Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Staff very friendly, kept very clean. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmetto, Fl

Great location.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Room was ok but the bed was not very good. With a better bed, it would have been really great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cloumbus, ohio

Nice Getaway

Posted Aug 9, 2014
we went there for an Adult getaway. It was for his birthday also. We had a room with an ocean view. the room was just what we ordered. the bed was really comfortable. The balcony was screened in so no bugs good get in. The restaurant was incredible. The was food delicious. Service was great. pool was very nice. The beach was very clean and if you don't have a beach umbrella, you can rent one for the whole day. Chairs included. For the price it was just what we wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Nice hotel, very clean

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: It was close enough to everything, but far away enough for privacy.
Location: Right on the beach, comfy and quiet! Must check out The Island Cow restaurant, but be prepared to wait! Easy bike rentals all within a few minutes.
Had a great stay, room was very nice. Close to the beach, when you stay you have to eat at the hotel restaurant! Food was great! Total atmosphere around pool was amazing as well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota FL

Convenient Beach/Pool Hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Very close to Ding Darling Wildlife Reserve. Many restaurant options in addition to hotel pool restaurant and indoor restaurant.
Cons: Curtain over frosted glass panels in Room Doors as light can be very bright depending on location of room. Update bedspread. Provide free bikes.
Location: Ding Darling Wildlife Reserve very close by car. Lighthouse not far by car. Safe, great bike/walking trails all around island.Many good restaurants.
The hotel grounds were very nice. The pool is a good size with comfortable seating with tables, towels, umbrellas. Access to beach is very good. Restaurant on premises pretty good. Room itself was comfortable though not very large. Bathroom a bit tight. Convenient balcony with chairs, small table. Room decor a bit dated, but bed comfortable. Main negative issue is the door from outside to the room has frosted window panels which allow in too much light during night from outside (maybe from lamps on grounds). Perhaps Blackout Curtain would help if someone is disturbed by light coming in. My husband and I were happy with the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will go again

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Facilities are nice and we'll maintained . We will stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not clean!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The location was great for the beach however the room was filthy. I went to make a cup of coffee and as I started to set up the coffee cups there was a white substance crusted in the bottom. The bathroom was also filthy. Dust a half inch think on sink plumbing behind pedistal sink obvious when sitting on the toilet. There were smudges on the walls that could easily have been clean an dust that had obviously accumulated at base of sink, wall tiles, and corners of floors. The shower had pink slimy mold on the shower base and shmutz on the fixtures and rails. Quite disappointing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

On the beach

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The cleaning staff is very efficient and friendly, lunch at the pool bar is very good and the pool itself is really nice. Beach is clean, great shells
Cons: Change the doors to the rooms or at least put a bar above the windows and provide blackout curtains - I did not sleep well at all.
Location: Take a bike - or at least rent one - this place has absolutely beautiful bike trails. The location is wonderful, their beach area is great.
This Inn is on the beach, so in most cases you can't expect it to be super clean. Well, the rooms were very clean and nice touches were added to the tissues, like made into flowers or swan towels, thank you to the cleaning staff - you are wonderful. The biggest and most glaring part of this hotel is the glass windows going into your room - at night, when you turn off the lights to go to sleep, well you can't - your bathroom light is on - no I checked, it is the lights from the outside halls that are on - there is absolutely no way to cover these windows - they are the top 1/2 of the door - so going to sleep with the lights on is the only option. Please add a curtain rod and blackout curtains to these terrible doors. We ate at the pool bar and lunch was very good. I was initially disappointed to not get a 2nd floor room, but then very happy we didn't - the back porch is Very convenient to just drop off your beach chairs and umbrella without going through the room. We were told we would be poolside - well, every room on property is considered poolside if you are not directly facing the ocean - even the building behind the other building is considered poolside. If they change out the doors - my rating would be so much higher - just hard to rate high when I couldn't sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Great Location but Overdue for a Major Remodel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Direct beach location, courteous staff, large pool.
Cons: Pool furniture, towels, outdated rooms with 'patched' repairs here and there
Location: Shelling, swimming, water sports, golf, nature preserve, biking, boating
Located on the quiet west end of Sanibel, this hotel is directly on the beach but in dire need of remodeling. The staff were very courteous and the grounds tropically landscaped. The pool is large with lots of seating and tables. A nice feature is the covered pool bar area where you can also order lunch. A lot of the pool area furniture needs cleaning and/or replacing. Many pool towels were thread bare. Outside building upkeep is fair at best. Our room was clean (except for the dingy bathroom floor grout ) but reminded me of something out of the 60s. If you are looking for a less expensive and relatively clean hotel directly on the beach in Sanibel, but don't mind that it needs upgrades and remodeling, this is a good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay, and just steps to the beach.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: It was great the way it is.
Location: Quiet and not crowded. Close to Periwinkle and Baileys and the restraunts.
This hotel is very nice and the staff is great. We had a second story view of the pool and beach. Short distance to the water and very secluded beach. I would definitely stay at the West Wind again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments. We appreciate your input. It's great to hear you enjoyed our peaceful island retreat. Our staff works tirelessly to make sure your vacation is a pleasant one. We like hearing that vacationers have an easy time getting to all of Sanibel's attractions from our location. Also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the view from your second floor room. There is nothing more relaxing than looking out and seeing the ocean and greenery everywhere. We hope to see you next year.