Driving can be tedious due to the 30 mph speed limit throughout the island with occasional 25 mph posts. Restaurants and shops are fairly spread out so driving is a must unless you can bike and tote goods purchased. The pace is slow and very relaxing. The island is beautiful and virtually everything we saw was well maintained. You might have to be creative with small children to keep them occupied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful sunsets

Posted Feb 7, 2015
If you stay in the motel rooms, all the rooms face the beach and you will see beautiful sunsets from your lani. Not all the cottages have a view of the beach. The staff was very friendly and is available from 8:00am until 9:00pm. No one on duty after that. There is no maid service, but they have a very nice towel, linen exchange where you can get anything for your room. Actually that turned out nice, because you were not being bothered by anyone coming into your room. We would stay there again for a short stay. If staying more than a week we would need a larger place. Kitchen area small. They have bike rentals. Very easy beach access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradford, Ohio

Nice Motel Right on the Beach

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: You can't get any closer to the beach. Wonderful beachfront view and able to sit on the lanaii each night and watch the sunset.
Cons: The rooms were very clean but they could be updated. The manager told me he had 4 rooms updated last year and plan on working on more later.
Location: Sanibel Island is our favorite vacation spot and Shalimar is located in the center of it all.
We had a very nice experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The manager bent over backwards to please his quests. He even hosted a social night with free shrimp, chicken wings, etc., and beverages including beer. The room was very clean and the bed looked new. The mattress was firm and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Beach Front Property

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Loved this place. We travel a lot and would love to come back. Very clean and everything you need. Beach was six steps from our door. Bed was so comfy. Kitchen had everything to cook all our meals. A++
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire UK

Cottage with a Gulf View

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Quiet and well maintained nice pool.
Cons: Beach chairs supplied could be a bit more comfortable
Location: Beach, shops and restaurants a short distance away on the Gulf Coast quiet relaxing location wild life drive close by Alligators birds etc.
Eighth visit superb location close to the beach 30seconds walk. Beaches quiet shells everywhere. Staff helpful and friendly. Cottages have just been decorated. Friends stayed in a Motel efficiency super view of the beach and the Sunset rooms spacious and well equipped..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Peaceful getaway? NOT!!!

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
Our neighbors decided to start arguing at 5 in the morning. I figured i would call the front desk to ask them to be quiet. All i got was a recording. No after hours numbers or answering service to help. At 7 i banged on the neighbors door which shut them up. Ahhh sunday morning and i can sleep in a bit now. Nope, the hotel had a guy show up at 8 and he started cutting tile outside all of our doors on his LOUD tile saw. We WON'T be staying there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Right across from the beach

Posted Sep 25, 2014
This is a small hotel very clean right across from the beach. The room is a ikea decor room. After being on the beach I see why they have no carpet easy to clean. The bed was comfy. The elevator was really tiny. The hotel has free parking which is a plus in Fort Lauderdale. If you are wanting a local place to stay and located next to some reaturants and shopping and across from the ocean this is it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spotsylvania, VA

An older facility, but nice.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly people in the office. It was right on the beach!
Cons: A few things could be updated. They were doing some renovations while we were there because it was off season.
Location: There were lots of really good restaurants close by. A few were closed because it was September.
It was very close to the beach. We were on the first floor and the people above walked around a lot. The floors were not very solid and there was noise from above. The management was very helpful. Everything else was fine.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by AandE from Tampa

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels
The rooms are comfortable enough- I stayed 3 nights with my boyfriend. They were clean and well maintained. Noise is an issue though... There is no privacy on the balconies, as each room is divided only by a privacy wall, not a fully enclosed patio. The desk service was very friendly and accommodating. The pool area was clean and well maintained. My biggest complaints- the no" see ums" were horrible. I have hundreds, literally hundreds of bites... I wish someone would have warned me. And the ice is only located at the pool. They don't keep the freezers stocked. The pool towels are really small- bring your own... Everyone pretty much kept to themselves... So if the ice, the island issue of no seem ums, and the patios, aren't an issue for you- this is a very relaxing place to be. The neighborhood is great... And the grounds are very well maintained.