Ratings based on 771 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best of the worse? Take it from there!

Posted May 23, 2015
Very long line to check in and check out....extremely out of the ordinary for first impression....room seemed up to date but needed TLC....ripes in lamp shades, stains on chairs, slight mold around bath tub, but comfy bed...very noisy room one wall is shared with elevator and all night the sound made me feel like I was on a roller coaster...they should insulate wall better for noise or do not rent room...lobby smelled from smoke from cigars because the cigar bar leaves the doors open to the lobby and you could hardly breathe....had to wait for friends outside in heat rather than inhale smoke....room service was suppose to tske 45 minutes to one hour, it was over two....the best asset was the staff...very polite, friendly, informative, and professional....grounds are beautiful and lots of pools and escape places....quiet..... Thank the staff for making this hotel for the rating they may get, but it is definitely far from that level in most ever thing else. This hotel is supposed to be the best on the island, but I wonder if the best is to be credited to their marketing and sales department....OMG...what would the other hotels on the island be like.....BEWARE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ca

Gods hands

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Very clean and organized Friendly and polite staff Well located right on the beach and next to the markets for shopping Great restaurant choices
Cons: Very well planned out resort , they thought of every thing
Location: Shopping, restaurants, snorkeling, fishing walking, sightseeing, swimming in the pool, swimming in the ocean, kayaking, relaxing at the bar
If you want a place of beauty go here. It is very relaxing. The views from all angles are breath taking. The ocean, the wind, the smell will melt your real life away. Take time to take it all In and really enjoy the moments you spend here..really-truly......be in the moment....
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by Grand Lucayan, Hotel Management
Hello Ca, - Wow, you really took the time to appreciate the ambiance of the resort and location. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and thank you for the 5 star rating. I am so happy you left the resort feeling relaxed, and that you were really able to soak up the scenery. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon. - Sincerely Bernadette Arty, Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dakar

fantastic place to be

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The access to the beach and landscape you can observe.
Cons: nothing
Location: the small market at walking distance, the promenade by boat to the ocean, ...
I was in this hotel for a conference but I rapidely realize that this place is not only a convention center but the most beautifull place I've ever been to be in vaccation. My experience is simply fatanstic. So I strongly recommand this hotel to all travellers to freeport
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Grand Lucayan, Hotel Management
Hello Dakar, - Thank you for all the lovely compliments. I am so happy to hear you had a fantastic experience at the resort and that you strongly recommend the Grand Lucayan. I would also like to thank you for the 5 star rating and we hope to see you again soon. -Sincerely, Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Best location

Posted May 11, 2015
It's right at the beach, close to the market, shopping and very friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Grand Lucayan, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, - Thank you so much for the lovely review, and 5 star rating. We hope to see you again. :-) -Sincerely Bernadette Arty, Guest Services
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barely adequate

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Tired, worn carpets ac was leaking so much that the carpet was soaked. Sooap and amenities were like the YMCA
Location: good location for Lucaya Port
would check other places in the area, unless being close to the casino and marina are very important.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Grand Lucayan, Hotel Management
Dear guest - Thank you for your review. It saddens me to hear that your experience was not everything you had imagined. Please accept my sincerest apologies. -Sincerely, Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ft Lauderdale

Great hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Friendly staff, very clean, very attentive to guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Grand Lucayan , Hotel Management
Hello Greg, -Thank you so much for your 5 star review and wonderful compliments. We hope to see you again. -Sincerely, Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Not What It Used To Be

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: View from our room
Cons: Service, food, room condition, employee attitude
Location: Amazing location. Things to do include bone fishing, Gold Rock Beach, and snorkeling
This hotel used to be our "go to" place to get away and unplug for a week. Sadly, we won't be going here any longer. Check in was an hour with 3 people in front of us. We were not offered an upgrade nor a "welcome drink" as Expedia Gold members. The check in calamity continued when the front desk lady asked for my credit card but never took the info, so the next morning when I tried to charge something I get the "card not working" announcement from the coffee shop. Back to the front desk I go with no apology from the front desk. The property has a beautiful infinity pool that we love. Not any more. All poolside umbrellas have been removed, the pool bar/grill opened almost an hour late, had no ice for another 30 minutes, and a drink that was insultingly watered down. The pool area is quiet until somewhere around 10am a wave of close to 100 people rush in like the tide and take over the area… they were bused in and were not hotel guests. You feel like you're crashing their party. Pool area food is terrible. The main pool area has a grill with great chips (french fries) but my burger tasted like it was pre-cooked and then reheated on the grill. Also at the pool, a large BBQ had fresh grilled lobster for around $24 but was almost the size of a crawfish. You are better off going across the street to the marketplace with better service, prices, and quality. Our ocean view room was very comfortable, but the maid was downright surly. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatchewan

Hotel was amazing.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, beautiful beach, amenities are plenty.
Cons: Their check in is terrible. I do not know if they are on an old system, if the computer process of check in could be better.
Location: Excellent location, close to the Marketplace.
The Grand Lucayan was a beautiful resort. The check in was very frustrating. Took 1 hour to check in. But our ocean view room was everything we expected Great resort, beautiful amenities. The beach was fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by Grand Lucayan , Hotel Management
Hello Saskatchewan,- Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so ecstatic to hear that your ocean view room was everything you had expected and overall you had a fantastic time. On another note, I can certainly see how waiting 1 hour to check in can be frustrating, please accept my sincerest apologies. We would love for you to come back and visit, please keep a look out on our website for special offers. -Sincerely Bernadette Arty, Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Great location and beach atmosphere, plenty of activities and things to do. Beautiful beaches and the hotel staff is polite and very helpful. The rooms were smaller than I expected and need to be updated with carpet and fresh paint. Overall a very positive experience and great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Grand Lucayan , Hotel Management
Hello Brian, - I'm thrilled to hear you has such an amazing time at the resort. Thank you for the lovely compliments regarding our staff members, I can't wait to let them know what a lasting impression they have left with you. We would love for you to come back and visit, keep a look out on our website for special offers. –Sincerely Bernadette Arty, Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Very friendly staff. Relaxing atmosphere. Don't be in a rush. Check in and check out is a slow process. You are on island time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Grand Lucayan , Hotel Management
Hello Guest-Thank you so much for the lovely review and thank you for choosing Grand Lucayan. We hope to see you back soon. -Sincerely Bernadette Arty, Guest Services