Ratings based on 680 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Spacious accommodations.

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Loved that beach shells everywhere. Coming in from that hot humid air and into a completely furnished apartment with the A/C running was heaven. The calamari at the resort was excellent!!! Want want want to do it again! Don't have any second thoughts. This is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Upstate N.Y.

Paradise

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Somebody to come to the beach and take drink orders.
Location: Minutes from dining and shopping.
Room had an unexpected view of the ocean. Even though it was a studio, its was spacious. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. Sheets and towels were quality also. the beach was a 2 minute walk from my door. They offered many amenities that we didn't use such as the pool, hot tub, ocean kayaks, bikes. I sat on the beautiful shell covered beach the whole time. I highly recommend this property to anyone who needs to decompress. We spent only a long weekend to celebrate my 50th birthday . I wish it had been longer and I can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice facility, close to the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Room was nice. Beach and facilities were also very nice.
Cons: Pricing.
Overall we were pleased with our stay. Prices for food and bar seemed high. 1 Hotdog, chips and 2 soft drinks for $11.00 seemed a bit much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2015
No complaints at all. A wonderful place. Free upgrade probably helped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PARIS

Hôtel superbe, vue de carte postale.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: tout était très bien et nous y retournerons.
Cons: Rien.
Location: Balade en bateau "Thriller" pour voir les dauphins sautés dans les vagues du bateau. Pistes cyclables. Ramassage de coquillages. Pêche.
Séjour de 2 nuits fin octobre 2014. Nous étions en basse saison mais le personnel a été très accueillant. On y mange de superbes hamburger sur la terrasse vue sur la piscine et la mer. Piscine et accès direct à la mer. Accès gratuit aux vélos, rosalie, canoe de mer. Très bonne situation sur l'île de Sanibel. Balade en bâteau à proximité pour voir les dauphins de très près. Nous avons été surclassé: nous devions avoir une chambre basique pour 4 et en fait nous avons eu un appartement avec 2 chambres, 2 sdb, salon salle à manger, une cuisine. Vue sur la mer, bref le rêve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...very close to the beach.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: All the amenities that were included in the price.
Cons: The rooms/beds.
Location: Very close to the beach. We enjoyed riding bikes all along the bike paths, did lots of paddle boarding and kayaking.
This was a family trip. Most of the resort has been updated. Great staff, wonderful food and very close to the beach. It was very nice that all the amenities were included in the price (kayaks, paddle boards, bikes). Our condo had a pull out sofa bed that was extremely uncomfortable but other than that it was a very nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and Pleasant

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Peaceful resort
Cons: If I had to pick something, the bed was too soft.......but that's just my opinion.
Location: We enjoyed Blue Giraffe for lunch, Zebra for ice cream, shelling on beach, Jacaronda has great food for dinner.
We stayed here for a relaxing Sister Trip in early March. We loved being able to take the bikes out for the day, just exploring the island. Free use of kayaks is a bonus, although we discovered the waters are typically too choppy in Feb and March. The beach was never too crowded ....very relaxing just to sit and read or wander the water's edge in search of seashells (which are abundant and highlight of Sanibel Island). We loved the firepit at night and lights out at 10 pm rule at this resort. I feel like it would be the perfect place to stay with grandparents and young families, as it is peaceful, kid friendly pools, kids' activities, ping pong and corn toss, happy hour for adults, and amazing shelling on the beach for all. Close to anything else on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Madison, WI

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Cons: Still doing a little renovation/maintenance on the place.
We chose this hotel somewhat with a hope and a prayer. It had gotten good reviews, but there were a number of less than glowing assessments which seemed to be mostly focused on the disruption caused by the recent renovations. Fortunately, the works is now done (or mostly done). The central building in now quite nice, the pools was great for the kids, and the proximity to the beach was exceptional. But the best part was our room. We had reserved a two bedroom suite, but the size and amenities in the suite were way beyond what we had hoped for. It made it so easy to return to the room, relax and prepare for our next venture (whether that be dinner or whatever). I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Cons: Train your workers about your greatest asset -- the ability to do world-class shelling!
The location on the beach is excellent. We went shelling 5 times, and each time the area immediately in front of the resort had the best shelling. The facilities were great. The dining room (by the bar) was too small -- was quickly overwhelmed when there was live entertainment (2-man band -- great). The staff was extremely friendly, even remembered our names -- but was lacking knowledge often. Asked 3 people how best to take care of our shells once collected, to prevent stink -- the one at the recreation desk said rinse them with water (not sufficient). Another had no idea where we could wash the sand off the shells (it was too cold to go in the gulf to do so). On our last day there, we found a station designed for rinsing/cleaning the shells -- only a few feet from where the worker said he had no idea where we should go to do that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Naperville, IL

Large Upscale Resort on Beach with Great Shells

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Cons: Our card keys did not work well. Food service for our group needed to be more swift due to our schedule. Could not get cell phone reception in our ro
We stayed in unit H102 last week with a Road Scholars group studying the history of Sanibel. Families who had been coming to Sundial for years commented that major updates had been made from the year before (bike/surrey area, gym, & restaurant). Other than the minor irritation of our card keys not working unless you sweet talked to them, everything was great. Food was very good, but service was a bit leisurely for our taste. Many folks were enjoying the bikes, paddle boards, pools and hot tub. Different companies manage separate portions of the 400 unit complex. Our room was updated, but others in the group said their units were OK, not great. They just opened a little grocery store on site near the main building days before we left, which would make quick meals a snap. Staff was very helpful and friendly.