Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakeland, Fl.

Cheap is not always a good deal

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Location is great!
Cons: Try to use a cleaner that doesn't have such a strong overwhelming odor.
Location: The location was close to many quality restaurants. It was also within four miles to downtown Gainsvilles. Convenient to I75.
Described as suites, our stay consisted of a typical hotel room. The suite description is warranted by having a small refrigerator and a microwave. The room had a strong smell of cleaner. The glass of the windows were covered with dirty hand prints from a toddler standing on top of the room's air conditioning unit, actually inhibiting the outside view. Gave the impression that the rest of the room was equally dirty. Could have been? Initially, there was hair in the toilet, giving the impression that it hadn't been cleaned. The mirrored doors on the closet would not slide without literally falling off. I removed them both and then reinstalled them. They would open and close no more than two times before sliding out of their tracks. Total pain to get to your hung up clothes. Also, the carts for taking your belongings from your car to your room were also filthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Very nice hotel in Gainesville

Posted Jul 24, 2014
The property is near 1-75. I normally stay at the Hampton Inn across the street. The two room suites at the Country Inn appealed to me since I was coming up to take my mother to Shands. The room was clean, and the linens fresh and clean too. The breakfast was really good. The only reason for not giving an excellent review was due to the attitude of one of the employees. I received a call the morning I was supposed to drive up. I was asked if I would give up the suite I had reserved for a King bed suite instead because the person who had been in the room needed to stay another night. I said no because I did not want to sleep on a sofa bed. The employee who called me took a snippy tone when I declined to give up my reserved room. I thought this was not a person who understood the concept of customer service. Maybe some further training is in order.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just passing through

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Good place to stay. There is gas station almost joining the hotel which was a great convience to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville

Our Experience

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The service was wonderful! You have a beautiful Hotel and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Our only complaint would be the breakfast. We are late risers and ending breakfast at 9:30 seemed a little early. Other than that everything was above and beyond our expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Anisha Patel, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the hours of operation of our Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. As per the weekends we do keep it until 10:30, we hope we have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
2 out of 5
by maria from the keys

Not a good hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Under the sofa was towels from past guess .. So cleanness was a priotry ...TV too small in bedroom for two beds to watch. .. Shower curtain not quite spotless .. Eggs for breakfast horrible .. Danish they cut in halfs .. Cheap and stale ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Anisha Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. This is not a typical review we receive from our guests, in addition we are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. I apologize again that your stay did not meet your expectations. We hope we have the opportunity to correct this in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola FL

Convenient close to the hospital

Posted Jun 12, 2014
We stay at this hotel from time to time when we need to visit Shands hospital. Very comfortable, friendly and the breakfast is a plus
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Anisha Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. Glad to hear that it is comfortable and friendly, here at our property, we look forward to your future stays!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Business trip

Posted May 24, 2014
Room was cleaned and bed was soft and inviting to fall to sleep. Overall the stay there was good and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014 by Anisha Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the room and beds. We look forward to your next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrice from Venice, CA

Great Location, Friendly Staff

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Great location. Able to walk to shopping centers and numerous restaurants. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was great.
Cons: Housekeeping should clean the rooms promptly in the morning when the Do Not Disturb sign has been removed.
Location: The location is great - walking distance to Target, Walmart, other stores and many restaurants. Easy on/off the freeway.
All aspects of the hotel were great except for a couple of things...I was gone from my room from 9:30am to 12:30pm and would have thought that housekeeping would have had my room cleaned by the time I returned, but the room was still unmade, and there was no housekeeping cart to be seen. Another day, I returned at 3pm to find my room unmade, wanted to stay in my room for a few hours, so told housekeeping I didn't need service that day. Secondly, I noticed several mornings what looked to be housekeeping staff parked in the lot directly in front of the hotel. I would think that they would be instructed to park in the spaces furthest away from the entrance, and leave the prime spots for guests. Other than those two things, I enjoyed by stay greatly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2014 by Anisha Patel, Hotel Management
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. We are currently under some renovations, therefore it has been hectic on days that we are fully occupied, we apologize for the delay in getting you room serviced. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We are investigating the parking as well and will ensure that our guests come first. We hope we have the chance to exceed your expectations in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by erroll from langhorne pa.

our stay at country inn & suites

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: the room was a good size,did not feel cramped. bed was comfortable
Cons: coffee
Location: near shopping centers, plenty of places to eat within walking distance. nice brewpub closeby
nice clean hotel and friendly staff and the hot breakfast was good. would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2014 by Anisha Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are glad to see the breakfast was enjoyable as well as the staff. We look forward to your next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2014
Quiet and relaxing hotel. I will definitely stay here again. Someone told me this hotel is owned by Hilton which explains why it is so outstanding. If you are looking for comfort and cleanliness, this is the place to stay in Gainesville.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2014 by Anisha Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We appreciate that you hold us in such high standards as we are not a Hilton property, but a Carlson property. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the quiet and comfort of this Country Inn. We look forward to your next stay.