Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Quiet and safe place close to the beach

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Location: Location was great, not crowded on the beach. Doc Ford's good restaurant near by as Nature Preserve which is great to ride bikes through.
My husband and I recently stayed at the West Wind Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay while we were there. The room was cleaned when we arrived and were cleaned well on a daily basis. The layout of the whole Inn is great, with the pool, pool lounge and short walk to the beach. We ate dinner at the Normandie Restaurant twice and loved it both times, best meals and service we had on the island. Bike rental at the hotel was also very convenient. The two things that could be improved upon are letting people who rent the beach chairs/umbrella know the time frame they have them for and front desk response to requests. Also, we called shortly after we arrived due to our toilet having an issue flushing and was told maintenance had already left for the day and we could come get a plunger if we wanted. As guests that was not what we wanted to hear on vacation. Also bring insect spray the No see ums are around at dusk. Would definitely return to the West Wind Inn in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Wonderful place to stay in paradise.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Centrally located to stores and restaurants. Right on the beach. Also near wildlife areas.
Room was clean and well appointed. Pool area and bar were immaculate and beautifully landscaped. Bar at pool had live entertainment. Koi pond and butterfly garden were beautiful. Shell washing area was very practical. Restaurant was excellent but expensive. The beach rocked!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london uk

Very Nice hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Room was nice and clean but some what small. We only stayed one night, but it was nice to walk down the beach shelling and watch the sunset. Sanibel is a special place every time we come to Florida we are drawn here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rhode island

Quiet nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 28, 2015
A great relaxing week. Restaurant food was not great but the pool and hotel facilities and most staff were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great location. Second story has great views.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Enjoyed the easy access to everything. Perfect, relaxing week. On-site restuarant and local restaurants were great. Rented bikes on site. 7 mile bike ride to Captiva-loved it! All in all, Sanibel is a very pretty place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Annapolis, MD

Great location. Beautiful grounds.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: WiFi in room.
Location: Right on a nice beach. Restaurants nearby. Bike rental from the lobby.
A great place for our first visit to Sanibel. Central location. Great beach and pool. We had two wonderful breakfasts and dinners in the on grounds restaurant. Wonderful scallops and a French toast to be long remembered. Rented bikes for a ride to the small "town" on Captiva. A twenty mile round trip, but we did it! Spotty WiFi...but a nice computer room to print our boarding passes. We'd recommend it to friends...in fact we already have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom coloradosprings,colorado

nice motel, close to beach

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: housekeeping services
Location: dining, beach, biking
mini refrig was not defrosted, only marginally functional
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom roma

hotel ha un'ottima posizione.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: La posizione e la spiaggia.
Cons: L'arredo e la pulizia delle stanze.
Location: Le due isole sono molto belle, il mare così così (nessuno fa il bagno). Spiagge stupende, grandi tramonti.
Sanibel è bellissima. L'hotel ha tutti i servizi e una buona logistica interna. Al nostro arrivo la stanza non dava l'idea di essere stata pulita, nei giorni successivi molto meglio. Abbiamo chiesto un late check-out ma ci è stato negato in modo scortese. Non definirei cordiale l'approccio dello staff, molto sulle loro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Bloomington, IL

Very nice place to stay right on the beach.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Fantastic location, great staff! The West Wind is easy to get to. It has a very nice on site restaurant, and a very nice pool with a nearby bar :)
Cons: My only complaint is we felt the bathroom could have been a little bit cleaner - mainly that the tile grout needed to be cleaned.
Location: Nice location on the beach. 20 minutes north to Captiva there is parasailing, jet skis, etc. There are biking/running paths nearly everywhere!
We had a great 6 night stay at the West Wind Inn in Sanibel. My wife and I were looking for a relaxing, casual island-type getaway and we found it! This was our first visit to this part of FL (we've been to the FL Keys, Ft. Lauderdale, South Beach, Destin...) the island is very family friendly and casual. If you're in a hurry this is probably not the place to be! The beaches are great (great shell collecting), there are countless excellent seafood restaurants and, thankfully, virtually NO fast food restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Location: Located mid-island on Sanibel, so centrally located for everything.
Simple, clean well-kept grounds. Nice pool and pool bar serving very good food.