Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Algonquin, IL

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Right on the beach
Cons: Fix the air conditioner...kept telling us the chiller needed to be reset...ruff to wake up to 80 degrees in your bedroom at 3 in the morning.
Location: went to Destin a lot
Air conditioner worked every OTHER day...and we killed 3 cockroaches that we found.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our Stay

Posted May 30, 2014
We would stay here again, really close to the ocean with views of the ocean from our room. We could BBQ each night and walk along the beach front. Super close to shops and dinning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kamfrom Fort Walton Beach, FL

Clean up Fee

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you enjoy cleaning up , taking out the trash, and having no room service on your relaxing vacation. Then this is the place for you. The main issue I encountered at the Islander, was that they charge you a Clean Up Fee; a Clean Up Fee of $87. Meaning that you have to pay an additional fee (which is not included in your payment for booking there) for someone to clean your room once you check out. So for them not to have employees straighten your room or bring you extra towels, you do everything yourself until the day you check out. Now it is a condominium but also a "VACATION RESORT", and I have been to an establishment such as this before but it still was ran like an hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angiefrom Corydon

Peaceful location. Steps from the beach.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Been to Ft. Walton many times, this was the first condo rental. Weather could have been a bit warmer but a great time with a sparse spring break crowd. Excellent location and it was great to have the beach umbrella and beach chairs included with our rental. DVDs were available for free too but we never visited the kiosk when the ones we wanted to see were available. Also, the pool is very nice. As far as the condo itself, 1 bedroom 2 bath. It was very comfortable and spacious. A little worn but that is to be expected. Had everything we needed. Condo will definitely be our choice for future vacations. Elevator was a bit slow but the stairs are always an option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tonyafrom Cartersville, GA

Beware -no air in off season

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: I think it was a very nice clean property. My studio was very spacious. Loved the pillows.
Cons: Room in desperate need of upgrades. Mattress needs to be thrown out and vertical blinds on sliding door were junk.
Location: Fort Walton has some beautiful scenery and history. Loved all the little antique stores. Enjoyed Destin's Harbor Walk and great restaurants.
Upon arrival my Studio #605 (Easter Wkend). was not ready because of bad seal under door which allowed floor to get wet during previous days rain storm. I was asked to wait another couple of hrs. and front desk would call my cell when ready. They never called. The first thing I noticed in room was the HUGE hole in the mattress. The air in room would NOT come on. The temp. outside was only around 65-70 but got a little stuffy at night in the room. I called to complain that I was having to open the door to cool the room off. I was called twice by Wyndham so they could inform me that the entire complex was on one system and no room could have air until they reset the thermostat. Was told that basically it was still too cool outside for the air to come on no matter if I had paid for air and was hormonal and hot at night. Now I know why they had an oscillating fan in the room. I was asked if I would like to change properties. On my second day, my room door code would not work. Had to call emergency number posted at office for mgmt. to issue me another code. The office is closed on Sundays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick trip to beach for a family wedding in Destin

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Our room was very nice and unexpected. Clean and comfortable
Cons: The air conditioning could be looked at. Had it on cool and during the night it did get rather warm but there was a nice breeze blowing thru.
It was a quick get away to the beach for a family wedding in Destin. I do wish we had more time to spend here. Our trip was short and time limited. We enjoyed the room and the view was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel right on the beach.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
far enough away from the hustle and bustle of destin and panama but still close enough to get anywhere in 20 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New Years stay

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Not much street traffic. Easy to find. Sits right on the beach you only walk about 50 feet and your on it.
Cons: Needs better luggage carriers.
Location: Location was great. Para sail. Boat rentals, Helicopter rides, Golf, Air force Museum, Indian Mound Museum. and many more close by.
The facility is a little dated but an excellent value. It's clean and had a helpful staff. We stayed in a studio unit and the view was of the beach breathtaking. It's right on the beach near the end of a no outlet street so not much traffic. You can just spend the day on the beach there or go shopping. Destin Commons/Bass Pro is only 20min away or Silver Sands is only 30min away in Destin. The choices of dinning are almost limitless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stanfrom N/E Ms.

We felt important

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the same complex last year for the first time and the two B/R was nice on the 5/th floor .... This year we stayed and were given an even nicer unit on the top floor Very Well Satisfied....................................................................................................