Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VERY Disappointing!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Easy location off of 101 and walking distance to Eel River Brewing Co.
Cons: There is a desperate need for maintenance and renovation. Hotel has been heavily neglected..
I am shocked that this hotel has 4 star reviews. It is in desperate need of maintenance and upkeep. All of the lawn surrounding the property is dead. The breakfast area was filthy and the selection was a joke. Bread and yogurt in a bowl that had been sitting out for god knows how long. The pool had algae growing all along the edge and the jacuzzi was drained and closed. Our room had dirty and torn carpets and a table with no chairs! The mattress was broken down and lumpy. I actually looked for bed bugs! All of this for $130 a night!! No way! We were booked for 3 nights, stayed one and got the heck out of there! DO NOT BOOK HERE!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vacaville

Awful!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: a redo
Location: Casino
Could not stay checked out after looking at the room. Smelled musty like they just painted over bad walls. The furniture was old and chipped the chair I was sitting in was about to break it was loose. The tub had black stains in it. The bed was the only thing that looked nice. Went to the another hotel that was cheaper and nicer. I read the reviews and they are wrong. I don't know about there other rooms. But the ones on the bottom floor with the dark long hall way was bad!!! go somewhere else for less money and nicer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Jul 17, 2014
We booked on line and the photos made it look ok. Was very disappointed as it's old and needs updating. Our keys never worked and another person staying there told us the key to getting Into your room....it didn't work. We went back to the front desk and they gave us another key to try...still had problems but after about 5 minutes of trying we were able to get in. Very odd lay out as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
All of the photos on all the travel sites and our website were taken within the past 10 months. We also did not stage any of the photos... what you see is what you get. I do apologize for the key issue we have a program to clean the locks and keep them updated but sometimes we still have issues that arise. Safe travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from syracuse, ny

Great place to stay, nice large rooms.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Delicious continental breakfast, clean large rooms. Very quiet, nice family atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Thanks fort hitting on all the things we do so well here at The Redwood. Safe travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

To judge a book by its cover,I would not stay here

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The renovation in the rooms and it was pet friendly.
Cons: Freshening of the exterior.
Location: The riverwalk was within a hundred yards of the property and it was a pleasant diversion.
When I arrived at my destination and went to check into the hotel, I was filled with fear and loathing. The exterior package is nothing to shout about. However, the hotel staff were all very pleasant and accommodating, the room was surprisingly clean and comfortable and the property although modest was certainly acceptable. The stay was comfortable and I think if they redid the outside it would rate much higher in most people's opinion. I would recommend this property, it was definitely a fair value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Glad you you gave us the opportunity to prove ourselves at The Redwood. The staff makes all the difference and we are very fortunate to have them working with us. We became an independent hotel 12 months ago and continue to make improvements as we move forward. This will include additional signage at the front and landscaping. Thanks again for letting everyone know they should stay here. Safe travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel was quiet and clean.
Location: Drive thru a Redwood Tree!
The hotel is near Eureka and the Avenue of the Giants - Redwood Trees.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix, AZ

Not very helpful or understanding

Posted Jun 28, 2014
We were expected to walk our elderly dogs up the stairs to the second floor. Could at least show some compassion and provide a room on the bottom floor as the hotel was not full. Left after 10 minutes and found another hotel in Garberville that was so much better value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by roger from oregon

Nice hotel enjoyed stay

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Traveling on a motorcycle checking was fast and easy room was spotless with nice furnishings slept like a baby check was also very easy . Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Walnut Creek

Riverwalk

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The breakfast was actually really good. The bed was not very comfortable though. Overall the hotel was fine. No real complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
So glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We are trying to keep the breakfast exciting and good for you and we are currently working on some changes to keep it interesting. I am sorry about the bed, we have been in the process of updating beds and will continue to do so. Thanks for staying at The Redwood. Safe travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marilyn from Glendale, CA

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above.
Location: Avenue of the Giant Redwoods, Carson Mansion in Eureka, Ferndale Museum, Victorian homes, shops and antiques, creamery.
Booked this place for 3 nights because it was close to Humboldt University in Arcata where my grandson was graduating and couldn't have been more pleased with my stay or the price. The upstairs room (no elevator only stairs) was spotless and everything in working order...heater, refrig, coffee maker, iron, clock, TV, etc. Amanda, the receptionist, was warm and welcoming and offered not only delicious nut fudge brownies but many tips on places to eat and sites to see. The hotel is "green conscious" having replaced the small bottles of hand wash and shampoos, etc. with upscale botique-type pump bottles. Suggested they have a hand sanitizer pump for travelers like myself to reflill their small bottles since the airlines only allow small amounts to be taken aboard the plane. A hot and delicious full breakfast was served daily. Again, I could not have been more pleased with my stay and highly recommend it to all travelling in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
What can I say that you haven't?! Thanks so much for saying all these nice things about The Redwood. We do try and I am so glad that it is working. Safe travels.