Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great beach front location and very nice grounds.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Quiet beach at your doorstep.mThe rooms were nice with great beach view from the screened
Cons: Next time I'd opt for a cottage rather than a room as long as the cottage is beachfront.
Location: Bicycles on site were a great way to get arround and it is only a short ride to JN "Ding" Darling preserve as well as many resturaunts and shopping.
After spending a disappointing night in Ft Meyers we checked into the Shalimar and all was good again. For a resort that was booked to capacity you'd never know it, plenty of space on the beach and within the grounds. We found our stay very relaxing and relatively private. The kitchenette was sufficient and well equipped. There is limited resturaunts within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barb & Bill from Ontario Canada

Dated hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The grounds were neat and the pool area was private and well cared for. We really enjoyed our screened in lanai area.
Cons: The motel units were not insulated for sound. We could hear every footstep in the unit above us and every sound made in the units beside us.
Location: This is a wonderful island for families. Lots to do & see, and many places to eat. While we enjoyed our five day stay, it was too busy for us.
We enjoyed our stay in the motel efficiency unit. The hotel is very close to the shore line and very convenient to sit or walk on the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Not like the pictures!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Great location and view of the ocean. Found lots of shells! Bike rentals at motel.
Cons: Needs up dates.Flooring and smell of room.
Location: We had dinner at the Fish House,the Blue Giraffe,Timbers,Grandma Dots.We had lunch at the Island Cow and ice cream at Pinocchio's. All were very good!
We stayed 2nd floor in the motel for 1 week.On the run down side.Photo shows wood floors and nice,we had dirty carpeting and broken tile in bathroom.Musty smelling! so we had to buy air fresheners and a glad candle.That helped! This room needs some updates for the price!No maid service. you take dirty towels to office and get clean ones everyday.We asked for King bed and got 2 queens. They said they don't guarantee if you book through Expedia.No coffee in rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Close to the beach, bike to shops & restaurants

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Close to beach, quiet, comfortable, laundry room, clothesline, bike rentals on property, close to shopping/restaurants/parks.
Cons: floor was a bit squeaky in upper level.
Location: Beach - shelling, relaxing, walking. Restaurant "The Sandbar" was two doors down. Others within biking distance, Tarpon Bay -kayaking, fishing, tours
We stayed in the motel, upper level and had great views of the water & sunsets. 1st wk of March was very quiet and peaceful. Laundry room behind office - bring quarters. Clotheslines available at cottages and motel (some clothespins, bring more). Shell washing tables avail. (motels is behind dumpster). So close to the water, super convenient! We bought chairs but didn't need to, used their chairs more. Awesome shelling, especially after a storm. Nice beach, can't go wrong anywhere along West Gulf, but some places had a big drop-off to the water. Shalimar area is nice and flat. Rented bikes from front desk, which are Finnimore's. Loved having bikes to go to breakfast, lunch, Tarpon Bay (kayaking), Ding Darling reserve, exploring, shopping, etc. Free coffee in morning in office. Movies, books, computer & printer to use if needed. Towel exchange, sheets, extra shampoo, etc. We stayed 8 nights and had one cleaning day. They do a great job cleaning. You can easily add a hide a bed to motel room and not feel squished. The area in front of motel is natural area, so no people right outside your rooms. Pool area is nice, they have Friday night happy hour occasionally. For the most part, retired folks. A few families near the end of our stay as it got closer to spring break. Bring a lanyard for your room keys. Thermo mug for coffee or beach drinks. Dishes in room are glass. Grill available for cooking. Hose to wash sand off your feet & sandals. Hope to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet place on the beach.

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: It is sooo close to the beach! We had are own little kitchen!
Cons: The bathrooms!! Our bathroom was old and kinda smelly. I bought some bleach and cleaned it, seemed to help. The pillows were old and flat!
Location: Location is great. It is on the west side so it did not seem as busy as the east side. We rode bikes every where, nice trails.
We did like this hotel a lot. It was very laid back, not a busy crazy place. Beach is great, pool is nice and area is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Minnesota

Great cottage on the beach

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: We really like how comfortable the accommodations were. The atmosphere is relaxed and you feel like you are at your own cottage/cabin.
Cons: We liked everything about our stay, but the bathroom could be updated a bit. Most of the fixtures appear to be original, which was fine with us.
Location: Shalimar is on the beach so everything to do with sand and water is fun. We also enjoyed go into "Ding" Darling and kayaking at Tarpon Bay.
We had a terrific time at Shalimar Cottages and Motel on Sanibel Island. This is our first time at Shalimar and we plan to come back! The cottages were very comfortable and clean. I loved the beach decor. We had everything we needed. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Our favorite activity was to grab one of the beach chairs they have available for the guests and watch the sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Bellevue, Ne

First time guest

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Very clean cottage. Well kept grounds. Refreshing pool. Right on the beach.
Cons: If they could have stopped the noisy remodeling on the condos on the property next to the Shalimar, that would have been perfect.
Location: Right on the beach. Good places to eat and shop are minutes away by car. The Bailey Tract wildlife area is very close.
Our first two days were spent dodging rain drops on Sanibel. It was so bad the staff had to put boards down for us so we could get to our cottage without getting our shoes soaked. The Shalimar also had a lightning strike that took out our TV and wifi. The TV was replaced right away and they had their provider out the next morning to get the internet back up. We had cottage #11. Nice and clean with a bedroom, bath, small kitchen, living room and screen in porch. The pool was good size with nice warm water. You can do your own laundry for $2 a load. Lots of beach chairs were available for use. We also rented bikes and had a nice ride on West Gulf Drive. This was kind of the slow season so the place was not full up with guests which we really liked. I had picked this place hoping the wife would like. And she did!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by debby from chicago

good time

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
it was great and clean good time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Debbie

Hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: It's nearness to the beach and our view of the gulf.
Cons: Nothing
We were able to come out of our room and the beach Was right there.We could watch the sunset from our room.Perfect place to relax and destress.We certainly Hope to return next year.The staff was friendly and made you Feel very welcome.Our tv was burned out during a storm.within 10 Minutes we had a new one in the room. Thanks for everything!