Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic place to stay

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: There was nothing terrible about it.
Cons: Room was too hot. Windows don't open and AC unit was not very good.
Location: Went for work and the location is fine for that purpose.
An old hotel with dated decor and worn fixtures. It's a place for workers to spend the evening. It's not a vacation hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from Fort St John, BC

Nice

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
Quiet and staff goodl Good location Breakfast available
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Lytton, BC

Excellent value for price

Posted May 15, 2014
Very helpful staff- did their best to answer all of my enigmatic questions
1 out of 5
by Electrician from abbotsford

Fort St John has much better places to offer

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Hotel lobby and common areas had a terrible odor. The room I got was not cleaned. Te bed was made but nasty hairs in the beds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bill from Calgary

Just fine

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Good value (for Fort St John). Room was large and furniture/bed comfortable, good wifi signal. A solid 2 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Anne from Fort St. John

It's not the quality inn

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Firstly, there were no elevators. Had to take stairs to second floor. Although we asked for non smoking room the room smelled as if prior occupants had indeed smoked in the room. Only two small packets of shampoo and three towels in bathroom, room was reserved for three. Disappointing breakfast with no hot water, stale coffee, dirty table, limited selection of bagels and muffins.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap,cheap hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: Not very much
Cons: Everything - especially a good cleaning and updating.
Location: We were there to attend a funeral, so were really not looking for things to do. All amenities were near by.
Very disappointed. Every room is marked non- smoking and they all reek of cigarette smoke. These rooms were never cleaned when they went non- smoking. Just put a decal on the door. Our shampoo, plastic glasses or packets of sugar were never replaced. The owners and staff are Japanese and and really don't seem to comprehend what you are saying - just answer yes,yes. It seemed like there was only about a half dozen people on the premises. Needless to say all 13 in our party felt the same way. One of the ladies went down to the desk to confirm that she would not be charged $200.00 for smoking in the room as they have a sign on the desk stating the charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Aron from Canada

was very good

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I really like just when I arrived the room wasnt ready I had to wait but is a busy season .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

room

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Although the room was clean it smelled terrible of stale cigarette smoke! So I wouldn't recommend it to anyone that is opposed to that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Anchorage

One night stay on my way through town

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Very comfortable and affordable
Cons: No improvements necessary
Location: Dawson Creek has a lot of interesting attractions about the Alaska Highway.
I needed to stay in Fort St. John while traveling up the Alaska Highway. I chose Howard Johnson based on user reviews and price. After a long day of driving, I just wanted to crash in a comfortable room. Howard Johnson was just that! The staff were friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, the price was right, and breakfast was free. I couldn't ask for anything more.