Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AlexM from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel, but rooms need remodel

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Location, hotel amenities, stuff.
Cons: Room condition: new paint, floors, furniture, bath equipment. SOUNDPROOFING.
Location: In the middle of the city, close to most places there. To go to Brazilian Iguassu Falls, hire a cab. Going to Argentinian side, buy a tour at hotel
General impression: very nice hotel in need of rooms to be remodeled. The hotel location is great in the city. The facilities are really good (for family travel as well as for single traveler or business). The stuff is professional and willing to help. The rooms are spacious, but require remodeling: new paint, furniture, bathroom equipment, and good soundproofing. Generally - positive experience, but, hypothetically, next time would prefer to stay in a hotel with better rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ayhung from Taiwan

Great breakfast

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Breakfast was with wide selections and included already in room rate was comparing to other Brazilian location by far the best. English of the staffs can be improved but in general fine when speaking face to face. Water in the minibar costly and no price tag was found. It's always better to check before hands. Tourism taxes was charged which wasn't explained before booking. In general still an economical choice when traveling with budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by D Fontoura

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nothing extraordinary: a slightly older but nonetheless clean hotel in downtown Iguacu. Kids did enjoy the play area and foosball....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a nice hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was very disappointed in this hotel. The condition of the room and the overall facility were far below what was described in the other reviews and the hotel summary. Half of the equipment in the fitness room was broken. The sauna/steam rooms weren't working either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, Arizona

Golden Tulip-Decent Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
We were in Brazil to see Iguassu falls in Brazil and in Argentina. The hotel was undergoing some construction which was sited as the reason our hot water didn't work for about an hour around dinner time one of the two nights we were at the hotel. The resturant on the top floor looked good but we did not eat there. The pool was open and looked clean but we did not have timeto use it. Most of the hotel staff did not speak a lot of English (only one or two people at the reception desk). The rooms were clean. We wished there was an iron at the hotel. The elevators worked well which was great for our luggage. There was a rather large breakfast option that was included (even with a number of hot options). Note that the reception posts but does not offer the option to exchange money. Overall, I am not sure the price was worth what we paid because there are so many hotels in that area. The people at the hotel were friendly though. The most helpful part of our hotel was Fernandio who worked for "Loumar Turismo" and had a desk in the hotel's lobby and helped me plan everything for the falls and helped with our transportation for the airport. He spoke great Spanish and English!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Dated and tired with unhelpful service

Posted Nov 24, 2011
The location is pretty good. All hotels in the area are overpriced but this one especially. The rooms were very very dated and tired and are desperately in need of refurbishment. Service by the front desk came with a smile but the info (or rather lack of it) was next to useless. The travel desk within the hotel was useful and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
Great breakfast, good room rates, good location, dark and dreary painted walls, dirt and in hallways which remained for a day. Hotel personnel were very helpful. Choices of other hotels in main town area seemed to be limited where we were located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Staff/Service, Poorly Maintained Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed at The Golden Tulip in Foz do Iguassu to see the waterfalls. The hotel has a very nice staff and a nice lobby but the lights didn't work in the room, the water didn't work one day when I was already in the shower :(, the food is expensive and tastes bad. There is a cafeteria next door that you could go to if you know Portuguese. We were never comped for the problems, although the staff was friendly about dealing with it. The breakfast was included and it tastes good, not the coffee. I would recommend staying on the Argentina side, the hotels look nicer and it is way cheaper. It is very easy to cross the boarders between Argentina and Brazil as long as you have a Visa for Brazil (US citizens need this and you must get it in advance). Overall, staff here if you want to stay in the city but don't eat here, just sleep here.