Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet setting close to town.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The location is lovely and very quiet.
Cons: I have nothing that I can offer to improve.
Location: Very close to Fredericksburg, Texas, but settting is outside in the country. Close enough that you can quickly get back to town to shop or eat.
This would be a wonderful setting for a family reunion. Our cabin was very clean and the setting was close to town and very quiet. The ducks are quite friendly!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephan from Houston

A bit too rustic

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Listed under the Bed and Breakfast category I was expecting a tradition type of service. However, there was none. The outside areas had really run down since the pictures were taken. Deck run down with slips boards, chairs falling apart, lights by creek falling in water .... Overall very primitive. Fire pit worked but had to go to store to get matches to light ourselves. Inside, pretty much the same .... Out of date tv, mattress, sound system and kitchen appliances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heidi from Willis , TX

Amazing atmosphere

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I arrived on a Sunday afternoon, and we're immediately greeted by the resident ducks. Our cottage was beautiful, clean, comfortable and so charming. We were here to celebrate my 50th birthday and we could not have asked for a more perfect setting. We felt like we were the only ones on the property. We explored the grounds. They have a lovely nature walk along Baron's creek. We will return most definitely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tricia from Dallas

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend I had some last minute time off, so on a whim we decided to drive down to Fredericksburg. Our stay on Barons Creek property made the whole trip. The property was beautiful and the cabin was everything we could ask for. We made use of the fireplace and the jacuzzi spa. In the morning we had a cup of coffee on the porch and watched the ducks swimming around on the ponds. This was a perfect little romantic getaway. If you are visiting and are the type of people who like to cook your own food, I would suggest getting one of the cabins with a kitchenette. I like to dine at the local establishments, so I was not bothered that our cabin did not have a stove. It had the most important thing, a coffee machine :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have been to Fredericksburg a couple of times. Without staying in or renting a home through a rental service, this is hands down the best choice. Few of the hotels around compare to the quality of this one and virtually none of them match the uniqueness. The location is close to Main St, between it and many of the wineries. The log cabins are fantastic if you are looking for something authentic and quiet. Even though the place was listed as sold out while we were there, we only ever saw one other couple the entire time. There is no check in or out. The key is left in the door for the assigned cabin. Juice, coffee, tea, firewood, etc are all provided to make for a cozy stay. The space in the cabin was large and had the perfect amenities. I have already recommended it to several people. Don't expect over the top service. This is the place you stay if you want to create your own secluded experience close to the town.
5 out of 5
by Dec vacationer from TX

Fantastic experience can't wait to go back

Posted Dec 15, 2013
I have never stayed in a place like this before. The cabin was so romantic and different. It did not have marble floors and a oversized bath room. It did not have a big screen TV. It did not have maid service in the morning and turn down service at night. It did not have room service, in fact I don't believe there is a restaurant or bar on the property. Instead this place has class. Rustic (extra clean) wood floors, walls and ceilings. A large corner spa tub with shower head. A great fireplace. A CD player (bring your favs). And a small TV for those that can't leave the news behind. Every place you look the owner has placed something special. We went in Dec so the cabins were decorated with lights and a small Christmas tree was placed inside. When we arrived Christmas music was playing. There is a man made creek in front of the cabins that the ducks hang out at (they may even wake you in the morning on their way to the creek). What better way to spend a night with your loved one.... in a warm tub, a fire in the fireplace, your favorite music playing, and no chance of anyone bothering you?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Keith from San Antonio, TX

It was great. Lovely place.

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Comfortable, roomy, clean, quiet.
Cons: They thought of every amenity.
Location: Too much to tell. This a great town and area.
All good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JD from Texas

Warm, Welcoming, and Wonderful

Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a great place to stay. We'd definitely stay there again. It's a very impressive property! We slept great! Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brandon Beard from New Mexico

Wonderful Cabins and Close to Town

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful cabins constructed of salvaged materials. The rustic decorations in the rooms are great. Comfortable beds, Jacuzzi tub, beautiful grounds to explore, nice and quiet, very relaxing, wish we could have stayed a week. Overall great place in the Texas Hill Country.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com