Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire, England

Beautiful hotel close to the falls

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The hotel was lovely and the staff were great. Everything you need is in the hotel, including your expeditions. The price of the resturant was very pricey- ask how much the barbeque is before you eat! The gym wasnt in use during our first night so we were gutted but it was top of the range equipment! The pool was also a decent size! The best bit about this hotel is that you are free to visit the falls anytime you like! It was awesome at night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The next level

Posted Jul 2, 2014
From staff to facilities to surroundings, this place is on another level. Can not recommend it highly enough. The only thing missing is hot tub. It's expensive but something you should do at least once in your life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nick from j

Excellent hotel in the perfect location near falls

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Staff we're extremely friendly and helpful and everything about the hotel was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Notallthatwanderarelost from UK

Great hotel, fantastic location, steep price

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is expensive and is probably not quite as good as other classic historic hotels around the world it wishes to be categorised with. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable but very few have views of the falls and most look out either on to a courtyard or forest. Nice views all the same but just a warning before you get your hopes up that you will be waking up to see the sunrise over the falls from your window. The staff at reception, concierge and porters were fantastic and most were fluent in multiple languages. Breakfast was excellent however dinner at the a la carte restaurant was very poor and the service very strange. We had about 6 different servers, who all kept interrupting to top up our wine glasses the moment you took one mouthful, I felt like I was the newbie at a college party who everybody wants to get steaming drunk. The food was pretty awful and made even worse by the price. My lamb was overdone and so dry with an over reduced jus that was more of a sticky glaze loaded with salt. My partners food was just bland. We were really hoping to have gone to the rodizio type restaurant that had rave reviews but this is only open a few nights of the week. I don't normally rate hotels based on their restaurants but given the remote location of this hotel you have no choice but to eat at the hotel so it is key. All said this hotel is in an unbelievable location and allows you to appreciate the falls at sunrise and sunset without the crowds, which is truly magical. If you can rationalise (kid yourself) that you are paying for that experience rather than for the hotel then you will be able to justify the cost and enjoy this hotel. We did and as such would recommend this hotel even with its flaws and price tag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from New York, NY

Perfect place to pop the question

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Plus it is pretty fancy and not too overpriced (although it's a little bit on the expensive side).
Cons: The bed was a little hard, but that's just my personal preference.
Location: Ask your significant other to marry you. You have an amazing backdrop! Then afterwards go to the bird sanctuary just outside the entrance to the park.
This is the only hotel inside the Iguassu National Park on the Brazilian side, which means that only hotel guests get to see the falls after park hours close. It's an amazingly built, comfortable hotel with views straight to the falls and 30 second walks across the front lawn to pick up the trails. The hotel itself has amazing staff, everyone speaks wonderful English, and they even keep a wood-burning fireplace going all day long in a cozy room for you to read, drink, chat with your friends, etc. It was also really fun to walk the trails early in the morning and see all the wildlife, including a cute family of monkeys!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Barbara from Virginia

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel & iguazu falls were spectacular! The food at the hotel was extremel y expensive for what you got. Otherwise outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Chicago

The best place to view the falls

Posted May 27, 2014
The hotel is ideally situated. Being inside the national park allows you to view the falls at sunrise and sunset, before the park opens to others. It is a luxury hotel in every sense of the word. You can tell that the hotel has been there a while; certain spots could use some reburbishment. But that's a minor critique. Overall, well worth the expense.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ed

A world class experience

Posted May 12, 2014
Every moment was perfect Food, ambiance, and of course the views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcia from Chicago

Hotel Cataratas - Iguacu National Park.

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff very professional and attentive. Lots of assistance even when busy.
Cons: Only a brief orientation was given upon arrival. It would have been nice to know a bit more of was available via a daily newsletter or upon arrival.
Location: Bird Aviary at entrance to park just a short walk -only accept cash. Credit card use is limited - especially taxis.
Excellent hotel. It was expensive, but a wonderful place. The food was very good. Excellent breakfast buffet with made to order omelets and champagne. Dinner buffet was pricey but lots of variety. Taxi to hotel was higher priced than return taxi from hotel. Taxi ordered at airport at taxi stand so it is perfectly safe and quick. Would definitely stay again - absolutely great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kanwaljit Singh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com