Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Aucklandgirlfrom Auckland

Great value for money

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
I chose this motel for its low price, as we just needed a bed for one night. I was very pleasantly surprised. It was very comfortable and provided everything we needed. No one was there to greet us when we arrived, as the manager had to be somewhere else, but they had left clear instructions. The location is quite good, right by the FJ glacier access road and not very far from town at all. I would be very happy to go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very easy access to our booked early morning Tour

Posted Mar 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Late arrival in our travels ,Office closed understandable , Great service by owners to have our room read and waiting for us with very good comfort offered in the room for our tied bodies to rest well. We left early next morning before office hours due to early Glacier tour booking near the Motel , so was the best location for us to book with Glacier Gateway Motel. Thank you to the operators of this motel that made us very welcome without contact. Most enjoyable stay overnight and recommend to any fair traveller this Motel. Excellent !
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Oddleif

Greit nok

Posted Mar 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotellet har ingen spesiell utsikt og rommene er nedslitte men rene. Grei nok plass for et kortere opphold om man ikke er for kravstor. Sandfluene er plagsomme på kvelden, så da må dører og vinduer være lukket. Personalet er hjelpsomme, selv om det kan være litt tungvint å kontakte dem på telefon etter kl 8 på kvelden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by shih

nice

Posted Feb 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JDfrom Christchurch

Gateway Glacier

Posted Feb 10, 2013
We loved our stay at the Glacier Gateway but as a motel we were expecting a slightly bigger and better equipped kitchen (we were provided with an electric frypan on request which was great) and having a slightly larger dining table and a couple of comfortable chairs would be great BUT the unit would need to be expanded to accommodate this. So while we were surprised about these couple of points it wouldn't stop us staying there again as we would come prepared for what is available. GREAT location and would recommend staying there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Right on our route south down the West Coast.

Posted Jan 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay. The weather wasn't great,but were thankful to get right through without any holdups. The river was running high after heavy rain. Couldn't get close to the Glacier because track was closed, but Fox was much better. Very quiet location for a motel. Step down out of the front ranch slider door could have done with a step, as I nearly had a bad fall, and jarred my knee somewhat.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Jan 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
room was damp and staff were not friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not great

Posted Oct 23, 2012
Location: nearest to glacier
Not very attractive decor - quite shabby interior and the room smelt damp as we walked in , only 2-bar electric heater and one convector heater for whole appt. not working initially due to power cut because of bad weather (obviously not the owners fault!) torches provided but unable to call emergency office number as room phone not working. bed was warm once in it(plenty of bed covers) but frost on inside of windows next morning not conducive to shower in uninviting shower cubicle.... and this was the spring season! wouldn't like to visit in winter .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissappointing

Posted Sep 26, 2012
Pros: Location close to the glacier
Cons: Old musty rooms
Location: Well situated
The rooms are clean but old and need refurbishment