Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery, great bike access

Posted Jul 29, 2014
We loved our first trip to the Watercolor Inn. The hospitality from the cleaning crew was the best part. Turn down service at night, cookies and kind notes were so fun to find in the evenings. Towels and toiletries were always plentiful. Would like to see carpet replaced with wood floors that would not show stains and couches replaced with leather or pleather so they would appear more sanitary. Overall, the inn is beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from dallas

Family vacation

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Great restraurants, nice pools, beautiful beach!
Cons: The home we stayed in was beautifully furnished but the family room furniture was really uncomfortable!
Location: Our home was on Western Lake. We spent most of the time at the beach and at the pool.
We had booked 2king rooms with ocean view. When we checked in they were overbooked and they put us in a home 5 blocks from the beach. At first we were disappointed to be so far from the beach and not on resort property but once we settled, in the extra room in the home worked out nicely for our family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charm & Relaxation

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The hotel was lovely. Beach access was very convenient, but you should try to reserve beach chair rentals before you go.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Botched our reservation

Posted Jun 30, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The concierge was extremely helpful in making reservations and welcoming us. The staff was cheerful and efficient. The gentlemen who handled our comings and goings were great! We especially enjoyed the beach service, the pools, and the bicycles. WaterColor is a great neighborhood, and we'll be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Terry Piper from Cicero

On The Beasch

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall it was nice, but not a 4 star as rated. Hotel had a hard time getting the 45th anniversary gift that was ordered through the hotel from our children correct. The Fish out of Water resturant was not all they talked about. Also disapointed there was no hot tub..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Georgia

Beautiful area! Nice facility.

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Beautiful area!
Cons: Beach chair and umbrella rental for hotel guests. $45.00/day for a third row from the water was too much.
Went to Watercolor for an anniversary. Found it to be very attractive, especially after moving so slowly through its neighbor, Seaside. Check in went well as did finding meals etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Amy from Chicago, IL

Great place, but service seriously lacking

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: The location.
Cons: Service!
Location: The hotel is on a gorgeous beach. Walk to Seaside, with an array of cute shops and great restaurants. Biking and kayaking too.
We stayed over Memorial Day weekend and decided to go with the Inn rather than renting a beach house because we were traveling with a baby and thought the Inn would be more convenient (easy to walk places, close to beach and pool, and we wouldn't have to lug along a pack n play). Upon arrival I asked for a crib and the response was "We don't do that". When I complained, they dug up a pack n play but said we could only use it for one night and we had to call a local rental service to have a crib delivered (at over $100) for the rest of the trip. Considering the high rate I had already shelled out for the hotel, this added cost seemed unreasonable. Even the Motel 6 has cribs, and this was supposed to be a family resort. The staff's general attitude is friendly, but when you need something or have a problem the response seems to be "sorry!!!" Not the level of service you'd expect for a place that claims to be a luxury family resort. Pool and beach were also very crowded, which we expected on a holiday weekend, but it was impossible to find chairs at the pool and the resort ran out of beach chair/umbrella sets (luckily we got one, but we saw a lot of other upset people who didn't). They can pretty much do whatever they want because it's the only real hotel in this location, and they know it. So while it is a really nice place just don't expect to be treated like you're at the ritz carlton - the attitude is as if you should be thanking them for letting you stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ted from Texas

Calm and Relaxing

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: We liked everything.
Location: Tons to do regardless of your personal preference. The complimentary bicycles were a huge value add.
The level of service would rise to a level of being pampered. Food and a tmosphere were second to none. The bar and sushi bar were a great way to end each day.