Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bonnie from Old Bahama Bay

Very enjoyable!

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was very nice and the property was well kept!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mountain girl from park city utah

Beautiful room and grounds on a lovely beach

Posted Apr 10, 2014
The room was very well appointed spacious with kitchenette and huge soaking tub. The grounds were lovely old style Bahamian look inside and out. Food and cocktails steps from the sand. Wide choice of water equipment all inclusive; snorkeling SUPaddle boards, kayaks, catamarans... The staff was delightful. We saw a variety of fish in the water and on the end of a hook ;) we will look forward to returning in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gary from Tampa, FL

Peaceful

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
All I can say is Excellent in all regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Holly from FL

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was great. Beautiful rooms with a gorgeous view from everyone bungalow. Big balconies to sit on and sip coffee in the morning. The downside was that the hotel was a 35 minute ride or a $50-$75 cab to any entertainment. The area around the hotel is not one that you would walk in after dark. If you want to sit and relax within the resort I would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Holly from Fl

Gem in the middle of nowhere

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was amazing ! The rooms were in little bungalows throughout property. They were the size of 1 bedroom apartments. Beautifully decorated. The grounds were beautiful. Free bikes and kayaks to explore. The negative was that once you leave the property you have a 35 minute drive or a $75 cab ride to get to any entertainment. There are 2 restaurants on property but close very early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Old Bahama Bay. We do strive to provide tranquil and relaxing getaways, so we are glad to hear we provided the type of vacation you were looking for. We do hope to have you back with us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by antonella from boston, ma

i d come back in a heartbeat

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: no
the hotel is 50 minutes away from the airport but very much so worth the drive the spacious suite, the fantastic view of the marina the helpful and courteous staff all complimentary activities made my stay unforgettable !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
What a nice review – thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to leave your kind words. We will certainly pass along to the staff and we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joanne from Stratford, Ontario

Another amazing vacation at Old Bahama Bay!

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: One of the very best hotels we've ever experienced.
This was our second stay and we're already looking forward to returning again! Beautiful, spotless accommodations, quiet and relaxing, friendly and very helpful. If you're looking for lots of action and nightlife then this is not the place for you but when you need to relax, this is paradise. The swimming pool is second to none and the beach is lovely. Activity center provides fishing poles, paddle boards, kayaks, hobie cat at no charge and can also arrange excursions outside of the resort. You can also rent bicycles if you want to bike around West End. The food and beverages at Teasers as well as Dockside Grill are delicious! Don't miss the Coconut French Toast, Bahama Mamas, or Cracked Conch. Everything is tasty and the service is fabulous. Ask Mary at Teasers to make you a Mudslide you won't soon forget :) The front desk was very helpful with arranging transportation to and from the airport and also allowed us a late checkout. It was hard to leave :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed using the complimentary water sports and bikes. Thank you so much for posting your generous comments - we will certainly share your review with the team and the chefs (and Mary). Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Pennsylvania

Quiet, beautiful location, adjacent marina

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Peaceful, very clean and well looked after. Great beaches. Had a restful week.
Cons: The food was expensive but probably average for the area.
Location: Remote but for us that was a positive, drove into Freeport several times.
This is a remote, out of the way beach resort. Long drive into Freeport but all the people were friendly and helpful. We were not impressed with the food and ate out when we could. Take care with a rental car! Most are old and worn and left hand drive--we had two cars, the first had several issues the second was well worn but sufficed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
We appreciate receiving your kind review. Based on feedback from guests like you, we have decided to get more involved in the day to day operations of the food and beverage department, which is currently outsourced to an outside management company. We certainly hope you will notice an improvement on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel near beach

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Very quiet, very friendly, great facility, nice staff.
Cons: The restaurant is a bit expensive and it has not a big selection.
We stayed four days in this cute hotel with 2 kids. We booked a room with pool view but we get a room with see view complementary :) We didn't ask for it they just provided it. Maybe because there were not much guests and they could manage it but anyway it was a very nice gesture....thank you. The room had a nice furnishing, it was always clean, big bathroom, enough space in the living room....everything was great! It has a long and beautiful sandy beach with enough sun bed you can use the beach equipment ( kaiak, snorkelling, bicycle, etc.) complementary. We had only one problem that there is no shop or store near where you can by anything. There is ruined settlement about 10 min away (with bicycle) where you can find a "store" (a 20m2 room, slums style) with very basic goods. The restaurant is a bit expensive and it has not a big selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from Nashville, TN

Perfect for Relaxing & Lovely Getaway

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: peaceful, relaxing, beautiful, clean, delicious food, friendly and efficient hotel staff
Cons: nothing comes to mind
Location: take a boat out for 1/2 day to hunt lobster, conch, snorkel and fish - very reasonably priced and fun!
My husband and I took a 3 night weekend getaway to Old Bahama Bay this past weekend. It was a perfectly lovely trip! The resort and rooms are exactly as pictured. The food was so delicious we ate all meals on the property which is unusual for us. We took a boat out 2 days for a.m. trips with "Showtime" where we caught lots of lobster, conch and fish as well as snorkeled. Harold, the concierge activities go-to, arranged it for us - could not have been more helpful or better in any way! The hotel cooked our catch for dinner for us, and we still had enough to bring some home with us. All of the staff at the hotel are friendly and just plain nice. Housekeeping seemed to know when we left the room first for the day and had it cleaned by the time we got back - a first for us from other trips. We will most definitely go back. There were other couples there as well as families with children. This is a beautiful place to choose for a relaxing,decompressing and de-stressing stay. We highly recommend it!