Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Saint Lucie, Florida

Gainesville HGI, you get what you pay for.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: HGI's all have nice lobbies, communal areas, food areas, etc. The rooms (and bathrooms) all seem to fit the "clean and neat" formula.
Cons: The lobby entrance was on the back side, away from the road. There really should have been more signs to show you where to go to check in.
Location: There was a lot of construction closing area roads, but there are plenty of restaurants to eat at.
Only a 1 night stay, King room, included couch and desk, reasonable sized flat screen TV, spacious, good smell, clean as a whistle, bathroom spotless. All the amenities I needed (microwave, fridge, coffee maker). Restaurant in lobby, $10 all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet with omelet order, all drinks INCLUDED. Normally that's where they stick you. The food was easily worth twice that much. I don't think I have ever come across a nicer front desk girl. The rest of the staff seemed pleasant, also. They let me have a 1PM late checkout. I was thoroughly pleased with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indian Rocks Beach, Florida

Hotel close to UF campus

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Very convenient, clean and friendly staff.
Location: Close to stores, food and UF campus.
My daughter was doing her preview at UF campus. Hotel was very close and convenient to campus. Clean, large room with very friendly staff. Plan on staying here again when visiting UF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Very friendly at check in also the rooms were very clean excellent breakfast overall great time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Ally, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing us on Expedia. We are very excited about the 5 star rating received due to the WARM welcome, clean accommodations and satisfying breakfast! We love to impress and happy our team delivered nothing but excellence during your stay. Always know you can count on us to ensure your satisfaction. Again, thank you for your rating and we hope see you soon! In the Spirit of Hospitality, Allison Martin Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Very nice stay....

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The value for the overall stay.
Cons: The entry door between the very first sliding door and the lobby emits a very strange bad smell. Not sure what that is but it caught us off guard.
Location: Easy access to I-75, food and shopping.
Stayed 2 nights to attend the UF Preview for my college junior who is transferring in the fall. Picked the Hilton Garden Inn because the Hilton was pricier. Having stayed at the full-service Hilton and the HGI, I can say that the HGI was most enjoyable. The vibe is hipper and the hotel is newer. We liked the hotel, the staff and the welcome cookies. We will stay there again when we need to visit our daughter at UF. Would love for breakfast to be included but for $9.95 it really is not a bad deal. We passed on it but will give it a try next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Ally M, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your satisfying experience with the Expedia community. Glad that our central location provided easy access for your visit to the university. We really appreciate you recommending us over the full service property and are very happy knowing we exceeded your expectations with our hip accommodations, at the right price! We look forward to seeing you again soon and please always know you can count on us if you should need assistance. In the Spirit of Hospitality, Allison Martin Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

als Zwischenübernachtung sehr gut

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Für eine Zwischenübernachtung auf dem Weg in den Süden sehr gut.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Allison, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Hotels.com. We are so glad you’re one night stop over was a pleasant and enjoyable experience. If you ever find yourself in Gainesville we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Again thank you for your 5 star rating and we look forward seeing you again soon. In the spirit of Hospitality, Allison Martin Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A clean place to stay, but overpriced

Posted Apr 12, 2015
This place was clean and fairly nice despite the chaotic construction going on outside. there were no extra pillows or blankets in our room. When we got to our room around 10pm we were exhausted and immediately got in our pajamas to find that there was no minibar or vending machine on our floor. Reception said they didnt do room service after certain time. We ended up drinking ice. These are peanut problems, I know, but for 170 bucks a night you'd think they could bring up a bottle of water when you ask.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Allison.Martin2@hilton.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for take a moment to share your recent experience with the Expedia community. We appreciate your compliments regarding the cleanliness of the property, even with the city construction surrounding our area. We are terrible sorry for the inconvenience of not offering vending machines on the floors themselves, as we offer a 24 hour pantry instead but I cannot apologize enough for the lack of service that followed. Know I will be sharing your valuable feedback our Guest Services team in order to grow and avoid something like this from happening to our future guests. I do hope that your overall experience does not hinder you from selecting our hotel in the future. Thank you again got your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Allison Martin Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A few days away

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
All was very well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Allison, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to rate your recent experience at our hotel. We are so delighted that your overall experience earned a "5 star" rating as our main goal is guest satisfaction. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back and again thanks for the high ratings. In the Spirit of Hospitality, Allison Martin Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by wade from Atlanta

Business

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Good place to stay while on business, close to many restaurants, a traget, and publix. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Allison, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent experience at our hotel. We are so glad that our accommodations provided a central location with easy access to your shops, and a variety of restaurants. More importantly we are happy that the overall comfort and cleanliness met your expectations. We appreciate your praise regarding our friendly staff and I will be sure to share your positive feedback. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the Spirit of Hospitality, Allison Martin Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joy from Naples, Florida

In Gainesville with teenage grandchildren:

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
We had a hard time finding the hotel due to extensive road repair... the road didn't exist. We finally went all the way around and were finally able to enter through another hotel's parking lot. There were tiny signs we discovered later in the bushes! The hotel itself looked new even though it's 8 years old and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Great room at a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Allison, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Hotels.com, we apologize up front for the city construction you dealt with before arriving and so happy that you did not give up on us and arrived safely! Unfortunately, we were notified on such short notice we had the smaller signs made but am now glad to report that construction has also provided us with much larger signs to guide our guests to the hotel. We are ecstatic that accommodations and service provided was top notch with a reasonable price! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and really appreciate the “5” star rating even with challenge prior to your arrival. In the Spirit of Hospitality, Allison Martin Assistant General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Allison, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Hotels.com, we apologize up front for the city construction you dealt with before arriving and so happy that you did not give up on us and arrived safely! Unfortunately, we were notified on such short notice we had the smaller signs made but am now glad to report that construction has also provided us with much larger signs to guide our guests to the hotel. We are ecstatic that accommodations and service provided was top notch with a reasonable price! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and really appreciate the “5” star rating even with challenge prior to arriving. In the Spirit of Hospitality, Allison Martin Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tiffany

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Allison, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to rate our hotel with Expedia. We are so pleased that your experience was worthy of a 5 star rating. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back the next time you are in town. In the Spirit of Hospitality, Allison Martin Assistant General Manager