Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool, UK

Great character in the rooms, shame about the nois

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Quirky decor, friendly helpful staff, great location and the rates for such a central location are fantastic
Cons: The noisy doors, my only real complaint sadly.
Location: Nice and close to the Ostbahnhof station and the East side gallery, plenty of good little places to eat very nearby including the station
A very pleasant stay in this easy to find hotel (within 5 minutes walk from the Ostbahnhof station). The staff were friendly, spoke excellent English to make up for my terrible German, and helpful. There is Wi-fi in reception that may reach higher up but I found it unusable anywhere other than the little waiting room at the entrance, not a major issue for me but worth noting. As others have mention there isn't a lift so you will get a bit of a workout if like me you pack too much! The rooms are great looking in the DDR style and the bed was comfortable enough. One thing I would suggest you be aware of when booking, I chose a single room with private bathroom, the bathroom is not an en suite so any late night loo trips will be a bit more complicated than planned. One minor gripe would be noise, obviously the walls are thin and you cant sort that but my main issue was the doors. The doors are thin and hollow so any trips to the loo, locking and unlocking doors, becomes a noisy rig-moral, this is something I think could be easily sorted. Otherwise I think the hotel is very good for the price, great location, and nice and quirky. Just remember ear plugs if the doors haven't been sorted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Quedlinburg

Aufenthalt im "OSTEL" Berlin einmal anderst

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Uns hat die Freundlichkeit und Höflichkeit des Personals am besten gefallen.
Cons: Die Zimmer sind sehr zweckmäßig, schlicht und einfach eingerichtet, wenigstens ein kleiner TV wäre angebracht.
Location: OSTEL liegt in unmittelbarer nähe vom Ostbahnhof.Besucher der O2 World Berlin können hier preiswert aber ohne Komfort übernachten.
Wir, Ü60, hatten Eintrittskarten für eine Abendveranstaltung in der O2-World Berlin geschenkt bekommen, hatten aber absolut keine Lust nach der Veranstaltung, so gegen 23:15 Uhr die Heimreise von 250 Km anzutreten und buchten über Expedia das OSTEL für eine Nacht. Wer keinen Wert auf Komfort legt kann das OSTEL bedenkenlos buchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol, UK

Brilliant decor, perfect location, excellent price

Posted Jan 27, 2015
We are a young couple in our twenties who stayed here January 2015. Came on the strong recommendation from my Dad and brother who stayed here back in 2010 and loved it. Located just across the road from the East train station (Ostbahnhof) the huge sign is clearly visible as you pull into the station. The reception staff are friendly and helpful and tolerated my broken German whilst replying fluently in English. The decor is what makes this place so worth staying at - kitted out with all the classic 70's East German fittings, from the wallpaper to the fully working wireless, it felt like we had actually gone back in time. Look out for the giant framed portrait of Eric Honecker in reception! Later on you'll catch him snogging Brezhnev as you walk along the East side gallery, the standing tribute to the Berlin Wall found less than a five minute walk awayl. If you follow the wall to the end you'll find yourself in Kreuzberg, with the coolest pubs and bars and restaurants you'll find in Berlin. Here the nightlife where it's at, I can't speak for what it's like in the daylight since we were always too hungover to go there in the day. You won't find a better price staying anywhere else in Berlin with such an excellent theme and style and so close to all the amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

warning about late check ins!!

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
was supposed to stay at this hostel two times during my stay in berlin. frist one was ok, but when i came to check in at their 24/7 reception at 04 in the morning noone was there. i stayed till 0530 while calling night shift numerous times and no answer. had to go to my friends room and share bed with them that night... so just keep in mind there is a huge risk of late check ins at this hostel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom JAPAN,TOKYO

良好な立地でリーズナブル

Posted Nov 4, 2014
オストバーンホーフ駅の近くにあり、隣がスーパーNOTTOと、便利な立地です。 コインランドリーはワルシャワストラーゼのECO-EXPRESS(朝10時までは安い)が最寄りと思われます。バス240番か徒歩。 WIFIは部屋では使えず。ロビーでのみ使えます。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

オスタルギー

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: ロケーションとホテル全体の雰囲気
Cons: 部屋でも無料のWi-fiが使えると嬉しい
Location:
東ドイツ時代の懐かしい気配を感じるには良いホテルです。 東駅を淋しい方に降りると目の前に大きな表示があって、すぐに場所も解ります。 何と言ってもインテリアが素敵ですし、TVを設置せずにラジオだけと言うのも好ましい。 シャワー・トイレは共同ですが、毎日掃除が入って清潔に保たれていました。 バスタブもありますし、熱々のお湯は量も沢山出て問題無し。 バスタオルは頼めば替えてくれます。 私が宿泊したのはシングル・共同シャワーの50号室で、 ベッドがある部屋と控えの間のよなちょっと不思議な二間仕様でした。 アパート時代にキッチンとランドリーとして使われていたのかもしれません。 非常にこじんまりした部屋でしたが、何だかホッとする空間でした。 目の前に朝7時から夜10時まで開いているスーパー、 隣には朝9時開店のDIYショップがあるので、急に荷物が増えてしまった時など、 段ボール箱やパッキン用のプチプチなんかが入手できます。 無料のWi-fiがロビー周辺でしか使用できない事が残念。 スタッフもフレンドリーとまではいきませんが、的確に仕事をしてくれます。 現地でアパート住まいしているような感覚になれるので、ネタ的に宿泊するのも楽しいかも。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Sehr zentral, aber sehr hellhörig

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Liegt direkt am Ostbahnhof und hat daher eine sehr gute Anbindung nach Berlin Mitte. So sind alle Sehenswürdigkeiten schnell und einfach zu erreichen.
Cons: Die Zimmer sind sehr hellhörig. Wenn man einen leichten Schlaf hat, bekommt man kaum ein Auge zu.
Für einen Städtetrip ist das Hotel in Ordnung. Die Zimmer und das Bad reichen zum schlafen und duschen aus. Die Anbindung ist wirklich super. Leider ist das Hotel sehr hellhörig, die Türen knallen sehr laut. Wenn man etwas länger schlafen will als andere Hotelgäste, wird mal schon früh durch sie geweckt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Tidskapsel

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
For (n)ostalgikere er dette hotellet et funn. Over alt er det DDR-effekter, og en får et lite inntrykk av hvordan hotellene i denne delen av Berlin kunne være inntil 1989. Men for dem som ikke ser humoren i dette konseptet, vil jeg anbefale å finne et annet og dyrere hotell. Ostel-Hostel ligger bare et steinkast fra Ostbahnhof.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ditafrom London

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean and nice, the shared bathroom was kept clean as well. I got a hairdryer on request and could leave my suitcase in the hotel on the day of leaving and pick it up later. Wifi didn't reach up to my room on the 5th floor, but downstairs there is a sitting place where people connect to the internet. There is no lift. Haven't tried the breakfast as there are many other possibilities around, but you can decide on the day, not upfront.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Manufrom France

Décevant

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
La majorité de l'équipe est très agréable même si les draps non pas été changés pour des raisons inconnues... Ce sont des problèmes venant de la structure de l'hôtel lui-même qui posent problème: insonorisation minable (voisin entendu pousser des cris, on entend les clés entrées dans les portes des voisins même...), l'hôtel est partagé avec des logements de résidents permanents, ce qui n'est pas rassurant puisque n'importe qui peut entrer ou sortir sans que qui que ce soit à l'accueil soit au courant (sans parler de la qualité minable elle aussi des serrures peu rassurantes des portes)... Enfin, toujours pas de wifi en 2014: évidemment puisque certaines chambres sont tellement éloignées de l'accueil... Le design RDA n'est là que pour masquer des défauts de confort essentiels! Ah, j'oubliais: pour des raisons inconnues encore, impossible de payer par carte, ce qui est tout simplement scandaleux: on vous dit avec une certaine gêne qu'il faut aller retirer du cash à la gare se trouvant à proximité!