Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

beach view

Posted Jan 10, 2015
We picked this resort as we wanted a nice, relaxing, out-of-the way vacation. It was perfect. The beach was beautiful, the water was smooth as glass. We enjoyed snorkeling, kayaking, paddle-boarding, and riding bike around the resort. Harold was a great resource of what to do and the best what to do it. The restaurants were just ok. The best food on the island was found at a little place run by Max and Rosalina called Native Outback Takeout, however, unfortunately the only way to get there is by taxi or renting a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous location, really disappointing eating.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Room, views, beach, grounds, atmosphere did NOT disappoint!
Cons: EVERYTHING about the food aspect--availability, quality, menu, service, dining room, etc. Details in the room cleanliness need to be addressed.
Location: Perfect if you like vacations where you are able to lay low and chill. Plenty of things to do onsite (snorkel, kayak, beach, etc), but no "night life
Great location, pristine beach (except for the no see ums, but worth the hassle of applying bug spray), gorgeous views, lovely and impressive room (Jr. Oceanfront Suite). However, anyone looking to indulge in dining options will be disappointed...they don't exist. You'll eat, but you'll be bored by the menu in two days (or one, if you're a foodie), frustrated by the really uncoordinated, almost untrained feel of the wait staff, and marveling at the lack of supplies (no steak, menu in the room not the same as in the restaurant, out of things). I don't know if it's a cultural difference, but most were very uninterested (appearing) in making the stay extraordinary. Very few instances of anyone engaging with us during any interactions. Mostly just "here you go" when being served or inquiring about amenities, usually without a smile. Not rude, however, just very standoffish feel. The food end of this place JUST DOES NOT match the beautiful, upscale feel of the rest of it and as you're essentially trapped at the outer end of the island with a very long drive to eat elsewhere, I'm really surprised they haven't responded to the many reviews about improving the dining because if they had a dining experience that even came close to the room and the area, this place would be UNBEATABLE, INCREDIBLE, AND EXTRAORDINARY instead of just good. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if the dining was good...but an expensive vacation just isn't the right time to have daily disappointment. :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom HOUMA

Great Place

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Rooms, beach...
Location: Good restaurant Very good breakfast near the sea
Awesome! If you want a break it's the Great Place for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Unwind and relax in a beautiful secluded place

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Quiet, peaceful, beautiful settings, large rooms, friendly staff, the perfect place to unwind and let the stress float away.
Cons: Weak and unpredictable wifi. Although we wanted to unplug, we couldn't check email most of the time.
Location: A gem in the middle of a poorer village. Few good restaurants off property. Pink Pearl was the best but all fried foods. Get a car!
Old Bahama Bay is a beautiful hotel right on the beach at the far west end of Grand Bahama. The staff is very friendly, the accommodations are very nice, and the beach and ocean are pristine. This is the place you want to go if you need solitude and quiet. Want to decompress and get your soul back from the craziness of your job? This is where you should go. If you're looking for lots of good restaurant choices, shopping, action, and things to do, then you may want to stay closer to Freeport and Port Lucaya. At OBB, you're about a 40 minute drive from the airport. If you want to discover the island at all, I'd recommend renting a car (beware, drive on the left!). Taxi's are too expensive and top food choices are back near Freeport. The hotel usually has a nice restaurant and a small pub/tiki restaurant on the beach. During our stay, the main restaurant was closed, so unless you want fried pub food, you'll need to head to Freeport. Everything is expensive here, so stop at Solomons (supermarket) a few blocks from the airport on your way to OBB. The rooms are comfortable and could use a bit of TLC, but still very nice. The area (West End) is a poorer part of the island hit hard by hurricanes, and can be a bit uncomfortable to be in - although we found the people to be quite nice. All in all, a perfect way to unwind and let your cares float away. Let the staff there take care of you, bring some good books, let yourself relax in this beautiful hotel and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nettes Ressort leider viel zu abgelegen

Posted May 18, 2014
Das Resort ist an sich schön. Leider liegt es rd. 45 km von Freeport (alle Aktivitäten) entfernt. Dazwischen gibt es nichts außer arme Straßenhunde, Müll am Straßenrand und heruntergekommene kleine Ortschaften. Schade dass die Insulaner ihre Insel nicht besser pflegen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bonniefrom Old Bahama Bay

Very enjoyable!

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was very nice and the property was well kept!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mountain girlfrom park city utah

Beautiful room and grounds on a lovely beach

Posted Apr 10, 2014
The room was very well appointed spacious with kitchenette and huge soaking tub. The grounds were lovely old style Bahamian look inside and out. Food and cocktails steps from the sand. Wide choice of water equipment all inclusive; snorkeling SUPaddle boards, kayaks, catamarans... The staff was delightful. We saw a variety of fish in the water and on the end of a hook ;) we will look forward to returning in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Garyfrom Tampa, FL

Peaceful

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
All I can say is Excellent in all regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hollyfrom FL

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was great. Beautiful rooms with a gorgeous view from everyone bungalow. Big balconies to sit on and sip coffee in the morning. The downside was that the hotel was a 35 minute ride or a $50-$75 cab to any entertainment. The area around the hotel is not one that you would walk in after dark. If you want to sit and relax within the resort I would definitely recommend it.