Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The staff was eager to please.
The staff was eager to please. The hotel was close to restaurants and a grocery store.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water

Posted Jun 6, 2015
My husband and I (senior citizens) made reservations at the Super 8 in Thurmond, MD for June 4, 2015. We arrived between 1:30 and 2:00. The young man at the desk told us there was a problem with the water heater and there was no hot water. He said he would compensate us by waving the early registration fee of $25 (which I had never heard of). I did not think that was enough and he said he would talk to the manager. When we got back that evening about 9 pm I asked if he had spoken to the manager and he said he was the manager, then he said he was the supervisor. I asked when the manager would be available and he said Tues. I said that doesn't help me, I will contact Super 8 when I get home and walked away. He followed me down the hall and said he could no longer accommodate us and we had 5 minutes to vacate. Since we are both seniors it is difficult to drive in the dark, however we packed up and left. I later discovered in our upset and haste I forgot my iPod and would like it returned to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My stay at the Motel 8 in Thurmont, MD

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: it was very convenient as we have family in Thurmont and it was easy to get to, also there are restaurants nearby
Cons: the rooms need to be updated, they look a little worn
They were very accommodating after I had called the day before to request a room on the first floor as we are seniors and do not like to do stairs with our luggage. They processed our room adequately and told us about the breakfast and to let them know if we needed anything more. The breakfast was okay not great but it worked for us because we had to leave early. They processed out check out quickly and efficiently. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good place to stay near Gettysberg

Posted May 19, 2015
Just stayed overnight but a good place to stay. Nothing fancy but clean.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dan from Henrico

Baton twirl trip

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
The first few hours was really bad when the problem started in the bathroom caused by clogged up toilet and the service was bad. It took almost an hour before we were moved to another room which is bigger and better. Overall, it was comfortable for the rest of the weekend will probably go back for another stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Excellent stay.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: It was very convenient to everything.
Cons: The bath tub needs a little tlc. Other than that all was good.
Location: Everything we needed was almost within walking distance.
We were in Thurmont to visit our granddaughter and her family for the weekend. Our stay was just wonderful. The beds were very comfortable. The room was very clean. The staff was very attentive. We enjoyed our stay very much. We will be staying there again when we return to visit our family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Mohit G., Hotel Management
Dear Liddie, Thank you for staying here at Super 8 Thurmont, MD and taking out your valuable time to review our services and the property. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay here. We will be more than happy to welcome you for a comfortable and even a more pleasant stay experience during your next visit in this area. Once again, thank you for your positive review. It is a motivation for us to keep doing better and keep providing higher standards of customer service to our guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

An OK place to crash for the night

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Cons: WiFi
We booked this hotel for it's location and there weren't many others around. The hotel is an older but remolded Supper 8. The staff was friendly. Check in took a while as the desk clerk was having computer issues. Our room was average but could have used a little more cleaning. We parked around the back as it was closer to our room, this area need a major clean up! The "free" breakfast was below average. Cold cereal, waffles, toast, and prepackaged danish, not much more. The major disappointments were the WiFi , I was taking an online class and couldn't log on to the site. Very slow when it would connect. and the early morning noise from the room above.The hotel wasn't booked to capacity but all of the filled rooms seemed to be clustered together. We heard the people upstairs when they walked. If I needed a pace to crash for the night in this area I probably would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Mohit G., Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Thank you for staying here at Super 8, Thurmont, MD and taking out your valuable time to review our services and the property. I understand that your stay was comfortable but at the same time you have had to face some inconvenience during your stay. Your issues have been taken into consideration and appropriate actions are being taken. We hope to see you again and welcome you for a stay experience meeting your expectations. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it helps us improve on certain areas which we might lack on to meet your or other guests' basic expectations. PS: We promise to have you not be disappointed with the SuperStart breakfast for your future stays!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thurmont PA

GREAT for the money

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Very good staff
Cons: The coffee is not good at all and the breakfast is limited on choices.
Location: You have to try Shamrock Irish restaurant
Room was clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bengt from Åkersberga

Rätt ställe för vandrare i två parker.

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels
Helt perfekt för den som ska vandra i Cunningham State Park och Catoctin Mountain Park. Billigt och bra. Dessutom finns flera affärer och restauranger i närheten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Very pleasantly surprised

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
Right off a small hwy, clean, affordable, recliner in room - great hotel.