Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Okeechobee, FL

Pleasant place

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Pet fee shown upfront. Rooms should have basic kitchenware for with microwave & refrigerator in all rms. More grills and should be in good condition
Location: Nice location. Close to restaurants and shopping. Have lots of activities right on the property.
Was surprise to find out about the additional pet fee when booking the room all other hotels showed pet fee up front and this one did not. The cost of this hotel was higher than others that displayed upfront pet fee and did not feel it was worth the higher pet fee. Had a good time however feel the rooms do not have some basic things needed with refrigerator. No kitchen ware. Have to ask for microwave. . Would look into a cottage if going back. The hotel units are all up stairs and inconvenient with pets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: We like the convenience of being able to walk to the beach and having the pool with a pool bar right there near the rooms.
Cons: Service - we waited more than 15 minutes to get a drink served to us at the pool. Grounds - cleanliness in outdoor common areas
Location: Kayaking, boating, shelling, swimming.
We have stayed at this hotel annually and this year the service and overall service wasn't as good as in past years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ewelina from New York

Posted May 20, 2014
Perfect place to stay,away from a city,beautiful nature ,awesome people,perfect family vacation place,definitely we would go there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Great for Wedding

Posted May 6, 2014
We stayed at Tween Waters for a wedding that took place at the resort. The highlight of the trip was Saturday night at Crows Nest - great bar, bartenders and band. Room was fine, amenities great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky resort next to beach

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Tween Waters is a conglomeration of old quaint cottages, slightly aging 3 story motel rooms, nice marina, beautiful beach on the gulf, good restaurant. After passing this for many years, we finally had the need to stay for a night. It was a fun place. Water on both sides-hence the name. But our A/C unit rattled in the ceiling. Our friends A/C was dripping on the carpet. The room decor made it a very dark place. Layers of paint, although in good condition makes it look tired. Nothing serious, but not first class. That said, I would go back. We only ate breakfast there but it was excellent. Large bowls of fresh RIPE fruit and nicely cooked eggs with crispy bacon. We spent the afternoon on the spectacular beach with only a few other people on a hot sunny day. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from West Chester, PA

Great beach resort

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Location, location, location. Extensive facilities on site. Excellent restaurants. Try the superb Key Lime Pie.
Cons: Warning people that they might hve a room on the third floor without an elevatorWe were fine with it but I can imagine for some people it might not.
Location: Shelling on the beaches of Captiva and Sanibel, kayaking, exploring the Ding Darling Wild Life Refuge, visiting the Sea Shell Museum in Sanibel.
Located across a two lane road from the beach and stretching to the bay, the resort includes multiple buildings, pool, tennis court, spa and restaurants. Our comfortable room was on the third floor (no elevator) overlooking the beach with a screened porch perfect for watching sunsets. We spent much of the two days we were there (way too short but enough time for a sampler) on the premises--reading on rented chaises at the beach, lunch at the poolside bar, back there for Tuesday's complementary cocktail party, then dinner and breakfast at the other two restaurants on the property. Next time, and there will be a next time, we'll try a massage at the spa and rent a kayak from the marina to explore the bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will go back...

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Enjoyed the room and the view. Had a bay view so not on the ocean but very peaceful. A short walk across the steet to the beach. Also the food was very good. I will go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HH from Columbus, OH

Nice view of gulf, easy beach access, lovely pool

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: View and friendly staff. Peaceful, calm and relaxing. Nice Breakfast included!!
Cons: See above.
Location: Close to restaurants. Favorite? Mucky Duck, which had a large parking lot, thank goodness. Parking on Captiva is difficult at best.
Over all a nice visit; we were only there overnight, sadly, but would go back. Hotel's odd, dated colors, especially the cinderblock building we were in (Sea Grape), did not reflect the updates on the inside. Didn't affect our stay in any way! Staff seemed a bit disorganized and there are no assigned parking spaces for "Sea Grape"; we had to have help finding a place to park after an evening out. We were billed for some charges by the person who had our room before us. After about a 10-15 minute delay in checking out while the mistake was "checked", (the charge was made before we even checked in, but they didn't believe me?) we were, of course, not charged for the other man's drinks. Enjoyed ourselves and appreciate the hotel's efforts to provide absolutely perfect weather!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanne from Florida

Mini vacation for sure!

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Hardworking employees at all levels. They were very willing to please. Choice of activities was excellent!
Cons: Perhaps updating some of the decor, carpets, TV's, etc. but overall it was wonderful!
Location: Went to Sanibel to shop & Green Flash one night for dinner. Both were excellent!
Upon arrival at lunchtime, our room was ready. In spite of being somewhat dated, it was very comfortable. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. There were some stains on the carpet but otherwise was fine. Service of employees was excellent. They addressed any want/need immediately. Old Captiva Inn was an outstanding dining experience. Lots of activities to choose from, but we needed some beach time & we got it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014