Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore, maryland

The beach was beautiful

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The beach was beautiful though the huts for shade and beach chairs were busted.
Cons: Everything. The staff acted like they were doing us a big favor doing their jobs.
Location: We didn't leave the property
The staff was very rude. The food was terrible. The hotel was run down. Many things were broken in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: It`s not a high rise environment. Nice little buildings. Super close to the beach. Safe and comfortable. Everywhere easy to walk to.
Cons: Better food variety.
Location: Everything was at the hotel. All day entertainment and plenty of things to do. Miles of empty beaches to walk on too.
All inclusive was really all inclusive. Sailing, snorkeling, Kajaking, Archery, Volleyball, Games at the pool, water aerobics, trapeze jumping, great entertainment at the nightly shows which got everybody involved. We got to know lots of nice people. We went in May. It was not to busy. Very relaxing!!! Staff was super nice!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The room smell bad, had to ask for another room, safe didn't lock tv remote didn't work, flies were all over the food
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great beach but......

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: Better food, seeing managers on duty to support staff. Better room conditions( dresser drawer didn't open) More snorkel equipment.
Location: A few miles away is the straw market. There is a casino at another hotel. There is charter fishing and other types of excurtsions at the straw market.
If you are going for the beach you won't be disappointed. The food was so-so but what we expected. You can not get into your room until 3:00 so wear your bathing suit if you get there early so you can enjoy the pool or beach while you wait. Bring your own snorkle gear because what they offer is minimal at best but the snorkeling is fantastic. Be prepared to wait because while you are there you will be on "island time". Overall we had a good time, but again we had low expectations going in because we read the other reviews.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All you needed

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The staff were great, the food was exactly what we expected, but some of the facilities looked a little old. Although we heard they are shutting down for a little to remodel so future stays should be even better than this trip!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Beach is great

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Beach, food & specialty restaurants.......
Cons: Air conditioning in the buffet dining room or remove the windows to better circulate the air.
Location: The resort is fairly remote so there are not a lot of things to do nearby unless you enjoy snorkling, kayaking, etc.
I read a lot of negative reviews about this hotel before booking but I was pleasantly surprised about the great beach, excellent food and specialty restaurants available. If you are looking for a five star hotel this is not for you.......but the price supports the quality! The best bang for the buck!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Great beach, poor hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
We spent a whole week in thw hotel. The hotel beach is great, plus you have water sports available at no additional charge. The bad thing was the rest... the service was really bad, employees were not well mannered, you asked about something and they would never reply with a good face. The room was regular... the bathroom was a bit dirty, it got all wet everytime we took a shower... we ran out of shampoo, went to the lobby to ask for some and never received anything until the following day. The food was sometimes good, sometimes not so good... the main restaurant was a bit dirty and the smell was weir all the time. The hotel definetly needs some investment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Wyndham Fortuna in Freeport.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Beach was awesome with lots of shade which I definitely require. Food & service was good.
Cons: Update whole hotel. More bartenders need especially in the evenings.
Location: Was happy staying at the beach. Went shopping and casino one afternoon.
The property was nothing that took your breath away. Landscaping was OK. Room was clean but in bad need of updating (old sink & counter with cracked calking & sink). Bed was very uncomfortable...pillows were good. Room was too dark...one small lamp on night stand which you were unable to even read by. Decor was nice; bright bedspreads. Ice bucket provided but no ice machines available except at bars. Food & mixed drinks were good. Lots of activities for everyone all day long. Music which played most all day was too loud & I spoke to the staff poolside about very vulgar lyrics ("F" bomb repetedly in one "song"). Who reviews what's being played. There's kids around!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from drayton valley AB

Not what is advertised

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Under no circumstances should anyone assume they are travelling to a 3.5 star resort when booking this hotel. The room That is advertised is not a standard room and a standard room at this hotel means decrepit, shabby, and in dire need of a reno. The owners of this resort should be ashamed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Good resort for the money

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: We really enjoyed the restaurant on site called Bamboo. The drinks were never short on alcohol, and the food was fair for a buffet.
Cons: There was a drink machine near the bar that was never cleaned! Not enough towels!
Location: Cleveland's bar was just a short walk up the beach, this is a must visit local bar! The food was wonderful!
We read a lot of reviews that went back and forth about this resort. We took our chances and booked a week there. We arrived at the same time as tropical storm Arthur. With this being said the resort was a mess the day after. It took another day before everything was back to normal. Once the storm and the mess it left was clear, the resort was just as pictured. It has a great beach area if your looking for a natural beach. The beach area has lots of trees and man made covered areas. The pool was kept very clean, and the included water sports were great. The staff for the most part were just going through the motions. There was always trouble getting new towels, for the beach/pool, and the room!