Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jota from Miami

Great time away from the busy time-shares

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels
Sunrise resort is a tad far from the busy market place and the larger timeshare/all inclusive resorts. But I was fine with that. Spent only night, but my girlfriend and I spend a great deal of quiet relaxing time together and actually felt away from it all. We even took a bike ride to a local beach, less than 20 min away. Way better than the tiny crowded ones near the bigger hotels. After checking out, we hung out at the pool and played billiards and ping pong till we had to catch our ferry in the evening. The hotel gave us pool towels and allowed us to freshen up in one of the rooms before departing. Highly reccomended if thats what your after.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Habitaciones Ok, internet fatal

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels
El internet no funciona en las habitaciones, y no hay restaurante en el hotel. El restaurante más cercano esta como a 2 km
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hanna S from Stockholm

Good hotel but far to everything

Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels
Nice staff, nice room, each room has its own fridge. Because it is very expensive in The Bahamas, it is a good idea to buy food in a food store instead of eating at a restaurant every day! This hotel is situated just by the sea. With a short walk you will be at a wunderful beach where you can bath and lay in the sun. The hotel is though a bit too far from shops and restaurants. It takes about 30-40 minutes to walk to shops and restaurants. You can though grab a taxi. I would say, this hotel is great for those who only want to get away from citylife and enjoy the peace on the countryside. If you are the party type, chose a hotel inside of Freepoprt or Port Lucaya. Otherwise you will have to spend a lof of money on taxis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike from Astoria, NY

Peace and Quiet

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels
All I can say is....this place relaxed me from the moment I arrived. Absolute serenity. I read the reviews before booking and noticed the note about no food onsite: true. But I planned accordingly and had dinner in Lucaya before heading to the hotel and checking in. The next morning I asked the front desk about what to do for breakfast, in terms of options, and he recommended a place (Claboard Cafe) which he said was about a 15 min walk. He then offered use of one of their bicycles, which I took him up on, and glad I did. What a peaceful bike ride to breakfast! On the way back I took a slightly different route that took me to an abandoned hotel across from the channel. Nearby was a beautiful walking path lined with pine trees that took you to a gorgeous beach. Couldn't ask for a better morning... will go back for sure.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Tallahassee

There are nicer places in Freeport

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels
Good: Reasonably priced. Friendly staff. Quiet. Bad: No internet in the rooms (you have to use a common area). Maid service is spotty at best (getting toilet paper can be a challenge). Maid will not clean the coffee pot. Older rooms with some unusual quirks (like the bathroom door hitting the toilet seat if you opened the door all the way). Safe very difficult to use. Maintenance said they would fix (we were there 10 days, still broken when we left). Ugly: The restaurant and bar are closed. The only way to get food is to walk approx half a mile. We had to rent a car to do anything. The car rental cost offsets any savings from the other hotels. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money to stay in Port Lucaya. It will be worth it in the long run.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staying at sunrise resort and marina

Posted Dec 7, 2013
What a great place. Staff was extremely helpful and very polite room was excellent no complaints great time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Yorkshire, UK

Well-priced, decent-sized room

Posted Oct 8, 2013
The hotel was certainly not newly-refurbished but the overall standards were satisfactory. Our room was generously sized and included a fridge, microwave and coffee machine, the view over the marina was pleasant if not spectacular and the surroundings were peaceful although local amenities were lacking. Bikes and kayaks were available for free use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Quite and peaceful

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels
I very much enjoyed my stay at Sunrise Resort. It was quite, clean and very restful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Having the bicycles and kayaks to use was a real plus. The local places to eat provided abundant food for the price. I will stay here again anytime I am in Freeport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Donna from Massachusetts

Affordable and quiet, clean though dated...

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel is off the beaten path, but we loved having our privacy and peaceful quiet. If you’re renting a car you can get anywhere on the island in decent time. The rooms are dated but very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms have a fridge, safe and kitchen area, but you have to share the microwave in the pool room. We liked the options of free kayaking and biking, but truth be told the marina wasn’t very pretty to kayak and it was too hot to bike. It was an affordable and relaxing vacation…
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from London

3 nights in Freeport, Grand Bahama on my bicycle!

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Quiet, on the marina, nice pool, reading/tv room...
Cons: Perhaps the option of a basic breakfast or a sandwich bar/ grill, as nearest plaza is 15-20 min walk up the road on Polaris Avenue.
Location: Its ca.10min taxi ride up to Lucaya Market town, a 15min walk to nearest shopping plaza or 30min walk east along the beach (just around the marina).
I cycled off the Bahamas Express, having a rough idea of where the hotel was located. I eventually found it hidden down the lane off Polaris Avenue with a little local help! It was a relaxing stay in a quiet location, on the pretty marina with the occasional yacht coming or going. There was a nice feel about the resort (security present at night also) and the ladies at reception were helpful re. directions and distances. If you want to relax and unwind after a busy day sightseeing, I highly recommend it!