Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Business traveller from UK

Decent hotel and good location

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Decent hotel - location a huge advantage and the breakfast was excellent. Hotel staff very friendly. But the room was smaller than expected and cleanliness should be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by George from Aberdeenshire

Good location

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: Good Location Clean & comfortable Friendly staff Brakfast
Cons: The TV should have been in a museum - but it worked OK!
Location: Respectable residential area. There is a tram stop nearby, but it is an easy walk to the station, botanic gardens and shops.
The Astoria was a good choice. It is a fairly small hotel - not far from the Haupbahnhof, but comfortably well away from the 'red light' area round the station. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was a good size although the bathroom was small. The furnishings and decor are typical of a fairly basic hotel, however everything was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. One big bonus was the inclusive 'help yourself' buffet breakfast. This provided a very good start to the day. There are quite a few restaurants near the hotel, though these tended to be a little expensive. There are plenty of reasonably priced places to eat in the city centre - especially if you like Italian cooking! Overall, I'd definitely recommend the Astoria as a very good, reasonably priced hotel.
1 out of 5
by Alan from San Francisco, CA

Not up to standards--stay away.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Burn it down.
Location: It is convenient to the Messe, but the convenience is not worth it.
The room was small, this ameliorated only by the fact that there was little furniture. The "double" bed was two single beds separated by an immovable bedstand. The free wifi didn't work at all ("connection timeout"), and the staff was much more into making excuses than solving the problem. Since wifi was a requirement (I was there on business), we went and found another hotel. But we got to pay for all three nights anyway. We recommend staying away from this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Waldo from Frankfurt, Germany

look for better options

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
No sound insulation, a lot of sound from outside and inside. A very noisy stay, had trouble sleeping as a result. Lack of basic room amenities (to include window shades). I felt like I was staying in a hostel more than I did a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very nice for the money, comfortable

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was cold. Couldn't figure out how the heating worked. I don't think they had it turned on yet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smooth stay

Posted Jul 15, 2013
I thought it was good hotel. Clean rooms of a reasonable size, nice breakfast. Location is also very good. Good value for money. The only suggestion perhaps is to offer more channels in English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tony

Excellent Hotel with great service

Posted Oct 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is is one of the best that I have stayed at for some years. Not that it is opulent but the value for money, the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff combined with a location just 2 minutes from the tram and subway. Very important, it has lots of parking space (free), great breakfast (free) and wi fi (free)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Illesheim, Germany

Comfortable, quiet and clean

Posted Apr 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
I chose this hotel because of its proximity to a computerized testing center (Pearson VUE) for my Physician Assistant Re-certification Examination. It was everything I expected. The room was quite and clean, perfect for the day before a HUGE exam. The staff was friendly and fluent in English (although I speak German well enough to get around). The breakfast was great (eggs, meat, yogurt, milk, juice, cheese, coffee, cereal). Parking was not an issue because of the Hotel's parking lot. There was a lot of road construction going on and a lot of one way streets in the area;, however, if you are used to driving in Germany, it is not much of an issue. There were plenty of restaurants in the area, especially sushi and asian. Enjoy your stay here. I highly recommend this hotel.