Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
We stayed in one of the newly renovated deluxe suites and it was perfect. The room was spotless clean and the black and red theme was awesome. Hidden gem in Fresno for sure!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern california

A good staff but needs updating and paint.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: We liked the staff and the fact we could take our dog.
Cons: This place needs to be painted and some updating
Location: The hotel is a good location lots of places to eat, shopping, and very easy to get to.
My experience was fine, because the staff was accommodating. The rooms had old fixtures that didn't work too well and beds, drapes, and all the stuff was just old and run down. We took our little dog and it worked out well. We would recommend this hotel if a person wasn't too particular. We would stay there again because of our dog and good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Two days, one night of TLC needed.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Everything. Beautiful "glass room", nicely furnished for the free breakfast.
Cons: For our stay, nothing
Fabulous care including of our dog. Beautiful suite and surroundings, garden and pool.. We will recommend highly to everyone. Thank you for a wonderful respite and rest. Price incredibly fair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Jose

San Joacquin Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: n/a
Location: Lots to do on Shaw avenue.
Staff very friendly. Liked the rooms, spacious and the area was quiet even though the hotel was right on Shaw avenue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Out dated

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Have been staying there every few years since the late 80's and everything is the same. Same old picture tube televisions - same old cabinets - refer would not cool very good - paint and plaster work looks like done by amatures.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Maureen from Ventura

Not what I expected

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
They didn't have my Hotels.com reservation and payment when I arrived. The "room" they had available was not cleaned and it was after 3 PM. When I got into my room, it was 88 degrees. The first HBO ad that I moved had 2 silverfish underneath. I called on the air conditioning and they advised to put the fan on with the A/C. When I left an hour later it was 86. Everything is old in the hotel. The bed was decent. The towels were pathetic. It smelled musty. I wore my flip flops in the room including the bathroom. It was 85 at 11 PM and I was able to open my third floor windows. The traffic sounds were preferable to the heat. Outside it was 89. The grounds were beautiful. The staff was polite. They found my reservation and payment the night before I left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night

Posted May 20, 2014
They have large rooms which is nice. The grounds are very artistic it was nicely redone. They need new TVs. But over all was nice for the price and I would stay again
1 out of 5
by matt from portland or

Anywhere else!!!

Posted May 1, 2014
Hotel looks hip and chic from the outside. Grounds are beautiful, lobby is charming. The moment I opened the door to my room I was assaulted by odors that have clearly lingered since circa 1973. Which is apparently the last time the room saw ANY renovations or updates. Gross.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by olofactory assaulted from MN

Don't do it!

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
My mother always said, "if you don't have anything nice..."; the landscaping is lovely. What a dump! The front desk service was rude and less than helpful, blaming the owners for not investing properly in the hotel. The room smelled like someone had died in it. The room key didn't open common areas (pool and workout room). Three of the four pieces of workout equipment didn't work properly. The generous alotment of two threadbare towels barely got me dry. The toilet ran (even after a jiggle). Did I mention the room smelled like someone had died in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com