Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bryne from Uk

Excellent Stay

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Much better than was expecting considering the reviews. Room large and clean. Only issues were some reception staff not always pleasant, a lot of facilities were closed so dining choice was limited and additional costs - can only get on their ferry after parking in their car park - both were very costly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Laura from Sydney

Great location, friendly staff dated rooms

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is probably the best on the island. The hotel staff were very friendly and there are lots of organised activities, some at a small surcharge. However, rooms were dated and the linen smelt damp.
1 out of 5
by paul from b

The hotel has great potential, but is a shambles!

Posted Jan 1, 2014
From the moment we arrived we felt like the most recent "suckers" to pop off the conveyor belt. Fraser Island is beautiful, but remote and the hotel suffers from a lack of competition. Their processes are weird and confusing, reception is constantly under-staffed and we found ourselves struggling for entertainment. I would stay in Hervey Bay from where there is a much wider selection of tours to see Fraser Island's sights
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great Location

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's a nice hotel but like eveything else, age has caught up with it. May I suggest that the management consider a long term renovation plan especially for the bathrooms. Please consider concentrating on function first rather than form. Examples: 1) the bathroom sink looks nice but water splashes all over once the taps are on. 2) modern fully enclosed shower stalls rather than a small tub maybe? Can't fault the staff who were great. The tour and our tour guide were even better. I will end by saying that my family and I enjoyed our stay and will definitely use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wayne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by McIndoe

Posted Jan 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Poor service! Especially on reception! Kept waiting too long! Quite rude!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Myriam from Sydney

Cockroaches.

Posted Apr 16, 2012
Pros: The amount of activities on offer were great and the tour guides running them were excellent.
Cons: The manager had no people skills like the staff and the cockroach infested room.
Location: Nice view. But it took a whole day to get to the island.
The staff were nice and provided a nice experience. The Manager was not at all quick at rectifying problems. It was always passed on to someone else and no one wanted to take responsibility. The room had to many cockroaches in the bathroom, bedroom just everywhere, this provided a bad experience. It took 2 days to find the person who you can hire a 4WD from, this was frustrating as we had to keep changing our plans.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so much what I was expecting

Posted Feb 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Maybe the villas are different but the general rooms are gross. Old decor uncomfortable beds, terrible room amenities. The only good thing about the resort is the pool. The dining facilities are overpiriced and the food quality is half decent. Overall this hotel is just ok. If your expectations are low you might enjoy it. Also if you are only doing a day rental of the island this resort is far away from the good stuff and the rentals need to be back by 6pm so you won't have time to see much. It can take 2 hours to drive 20 km depending on how often you get stuck.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointed!!

Posted Feb 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
My partner & I had a 2 night stay at the Kingfisher Bay in Jan this year. Sailing in on the ferry the top of the resort can be seen subtly blending in with the forest backdrop. Greeted at the jetty by the land train to take you to the hotel was lovely touch. The hotel lobby & grounds are lovely, however the rooms leave much to be desired. The decor is very old fashioned, with bathroom fittings that could be pre-war! The mosquito doors fell off their hinges when moved & we had an ant infestation in the bed!!!! I'm sure this is the better of the 2 hotels on the island but I was still VERY dissapointed!