Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

FABULOUS place to stay!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Clean and quiet rooms, helpful personnel, nice view of Arenal Volcano even though cloudy that day.
Cons: Hotter Jacuzzi's in the evening.
Location: Fabulous Italian restaurant Vagabond next door (great pizza), some good gift shops and was very easy to locate when arriving in La Fortuna.
We did a last minute trip to this area and found this FABULOUS place to stay. The hotel's pool also has a kids area along with the wet bar...it has 2 wonderful Jacuzzis that we really enjoyed. I had a massage that evening by Ibellene (sorry if spelt wrong) and she was marvelous. Wish I lived there to receive more of her wonderful touch. Best of all was the front desk personnel, Kendall and Dianna, Jose' and the maintenance man, didn't catch his name though. He helped me search for my earring that I had left in the Spa the night before - he opened the Spa so I could look around and when not there he took me to the laundry area where we were able to locate my earring in my robe...Yahoo!!! Thank you again for such a wonderful stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Very clean. Friendly staff. Let us check in early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davidfrom TORONTO

Hard pillows/cheap tissue

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was just fine. Two things to note* The pillows were flat and extremely hard. And they use one ply toilet paper. Sort of makes you feel you're in a service station washroom not a 4 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jenniferfrom Overland Park, KS

Clean, comfortable and beautiful grounds

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff is friendly and accommodating. Guests are offered a glass of fresh juice upon check in. The young lady at the desk reviewed all the amenities and policies in perfect English. I asked to book a tour to the Arenal hanging bridge and when she learned that all the major companies were booked she called a local taxi and the park to ensure that I would be able to have a guide - well worth the extra money. Trained guides know the tree species where the animals reside. I would have missed all wildlife on my own. The hotel was comfortable and clean. Each room has a nice balcony with chairs and a small table with a direct view of the Arenal volcano, perfect for enjoying morning coffee. The rooms have newer, quality mattresses, a coffee pot, hair dryer, TV, A/C and a safe. The bath towels need to be replaced soon. The restaurant is nice and serves either a breakfast buffet or menu options depending on the number of guests. The food was good and the service was excellent. The hotel has a zero depth entry pool, a swim-up bar and two hot tubs. The grounds are impeccably maintained and beautiful! Overall, I would compare this to a moderate, 3 or 4 star hotel in America with 5-star service. The location is near town, about a $3 cab far or an easy 2 km walk, yet far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. One more thing - they do offer secure WiFi, that worked well with the exception of a heavy storm when the power was out for about 10 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful volcano view

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic location, gorgeous views. Recommend a 3rd floor room from best view. Included breakfast was delicious. All staff were friendly and willing to help plan activities. The room itself was clean and comfortable. Very nice swimming pool and hot tub, daily happy hour at the swim up bar and a second happy hour at the indoor bar. If I am ever back in Costa Rica I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Privileged view

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Views, staff, clean.
Cons: Nothing.
Sitting further up from La Fortuna town gives all the rooms in this hotel unobstructed views of the Arenal volcano. All rooms have terraces and the junior suites have jacuzzis with a view along with a wetbar and fridge. Good cable and fast internet! Pool and the bar alongside it are great. Very good value for the money and lots of restaurants and a grocery store within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Diana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Wonderful experience

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The staff, food, room and services were amazing. Best vacation ever!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Beautiful grounds, comfy room, excellent staff. They helped us arrange transportation from SJO airport to La Fortuna and back, as well as pick the next tour for a full day of ziplining, horseback riding, a visit to an indigenous village. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to town and activities

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Breakfast included
Cons: Need work inside the room
Location: town, hot spring
The appearance of the hotel looks good, inside is not that great, need some work, inexpensive work will make the hotels look better such as shower curtain with 2 big holes still in use, no kleenex (tissue), no ice. Compare the price to quality, it is a little bit over pirce.