Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Exeter, ON

Nice hotel close to the city center.

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The included breakfast and pleasant staff.
Cons: The entrance is almost impossible for a senior to easily enter and exit. Too many stairs and uneven height of steps at the front door.
Location: Restaurants, market, St. Knud's church and HC Andersen's birthplace and museum.
The beds are very comfortable. Rooms large with good bathroom facilities although the tub is difficult for someone with mobility issues. Breakfast was a real treat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Andrew

Location, Location, Location

Posted Aug 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is really grand in every way -- except for: lack of air-conditioning (endemic to Denmark, where they seem to ignore global, and Denmark, warming); windows with no screens -- as usual in Europe; managing three sets of stairs, up and down, on the same floor, in a building with an elevator; and an overpriced, noisy and crowded buffet breakfast -- when there are cafes a block away offering better food at half the price. Even so, we could not have done better for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Jul 9, 2012
This stately, old hotel has the most pleasant and helpful staff (front desk, bar, restaurant) I've ever encountered. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the railroad station, and is also near a delightful pedestrian-only area filled with shops, restaurants, outdoor cafes and museums. If you want to experience modern-day Danish culture at its best, this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel with modern conveniences

Posted Jun 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
We only stayed one night at the First Hotel Grand, but the staff was very helpful and the hotel is a beautiful historic hotel with modern conveniences. It is walking distance from the restaurants and shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A couple of blocks from the train station

Posted May 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel staff were wonderful.
3 out of 5
by Pam from United States

First Hotel Grand, Odense

Posted May 24, 2012
Pros: the staff, location, breakfast
Cons: condition and quietness of room
Location: very good- walk to train station and H.C. Andersen Hus
The staff was friendly and helpful, the location was very nice. This hotel is "tired" and in need of an update. The hardwood floors are very noisy and the walls paper thin- we could hear all conversation and TV in the room next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robert from Weedon

Hotel Grand, Odense

Posted Apr 20, 2012
Pros: Staff
Cons: Dead bird still hanging on the netting! after 6 months!!!!
Location: The Grand is located on the fringe of the town centre, which is pedestrianized!
I would consider the Hotel expensive for a normal traveller in comparison to other European countries, but Denmark is expensive! If your company is paying it is more than suitable. Probably the only decent Hotel in Odense and short walk to the town centre! The other Hotels are more suited for one night stays, having worked my way through most of them. I wouldn’t recommend them as more than a place to put your head down! Breakfast is OK at the Grand, if you want to eat healthy every day, but could be improved by offering omelettes or something cooked! Dinners are cooked well, but you can get just as good quality in the town, probably slightly cheaper. If you like a good steak, go to Frank A, just round the corner!! Staff are very friendly, and the bar man, Peter, is exceptional as a host. Introducing you to other people at the bar and mixing cocktails!! Over the past 9 months I have stayed here 32 nights, so it must be good:-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

Good breakfast

Posted Apr 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very good breakfast. Waited 15 minutters to check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, MN

Top notch hotel; best in Odense; great service

Posted Jan 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is what a European hotel should be. Great service everywhere. The staff is empowered and motivated. It is an old elegant place that has been respectfully modernized. Restaurant was terrrific, too. A solid restaurant in its own right not just a hotel place to eat. Great breakfast. Good parking arrangements close by. Strong thumbs up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2012 on Hotels.com