Ratings based on 1,349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Alabama

Good stopping point

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Not sure as we stayed and ate on property
We were going to Ft. Lauderdale, Fl and this was a good stopping point
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rita from The Villages, FL

Beautiful setting, comfortable layout, needs updat

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathrooms
Location: We're only there for a hospital visit
We stay at Paramount whenever my husband has a procedure at Shands. We love sitting on the deck overlooking the water. Only complaint is that the bathrooms need updating.
3 out of 5
by Vanessa from SC

Nice, Older Hotel that was very convenient.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Customer service, lighting.
Location: Location is Highway 441 (in Gainesville aka 13th Street). It is near Paines Prairie and Shands Hospital. Several restaurants nearby.
The hotel itself was fine, its an older hotel so it's dark, but the rooms were nice and a nice size. My complaints are with the staff, they were uncooperative from check-in to check-out. I'm big on customer service, so I don't care how nice a facility is if the employees are nasty and are not customer focused, I will not spend my money there! Personally, I will not stay here again and I will not recommend anyone to stay here. There are many other nice hotels in Gainesville, FL. If you don't care about Customer Service and just a want a clean place to stay, I guess this is ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last Stay here

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The rate and nothing else
Cons: Everything
Location: It's a college town. Plenty of places to eat, plenty of bars and campus activities like sporting events.
This was once a decent hotel to stay at but not anymore. Place is beginning to look trashy. Hotel guests have little regard for other patrons as they were speaking loudly in hallways at all hours of the night. Finally, AC unit made a horrible noise all night and staff could not move me to another room. I could not sleep all night and I was tired/worthless the next day. The staff's response was to give me a measly 15% off of my bill. I should have been comped for the night !!! No worries, I will find myself elsewhere next time I come to Gainesville.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't recommend.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Didn't check in until 1am. Toilet would not flush. Room smelled like old, stale smoke.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura

OK if your not spending much time in room.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Clean room. Older hotel. Uncomfortable beds & pillows (luckily we brought our own pillows). No fridge or microwave. *In room safe was a perk* Not bad if your not planning to stay in room all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raja from Tallahassee FL

Inexpensive hotel, great for short term stays

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: It is relatively inexpensive, close to the activity I attended, quiet, and clean. It wasn't a "resort" hotel, but a practical place to stay overnight
Cons: Why don't hotels put more comfortable chairs in their rooms? I think I'll take my Lazy Boy next time.
Location: The hotel is on the "wrong" side of town. The route from the university passes through a run-down section of town. The hotel itself is outstanding.
I went to Gainesville -- as I have several times in the past -- to attend a Sunday afternoon event in the city. Staying at the Paramount is preferable to trying to drive back to Tallahassee. It is convenient, quiet, and quite comfortable, without being "luxurious" -- just what I need. I think it is a great bargain for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

courtesy

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: the cleanliness of hotel. the warmth of staff
Cons: snacks and drinks in refrigerator.
I enjoyed to easy of transport to and from the hotel, the courtesy offered. Also the friendliness of staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good

Posted Mar 6, 2014
good experience would stay again if in area until next year don't waste my time writing reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near hospital in Gainsville Florida

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: Quietness
Cons: Building was like a college dormitory not a nice hotel. It reminded me of the junior enlisted housing in the Navy or Army not a hotel.
Location: Go to the hospitals for care or the college for events.
Bed was clean and shower had more then enough water pressure and plenty of hot water. This hotel had very strong secure metal doors and a safe in the room. It had a sliding glass door out to a small patio with no view and it was not very secure. The hotel was plane. You would have thought it was a 5 or six star by the prize without the discount. I would recommend it as a no frills clean place to stay but not at regular price of over 120 dollars. More like what you would expect from a motel 6 or maybe a super 8.