Ratings based on 682 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Cons: Train your workers about your greatest asset -- the ability to do world-class shelling!
The location on the beach is excellent. We went shelling 5 times, and each time the area immediately in front of the resort had the best shelling. The facilities were great. The dining room (by the bar) was too small -- was quickly overwhelmed when there was live entertainment (2-man band -- great). The staff was extremely friendly, even remembered our names -- but was lacking knowledge often. Asked 3 people how best to take care of our shells once collected, to prevent stink -- the one at the recreation desk said rinse them with water (not sufficient). Another had no idea where we could wash the sand off the shells (it was too cold to go in the gulf to do so). On our last day there, we found a station designed for rinsing/cleaning the shells -- only a few feet from where the worker said he had no idea where we should go to do that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Naperville, IL

Large Upscale Resort on Beach with Great Shells

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Cons: Our card keys did not work well. Food service for our group needed to be more swift due to our schedule. Could not get cell phone reception in our ro
We stayed in unit H102 last week with a Road Scholars group studying the history of Sanibel. Families who had been coming to Sundial for years commented that major updates had been made from the year before (bike/surrey area, gym, & restaurant). Other than the minor irritation of our card keys not working unless you sweet talked to them, everything was great. Food was very good, but service was a bit leisurely for our taste. Many folks were enjoying the bikes, paddle boards, pools and hot tub. Different companies manage separate portions of the 400 unit complex. Our room was updated, but others in the group said their units were OK, not great. They just opened a little grocery store on site near the main building days before we left, which would make quick meals a snap. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice....but.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
The resort was super, the beach wonderful. Our condo was OK, but on the bottom floor, screed porch facing a court yard where voices echoed from other condos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Great location, close to the beach.

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Pricey
Location: Convenient, The Dunes Golf club 2 miles away.
Convenient, close to everything. Too many shells on the beach, and the sand is very fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. Friendly, courteous staff. very clean & comfortable room, and as a bonus.....then best pizza on the island!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

It was nice but not fully well operated

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Nice view, clean and spacious room but tub was broken, whatever we requested wasn't ready and Internet wifi was out of service. The Restaurant waitress who served our table was very unfriendly but other seemed nice. Getting there was confusing since the condominium used the same name in the same facility and advised to put a sign for future purpose but was turned down because of different organization - hope their operation gets more professional in near future since the property is very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Jan 26, 2015
We walked the shell-covered beach for miles. Great spot and our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Good location

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Good location and nice beach
Cons: Put utensils in the kitchen so you can cook a meal
Location: good location on the beach
I was disappointed with our stay. The kitchen had no cooking utensils other that a long plastic spoon and spatula. There was no serving platter, no baking sheet, no cutting board and an 8" skillet was the biggest there. I don't know how you cook for a family with that. The internet went out several times a day and had to be rebooted. Not great when you are trying to keep the kids entertained with Netflix on your laptop. Also, housekeeping came at 4:45 one day after we had returned from a full day at the beach and didn't come at all another. The furnishings in the 2 bedroom condo were very serviceable and the beds comfortable. That's the best I can say. For the price, I was very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stig

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive, but worth it.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Stayed w 3 kids in a one-bedroom condo. The pull-out wasn't great, but everything else was. Location is fantastic. The "room" was a full condo, and a very nice one. Staff was considerate and unobtrusive. Our experience was exactly what I wanted. I don't normally spend so much on a hotel, but this was a time it was important to have a great experience with the kids. It was a good choice.