Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from austin, tx

Noisy and slightly old.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Quant small hotel, nice restaurant lots of parties and weddings. Loud happy people partying and rooms are not very sound proof. Food prices in restaurant were very expensive, drinks too. Although very good meal and service good too. Hotel staff fair, not real accommodating just doing their job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend Trip

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Stayed here for a quick trip to meet some friends in jersey for concert in New York. Lovely hotel. Clean. Friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old and new favorite

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Small town charm and authenticity; genuine staff and good service.
My husband and I were married at this hotel 35 years ago, and its even more charming now! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area unless I go to the shore!
1 out of 5
by Mike from Guilford

Nice room, wrong location.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Great bartenders.
Cons: Better windows on street side. Don't rent out room 311 when the bar/restaurant has band playing until 1AM. Let guests know IF there is a band playing.
Location: Good restaurants within walking distance. Nothing special about location of town.
We chose this hotel because it was close to our visit with family. We had a room facing Main St. The windows were inadequate to keep the street noise at bay. The room was very noisy. Thursday night the Hotel had a band playing until a little after 12AM. I guess they forgot they had hotel guests. On Friday night the bar/ restaurant that was about 75 feet from the hotel and our window had their band playing until 1AM then of course there was the noise from the various groups of people leaving the bar. That lasted until 1:20AM As the manager of the hotel and I'm sure a member of the Chamber and should be aware of the variety of business activities, why would you book that room when there is a band scheduled?? At least let your guests know about it. Why not install better window to deaden street noise? If only to accommodate your guests. Terrible stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Freehold

Fun in Freehold

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Last minute stay. We saw a good rate and decided on the spur of theoment to stay over. We had dinner and after dinner cocktails. Food is great. Thank you American Hotel. Well run and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from Staunton, VA

Lovely Hotel, Great Location and Helpful Staff

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: The staff and room comfort.
Location: There are several restaurants and shops nearby - the hotel is in a great location.
We were coming to town for a funeral. It was at noon, so we needed to be in the room much earlier than the regular check-in time. When I called (very short notice), the front desk was so accommodating. And when we arrived, she was great as well and our room was ready right when we got there. The hotel itself is quite charming. The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed. Room service was also timely and not outrageously priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Beautiful hotel, we went on a Saturday and they had live music at the restaurant. Breakfast could be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Tampa Bay, Florida

Has the feel of a Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Cons: Keep everything just as it is!
Very clean, pretty hotel with modern amenities right on Main Street in downtown Freehold. Very nice restaurant onsite with several others next door and within walking distance. Hotel has only 20 rooms and the staff really makes you feel at home. Jim the banquet manager bends over backwards to make your event a success. Great history of this multi-hundred year-old property that has been totally refurbished. A wonderful break from the chain hotels I usually stay in without giving up the quality of Hilton or Marriott.
2 out of 5
by Gordes 2013 from Chicago

Loud loud bar music

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Location, ambiance
We arrived to the hotel around 10 pm on a Friday, they had a party going on at the bar. We could hear the music from every part of the hotel, and this was going on till 2 am in the morning. I suppose people who were interested in spending Friday evening partying, would really enjoy it. I was more interested in resting and having a good night of sleep. I checked out one day early and booked another hotel. Probably won't stay in this hotel again even though it had a nice location and a good ambiance of a historical hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anne Marie from Canada

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com