Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Lucayan

Posted May 27, 2015
Great view, friendly staff, good food, good value, great amenities, close to other services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Lanai Suites

Posted May 26, 2015
Have a wonderful stay , room was great ! Ocean front with private stairs to beach. Only thing if you are short the bed is really high , my friend had a good laugh watching me try to get in bed.😃
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sandy, UT

Grand Disappointment!

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Nothing. Of course, I did not have a chance to see anything or enjoy the amenities as I spent 2.5 hours checking in and 2.5 hours with maintenance.
Cons: The check in process is the worst I have encountered in a major hotel. Staff was apathetic and unapologetic. Lighthouse wing is old and in disrepair.
Location: I was only able to visit UNEXSO for my dive.
I booked one room for one night on Expedia.com for a recent overnight diving trip from Fort Lauderdale. The booking process was fast and easy. That was the highlight of this hotel stay. Check in is at 3pm, however the lobby was full and there was already a line out the door by 2pm. My dive check-in at UNEXCO across the street was also at 2pm, so I decided to proceed with my dive and check in afterwards. When I arrived back at the hotel around 4:20pm, the lines were shorter, but each person/group in line took at least 15 minutes to check in. The young lady handling my line seemed lost. Other personnel were coming to her every 3-4 minutes to have keys made, to ask about other reservations and to generally disrupt her own process. After waiting nearly 30 minutes to process the two in line before me, I finally made it to the desk only to be told that my room was still being processed by housekeeping. I was asked to stand aside or to find a seat and she would come back to me. After an hour of waiting without a single update from the original agent, I asked the manager for an update. I was told she was still working on it. After another hour of waiting, I was told that my room needed to have the carpet shampooed and was still wet. I asked to please be given keys so I could shower and sleep. I arrived at the room to find the toilet broken, likely the reason the carpet was wet. Maintenance and other delays wasted another 2.5 hours of my time before I was moved to another room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best of the worse? Take it from there!

Posted May 23, 2015
Very long line to check in and check out....extremely out of the ordinary for first impression....room seemed up to date but needed TLC....ripes in lamp shades, stains on chairs, slight mold around bath tub, but comfy bed...very noisy room one wall is shared with elevator and all night the sound made me feel like I was on a roller coaster...they should insulate wall better for noise or do not rent room...lobby smelled from smoke from cigars because the cigar bar leaves the doors open to the lobby and you could hardly breathe....had to wait for friends outside in heat rather than inhale smoke....room service was suppose to tske 45 minutes to one hour, it was over two....the best asset was the staff...very polite, friendly, informative, and professional....grounds are beautiful and lots of pools and escape places....quiet..... Thank the staff for making this hotel for the rating they may get, but it is definitely far from that level in most ever thing else. This hotel is supposed to be the best on the island, but I wonder if the best is to be credited to their marketing and sales department....OMG...what would the other hotels on the island be like.....BEWARE!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Grand Lucayan, Hotel Management
Hello guest; - Thank you for providing us with some feedback. I would like to take this time to apologize for the long lines at check in and check out. I can definitely understand how this can become frustrating. I can assure you that we are working delightedly to come up with a solution. My only hope is that this has not left a bad taste in your mouth. On another note, I really appreciate the kind words regarding our staff members. You are right; they are one of our best assets. :-) Thanks again for reaching out to us, and we hope to see you again. -Sincerely Bernadette Arty, Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ca

Gods hands

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Very clean and organized Friendly and polite staff Well located right on the beach and next to the markets for shopping Great restaurant choices
Cons: Very well planned out resort , they thought of every thing
Location: Shopping, restaurants, snorkeling, fishing walking, sightseeing, swimming in the pool, swimming in the ocean, kayaking, relaxing at the bar
If you want a place of beauty go here. It is very relaxing. The views from all angles are breath taking. The ocean, the wind, the smell will melt your real life away. Take time to take it all In and really enjoy the moments you spend here..really-truly......be in the moment....
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by Grand Lucayan, Hotel Management
Hello Ca, - Wow, you really took the time to appreciate the ambiance of the resort and location. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and thank you for the 5 star rating. I am so happy you left the resort feeling relaxed, and that you were really able to soak up the scenery. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon. - Sincerely Bernadette Arty, Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dakar

fantastic place to be

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The access to the beach and landscape you can observe.
Cons: nothing
Location: the small market at walking distance, the promenade by boat to the ocean, ...
I was in this hotel for a conference but I rapidely realize that this place is not only a convention center but the most beautifull place I've ever been to be in vaccation. My experience is simply fatanstic. So I strongly recommand this hotel to all travellers to freeport
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Grand Lucayan, Hotel Management
Hello Dakar, - Thank you for all the lovely compliments. I am so happy to hear you had a fantastic experience at the resort and that you strongly recommend the Grand Lucayan. I would also like to thank you for the 5 star rating and we hope to see you again soon. -Sincerely, Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Best location

Posted May 11, 2015
It's right at the beach, close to the market, shopping and very friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Grand Lucayan, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, - Thank you so much for the lovely review, and 5 star rating. We hope to see you again. :-) -Sincerely Bernadette Arty, Guest Services
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barely adequate

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Tired, worn carpets ac was leaking so much that the carpet was soaked. Sooap and amenities were like the YMCA
Location: good location for Lucaya Port
would check other places in the area, unless being close to the casino and marina are very important.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Grand Lucayan, Hotel Management
Dear guest - Thank you for your review. It saddens me to hear that your experience was not everything you had imagined. Please accept my sincerest apologies. -Sincerely, Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ft Lauderdale

Great hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Friendly staff, very clean, very attentive to guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Grand Lucayan , Hotel Management
Hello Greg, -Thank you so much for your 5 star review and wonderful compliments. We hope to see you again. -Sincerely, Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Not What It Used To Be

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: View from our room
Cons: Service, food, room condition, employee attitude
Location: Amazing location. Things to do include bone fishing, Gold Rock Beach, and snorkeling
This hotel used to be our "go to" place to get away and unplug for a week. Sadly, we won't be going here any longer. Check in was an hour with 3 people in front of us. We were not offered an upgrade nor a "welcome drink" as Expedia Gold members. The check in calamity continued when the front desk lady asked for my credit card but never took the info, so the next morning when I tried to charge something I get the "card not working" announcement from the coffee shop. Back to the front desk I go with no apology from the front desk. The property has a beautiful infinity pool that we love. Not any more. All poolside umbrellas have been removed, the pool bar/grill opened almost an hour late, had no ice for another 30 minutes, and a drink that was insultingly watered down. The pool area is quiet until somewhere around 10am a wave of close to 100 people rush in like the tide and take over the area… they were bused in and were not hotel guests. You feel like you're crashing their party. Pool area food is terrible. The main pool area has a grill with great chips (french fries) but my burger tasted like it was pre-cooked and then reheated on the grill. Also at the pool, a large BBQ had fresh grilled lobster for around $24 but was almost the size of a crawfish. You are better off going across the street to the marketplace with better service, prices, and quality. Our ocean view room was very comfortable, but the maid was downright surly. Very disappointed.