Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: location-in front of the main train station.
misleading free wifi - only available in lobby area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Mar 31, 2014
stayed here for two nights, city view room was good, clean, staff were great as they made dinner reservations for us, bartenders suggested great places to eat, the bar was responsibility priced in comparison to the restaurant but we did not have dinner at the hotel so I couldn't comment on the food. Fantastic location as the underground train stop is on the doorstep of the hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for business travellers, just in the centre

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Not recommended for disable, elevator is too small, you can not even go into on wheel chair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near restaurants and train station.

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Nice rooms.
Cons: Iron and ironing board in the rooms.
Location: Lots of restaurants and bars.
Had a pleasant stay. Nice staff and clean rooms.
4 out of 5
by Michael Gleissn from Miami Beach FL

Internet rip-off

Posted Dec 25, 2013
We booked this hotel because of free WiFi in the suites. When we arrived, we got some login screen, followed by the message "not available I'm your room package". Nobody was interested in resolving g the problem We NEVER book hotels that charge for Internet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nuremberg Christkindlesmarkt

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: The staff were always there to offer and provide assistance. It had a relaxed ambience.
Location: The old town and castle - on foot. Restaurants specialising in local food. Dokumentation Zentrum - NS party rally grounds (ten minutes in nr 9 tram)
We were in Nuremberg mainly to enjoy the Christkindlesmarkt but we also visited other attractions. The Grand Hotel is certainly well named with its Italian marble foyer and art deco decor throughout. It's only a ten minute walk to the centre of the old town (altstadt) and all the Christmas market stalls. It's also adjacent to the main station for all train types and tram and bus stops are on the doorstep. We had a very comfortable 3 night stay. The room and ensuite had everything we needed and the king-size bed was - well - king-sized and comfortable. The breakfast buffet and restaurant catered for all tastes including the provision of gluten free rolls if requested. All the staff were friendly and helpful and, as is always the case in Germany, spoke perfect English. I would definitely stay at the Grand again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Harrow,London

Nurnberg at Christmas 2013

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: It's high standard with a classic feel to it when first entering the building but mainly it's location being so close to the market and amenities
Cons: From our experience nothing really although the price of breakfast was slightly high over a 3 days stay. 24 euros each but had a very good selection.
Location: The market took up most of our time but there are other things to see. If you are able, walk up to the castle which has a great view of the city.
My son and I visited Nuremburg for the; first time on the 6th December for the weekend to visit the Christmas market plus watch a football match on the Friday evening. The city at Christmas is a wonderful experience albeit a crowded one. It cannot be faulted due to it largely being a pedestrianized area but also has a great transport service very close to hand. Tram and rail services literally on the doorstep of the hotel which makes it easy to get from the airport on the Underground (U2 Line) about 9 stops to the main station. I had booked a deluxe twin bedded room but the room originally directed to was a standard room with a double bed which was clearly a mistake. Returning to reception this was resolved and we were re-directed to our correct room even though I was informed that the hotel was fully booked that weekend. The standard double did look quite small but they may vary in size. If you can afford it and available go for the deluxe room which had a very large floor space to spread out. Would have been nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the room though. The staff in the hotel are very helpful and dealt with all our queries efficiently and promptly and all speak English. The cost of extras such as breakfast and dinner are expensive but do reflect the standard and cuisine of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: Staff in all areas very helpful and pleasant. Excellent location.
Cons: Tea coffee making facilities in room
Location: Very central, main station & trams opposite, Christmas markets 5- 10 mins casual stroll away
Modern clean and comfortable rooms. Staff excellent in all areas of hotel. En suite, medium size with huge sink, and toilet and large deep shower unit - more space allocated to porcelain than people! No tea / coffee making facilities. ( travel kettle a godsend! )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by gc from London

Satisfied all round

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
In terms of quality, location and value, this hotel is hard to beat. However, unless you have Euros to burn, it may be wise to avoid the breakfast @ 24E and find a local café.