Ratings based on 611 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom central pa

Facility good service needs help

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Facility and location was great beautiful scenery Food was not good struggled to find anything exceptional Drinks were watered down pretty bad Couple of the hotel staff were very helpful but most were not Room services were not very good it would take them forever to clean the rooms due to the fact they didn't have anything to replenish the room with like towels etc they would run to get supplies which means it could take an hour we had two days of missed towels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Regina SK Canada

Nice resort with nice beach

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Second year there! Lots of upgrades since 2014 . Rooms are clean .food was good drinks were plentiful. Feb 2015 was cooler than last year but our stay was good!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary Ab

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Relaxing easygoing. Staff was there for you. Enjoyed the Bahamas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is on a beautiful beach

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Beach, location
Cons: Cleaner rooms
Location: Close to the marketplace and airport.
There are a lot at activities at the hotel and the beach is wonderful. The staff is friendly, the rooms could be cleaner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom richmond, va

much improved over last year

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: great beach, nice staff, lots of fun activities.
Cons: Better food. Upgrade equipment in gym, too much emphasis on free weights. Both exercise bikes were worn out, there are no elliptical machines.
good solid value, we've stayed 3 years running. You can find nicer, newer, or fancier, but you'll pay much more. Food is adequate and plentiful, but not gourmet. The beach is beautiful, the staff is fun, and most of the guests are from countries other than USA. If you want to be sure to get one of the recently renovated rooms, pay the modest upgrade fee for ocean-view rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom long island, ny

Staff vs services

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: On the beach
Cons: Better warming trays in food line the sheets were coarse to the touch. more "downy"d. a bar in the pool would be great
Location: did not take advantage of the local sights, we did take the three hour sightseeing tour freeport would have been interesting if the hotel was closer
We booked a king bed we got 2 doubles. the room felt old we paid for the safe which did not work however, we were refunded when we checked out. food on the buffet was cold to warm. the three restaurants were good to excellent. The majority of the staff were excellent while others you felt you were bothering them. the buffet staff were responsive and quite courteous. we had been to other "inclusives" that were far superior, but the price reflected in that quality. viva was what you paid for. our situation became worse when we were unable to return to ny because of the blizzard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Traverse City, MI

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Jan 26, 2015
We wanted to stay at an all inclusive resort and decided on Viva Fortuna. We read the reviews and went . The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. The entertainment and activities were well organized and fun. The staff did a great job getting people involved. The food was excellent. Normally We travel "off the beaten path" but we now have a 3 year old. Everything was child friendly and she had a blast. Hotel security was excellent all over the resort. We plan to return next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, FL

Nice hotel, beautiful beach, and very poor food

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Having travelled to Freeport a few times in the past and even bringing friends with me, this was my first time at the Fortuna Beach resort. I was very excited to stay at this all-inclusive property but quite disappointed with the quality of the food. There are much better options offsite and I wish that the resort offered the option not dine onsite. While the room, hotel staff and property were nice, the food needs much improvement. For breakfast I opted for the omelet station since you can't mess that up too bad. The food is obviously buffet style in the main dining area and the food was cold, not well seasoned at all, and the grits for breakfast were quite greasy (not buttery). I can't imagine that the chef's are Bahamian. Dinner food was not well seasoned either. This is not well representative of the Bahamas which serves very good food with a nice flavor. I would recommend the resort but would suggest that you venture offsite for local Bahamian food for a true dining experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So-So!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: people
Cons: FOOD
Location: nothing to report!
Location good; staff helpful and friendly; room clean with a good view; activities limited; food service palatable -somewhat better than an army chow line but not even as good as the college food service where I work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

A great place to relax

Posted Jan 9, 2015
If you are looking for a wide, long beach, to exercise, to go for walks without seeing many people or people at all, this is your place. Yes, the water is little chilli as it was December, and there are some waves but is it clean and manageable to swim in it. Great white sand, plenty of nice benches and shade. Bring your snorkeling gear! The staff is very helpful, friendly and sensitive to your needs. They provide enough security so you can enjoy your long walk in the most beautiful moonlight. The food is not super fancy but there is always fish, meat, pasta, lots of salads, fruits and vegetables. Great coffee in the morning. Fresh pizza at the bar by the beach every night until 2 am. Evrything is close to the beach if you have small children. The kayaking is fun and included so is the mini catamaran and windsurfing. There are enough days of a great wind to have quite fun. The is a entertainment every night. One for little children with music to dance and later for adults. Some shows are really beautiful and the children would enjoy them as well. There are shops with basic needs. You can relax listening to the music that does not blast your ears. The rooms are clean and have beds with quite comfortable mattresses. Some of the rooms are getting updated as they have issues with the sliding doors and the slow flushing toilets. I am planning on going back for sure!