Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Oregon

Good hotel next to the Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof

Posted Oct 13, 2013
This is the 4th time I have stayed at the National. It is an older hotel that is well maintained and for the most part have large rooms. (Though I have once gotten a smaller room). The internet is free and it is a couple minute walk to the hotel from the main train station, always nice after a long flight. Desk staff are always great.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location old hotel but cheap
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom C from New York, NY

Decent hotel for a relatively pricey city

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Decent hotel , friendly staff. Great breakfast bar. The neighborhood around the Hauptbahnhof is terrible, so I can't fault the hotel for that... The rooms were reasonably sized, but the carpets and walls need some freshening up. The towels issued on a daily basis were pretty worn, as well. The web connection was pretty weak, as the only time I could get a decent signal was near the door. However, that being said, its a professionally run hotel that has probably seen better days, but is fine if you are passing through Frankfurt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Orlando,Fl

Very nice and compfortable

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location was great, room was very nice and staff superb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by AndyB from London

One of a number of OK hotels near station

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was attracted by the 4 star rating and 2 star price. Not surprisingly it was at best a 3 star experience. No way can this hotel be 4 stars! Felt like a hotel that was past its best. Clear evidence of some better days history with lots of marble and wide corridors. Room size was good as was bathroom size (having been in the Excelsior around the corner in which my room was tiny. But several things were broken in room (bulb in bedside lamp, lever to empty the sink). Thought room was air conditioned til I realised the constant whir was the fridge. It is the first time I recall hearing the fridge. Breakfast buffet good. But the WiFi never worked and although the hotel had a restaurant and bar they were much smaller than you would expect from the photos and generally always closed. The bar was open at 6pm one evening but not at 10pm. No way was the night porter going to open it either. Staff generally disinterested and so if you want a cheap good sized room near the station then it is OK. But don't set your expectations too much beyond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Annie C from Truckee, Ca.

Great location and great value for money

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked the hotel for my grandson who was in Frankfurt for a short stay. He said the location was terrific for train station and city center. The rates were very good and he would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a central location and great value.
2 out of 5
by mg

a bit dated but very near train station

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: close to train station
Cons: No A/C
Hotel is ok. fro short stay. No A/C in rooms and internet very slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Good

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Location: excellant
Because there was a heatwave the room was quite hot no aircon very central location especially if using trains just accross the road.
3 out of 5
by john from Los Angeles, USA

Reasonable value

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: The Internet charge was very reasonable.
Location: Very close to the main central station.
The room was clean and the breakfast service was good. Overall good value. Unfortunately, the taxi driver arranged by the front desk to the airport was not too honest. The charge was supposed to be about 20-25 euro and we were charged for 37 euro. We had two persons and two luggages. There was no traffic on the way to the airport. We made one assumption that the hotel front desk will only use reliable and reputable taxi company for their guests. Never happened to us before except this time. Avoid using this service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Karen T from USA

across the street from train station

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The National Hotel was a lovely place to spend our last night in Europe, we will be sure to stay there on our next trip. Our room was huge even by US standards and about quadruple the size of many we stayed in during our 30 day trip. The public areas, including lobby, dining room, bar area, marble stairways and hallways had a feeling of luxury. Breakfast was included in our reservation and was a delight with a nice variety of fresh fruits, cereals, sautéed vegetables, eggs, meats, croissants, etc. The staff were extremely helpful, especially the last minute help with printing boarding passes.