Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Small room but great hotel. Ibsen was a definite plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Service was exceptional and beds were amazingly comfortable!
Cons: Everything was great.
Location: Walking distance from Hakata station so easy access to transportation. Also easy to access areas such as Gion.
At initial check-in, was informed that the hotel had run out of single king sized bedrooms so was instead upgraded to Club Floor and had 2 doubles pushed together. No complaints from me as the beds were very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Christine from Hawaii

Disappointing for the price

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Cons: Updating the bathrooms or keeping an eye out for mold forming in bathrooms. If each room could control the temperature of their own room.
This hotel has a great location near Hakata Station. The staff was amazing. They were extremely friendly and helpful. Though the staff was excellent, I just can't recommend this hotel due to the accomodations. For the price of the hotel, our room was disappointing. First, our bathroom had a musty smell. I believe it was coming from the mold that was forming at the bathtub edge from all the water that gets trapped between that and the wall. Every time we went into the bathroom we could smell it. The other disappointment was the comfort of the room. We were told that the air-conditioning was a central system, so no matter how low we turned the temperature, it would only go as low as whatever the main control was. Therefore, we were uncomfortable and our room was hot a lot of the time. A staff member did come to open the window for us which did cool the room down but we had to close it when sleeping due to the noise and weather. This was the last hotel we stayed at after our 3 week trip to Japan and it was such a disappointment compared to other places we stayed at during our vacation, especially it being our last stop. However, the Japanese restaurant they have is top notch. Throughly enjoyed our meal there. Staff was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2014 by Stephan, Hotel Management
Dear Christine, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel’s location and the restaurant. At the same time, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay regarding the smell from bathroom. We have checked and deeply cleaned in the bathroom area, and we have addressed this issue with house-keeping staff and management with a review of our cleaning process. Regarding the air-conditioning system, we should offer the electric fan item. Once again, thank you very much for your valuable comments that allows us to become better at delighting our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Fukuoka.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Traveller from Pasadena, CA

Convenient Location

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Excellent location relative to Hakata Station. Room and hotel was good to excellent. Could not control the thermostat. Room too warm. Staff was excellent. Convenient to all transportation modes. Starbucks around the corner, if you need it. Variety of types of eating venues nearby. On the street, train station, below ground level shopping and eating places. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2014 by Stephan, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for taking time to share your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel’s location and the room. At the same time, we apologize for the inconvenience regarding the thermostat. We have addressed your feedback for your next stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Fukuoka.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing at this time
Location: Five minute walk to the station, convenience stores around the corner. Easy to hop on to the bus and travel almost anywhere in the city.
Very close to train station, bus stop and very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely return when visiting Fukuoka. Breakfast buffet very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2014
Dear Traveller, Thank you for your time to review our property and for the kind comments written. It will certainly be share with our team to encourage them keeping doing a great job. Looking forward to welcoming you during your next trip to Fukuoka Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was the most impressive of the various hotels we had stayed at during our ten day vacation. Our room seemed like it was brand new. Our booking with Hotels.com was hassle-free. We would definitely like to stay at this hotel again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by Stephane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice comment and looking forward to welcome you during your next stay in Fukuoka ! Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Chris from Bay Area, California

Nice hotel, but misunderstanding

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
My biggest frustration with Japan is it's seeming lack of consideration for non-smokers. When I made my reservation, I selected a non-smoking room as my preference. To be fair, it was only listed as a "preference", because neither this hotel nor any other offered through hotels.com listed confirmed non-smoking rooms during the nights of my stay. The hotel originally booked me in a single, non-smoking room, which was great! But then they "upgraded" me to a double, smoking room. They considered it an upgrade, but I viewed it as a considerable downgrade. Apparently, they thought the size of my room was more important than the health of my lungs. When I checked in, there were no more single, non-smoking rooms available, and they wanted me to simply endure the double, smoking room. I had to debate with the hotel staff, and when I told them that I won't stay in a smoking room because I will get sick, they finally relented and changed me to a twin, non-smoking room at no additional cost. Kudos for finally accommodating my lungs, but poor marks for thinking that non-smoking preference is not that important. Bottom line: If you're like me and REALLY need a non-smoking room, I recommend calling the hotel to confirm your room selection AND making sure they understand that changing to a smoking room of ANY size is not acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014 by Stephane, Hotel Management
Dear Chris-san, Thank you for your comment and detailed feedback. Please do accept our apologize for the smoking/no smoking preference issue at time of checking. We will review with manager and the team internal process to insure that smoking/non smoking preference remains the priority in term of room assignment in order to guarantee guest request. Once again my apologize for the trouble faced during check in and looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Fukuoka Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Larry from Hawaii

near train station, convenient access everywhere

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Convenient location, good hotel catering to higher class of businessmen than the usual business hotel. As with all japanese hotels, staff were very helpful in everything we requested.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2014 by Stephane, Hotel Management
Dear Larry, Thank you for your kind comment and we hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Fukuoka ! Wishing you a happy festive season with family and friends Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cheong b c from Singapore

Great location

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Easy access to Hakata JR
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Puffin88 from Ontario, Canada

Very close to the airport. Very good beds

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Proximity to airport. Proximity to Hakata Station, restaurants, Canal City. Oustandingly comfortable beds. Very good cable internet connection
Cons: Seating space in the lobby. Bathrooms are small.
Location: Close to airport and Hakata district, including Hakata Station. Canal City + restaurants at walking distance.
That worked for me, because of location, relatively close to the airport. I used it as a step towards the airport, last day of my trip to Japan. The cheap 1000 yens taxi trip to the airport was welcome ( about 11 canadian dollars ). In other cities, or locations in the city, a 1 hour taxi drive to the airport results in much higher cost. Room is clean. The most comfortable bed I experienced in my entire trip: matress and pillows were a dream. Very good internet connection, both WIFI and cable. Minibar, water heater to make tea or coffee. TV, of course. I did not encounter problems with the staff about service, but my needs were very low, this was just my stepping stone to the airport. It is true that the lobby has a shortage of seating. Just a corner or two from Hakata Station. I did not use it, but it is obvious that this is a major comodity to other travellers. Many restaurants close by. I had very good shopping at Canal City Shopping Center, also close by. Bathroom very small. I did not mind, because I was travelling alone and was using this hotel just as a step stone to the airport. However, it would be another story if I was to use that hotel as a base for a stay of many days, to visit Fukuoka and the area. So, bathroom is very small, but all equipement works well. Good toiletteries. I paid 14300 yens in total ( about 160 canadian dollars).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Stephan, Hotel Management
Dear 88puffin, Thank you very much for your kind comment. It always help us improving our guest experience. Thank you for highlighting our very convenient location near main train station, great shopping areas as well as Fukuoka Airport. Glad to hear you enjoyed our internet connection which have been upgraded with free wifi access in all our rooms earlier this year. We look forward to welcoming you for your next trip Fukuoka, and will take this opportunity to introduce you different room categories with wider bathroom With our kind regards
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2014
Dear 88puffin, Thank you very much for your kind comment. It always help us improving our guest experience. Thank you for highlighting our very convenient location near main train station, great shopping areas as well as Fukuoka Airport. Glad to hear you enjoyed our internet connection which have been upgraded with free wifi access in all our rooms earlier this year. We look forward to welcoming you for your next trip Fukuoka, and will take this opportunity to introduce you different room categories with wider bathroom With our kind regards