Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Charming but different than we expected

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The staff and the beautiful grounds.
Cons: Plumbing fixtures in the bathroom.
Location: Sweetwater Branch Inn is in a very convenient location. Most of the downtown area is within walking distance. The UF campus is just a short drive.
Since we've loved the elegant comfort and brisk breakfast conversation at other B&Bs we've stayed in, we were enthusiastic to stay at Sweetwater Branch Inn during our trip to Gainesville, FL. This is a much larger establishment than most others we'd experienced. The buildings and grounds are beautiful. And breakfast is amazing. But we were a little disappointed in our room, a very small space on the first floor. It was so small, we constantly bumped into each other. The bathroom plumbing needs a little updating and repair. And, because our room was right next to the kitchen, we were awoken too early each morning by the clinking and banging sounds of pots and pans, dishes and silverware. Unlike many other B&Bs, guests at the Sweetwater do not have breakfast together. Instead, they have a window of a couple of hours and can select from many options set out in the kitchen, then sit and eat at one of several small tables on the enclosed front porch. We missed the opportunity to meet guests from other places and share tips about what to do and see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place and very nice staff.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Nice location, nice grounds and nice rooms.
We got there late and had to call the number to get in. I had written the code down wrong for the door. In spite of a 1AM call, the staff answered and got us in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Bed & Breakfast

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Quiet
The innkeeper was very pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the beautiful Piccadilly Room. The breakfast was very good and the options of seating made for an enjoyable morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Convenient to downtown

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: A group of old homes converted to a B&B, I grew up in a house like this.
Cons: A good dose of TLC, especially the grounds and exterior. Having breakfast on the glassed in front porch was nice but the windows and sill were dirty.
Location: Close to downtown, it is a college town. Saw plenty of homeless walking back at night and took comfort in my CCW.
We stayed in the Luisa room, I must have failed to realize this room has a detached bathroom across the hall. It is still private since only you get the key but it is very inconvenient. Since the house is old, a very nice old but floors creak, doors creak and it is tough to make a bathroom trip quietly. It must also be annoying to the guests in the only other room on the third floor. Breakfast is provided, it is a decent spread but the first morning we arrive for breakfast 30 minutes before it ended and there wasn't much left and they had no intention of making any more food. The B&B is geared towards events like weddings if that matters. The buildings and grounds are clean but in need of some TLC, the interior of our house was well maintained. They provide bottled water and a common use microwave and refrigerator which was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful B&B

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Beautiful, comfortable, delicious breakfast, friendly staff -- convenient to town. We'll stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
toilet over flow, but was quickly accommodated. the cottages and rooms were nice. I never saw the other occupants but that was ok. loved the grounds they were beautiful. plenty of parking. breakfast was nice to have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Edward from Chicago

Great place in Gainesville

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
The Sweetwater Branch Inn is charming and beautiful. The Victorian decor is over the top in a good way. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The inn is walking distance from downtown restaurants and a very pretty park. My single complaint is that the bathroom of my room was in need of some basic repairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by D K from Orlando

Mom/Daughter weekend

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels
It was thoroughly enjoyable to wake up and have breakfast with new friends. I was there for my daughter's Mom's Sorority weekend and found the inn to be clean, bright and cheery. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. I look forward to staying there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Miguel from So. Fla.

More that I was hoping for...

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels
I chose this hotel mainly because it was across the place I had my meeting at. I was so much pleased about the place and the service that I almost felt it was a waste for me to be there just by myself. Excellent place, perfect location (short distance from restaurants and bars, but just far enough to have a quiet night rest) superb service. Needless to say next business travel to Gainesville I'll make sure to bring my wife along. Sweetwater Branch Inn will be the perfect backdrop to transform it into a romantic getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2014
This is a beautiful location with well appointed rooms in lovely older houses. I will return.