Ratings based on 1,180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sarasota, FL

What a deal!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Better directions in the parking lot. The reception area is hard to find. This could have been my problem, as I was tired.
I stayed at The Lodge serendipitously on a trip from Nashville to my home in Sarasota. I was attracted by the proximity to I-75, the great reviews, and the Expedia price. I was not prepared for the WOW! I experienced. Once I found the front door (the only negative - poor marking), the rest was unreal. The room was spacious and gracious, the common area was warm and inviting, and the cocktail hour and breakfast were wonderful. The staff was helpful and courteous, and I felt like a welcomed guest. What more can someone ask for?
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Kate for taking time to complete this review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. We strive to offer the best guest experience from the lobby to the room. Sorry to hear you had trouble with direction to the Front Desk and the bar but glad you were able to find them. Thank you again for the great review and also staying with us here at The Lodge. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Bch., FL

Love the big fireplace !

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The large fireplace that gives that "lodge" effect
Cons: parking
Location: convenient to restaurants; close to U. of Fl.
Friendly employees, convenient location, beautiful lobby and great room setting, well organized breakfast set-up
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thanks Peggy for taking time to complete this review. We here at The Lodge are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive for hospitality at its best with a touch of rustic charm. As an independent hotel are able to offer great deals and a jaw dropping appeal. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

Great location for uf

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Always smiling helpful staff. Love it fireplace in lobby makes u feel at home all warm and cozy
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you to another Gator Mom. We value all of our Florida Gator parents. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to offer hospitality at its best with a touch of rustic charm. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

There Needs to Be Improvements to The Lodge

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Location: Great in terms of being convenient for shopping.
Most hotels now have micro refrigerators and microwaves; The Lodge had neither. I have medication that I take daily that needs to be refrigerated, so I was forced to use a cooler and collect ice on a daily basis to keep the medication cool. The breakfast was fair, there was sausage every other day, not every day. Most travelers appreciate the presence of some REAL meat protein on the breakfast each day, not some substitute (which was sausage gravy in this circumstance, this is an insult to the traveling and lodging public).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Delorias for your comments. I do hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have fridges and microwaves in our Executive King rooms and rent-able for all other room types. We are working on getting them in all the rooms. I will also make sure to mention your comments to the Food Service Manager about the breakfast. I hope you will come and stay with us again on your trips to and through central Florida. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Easy access from interstate, nice lounge facilities, good staff.
Easy check-in and out. Clean hotel, great staff and easy access to interstate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Jay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our cleanliness, hospitality and location are the key to our success. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Erickfrom Miami

Visit to son at UF

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very pleased with the room. Bed was super comfortable. The appearance of hotel needs some work, halls do not look clean, carpet is outdated, bar and breakfast area are outdated and do not look too clean. Also the gym has old equipment, doors and entrance do not clean. We know the theme is a "lodge" and it is supposed have an appearance of a cabin like place, however I am referring about keeping the place clean with attention to detail. Common areas do not look as clean. This has been our 3rd stay at the Lodge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Erick for taking time to completing this review. I am very happy that you were able to enjoy the pillow top mattresses we have in all rooms here at The Lodge. I will defiantly get with the housekeeping about the cleanliness of the halls and general areas. We are due for a renovation soon. Where we can truly replace and revamp The Lodge especially the common areas. I hope you enjoyed you stay overall while you were here. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 3 star rating. Thank you also for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by NDSfrom Gainesville Florida

Future Gator!!

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was my first time in the area , I'm looking for a good place to stay again I think it will be there if my son decide to go play basketball for the Florida Gators. the bath room should have been touch up a little more .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. I am happy to hear you son maybe playing ball for the University of Florida. I do hope we can be your hotel of choice while coming to Gainesville for any reason. I will make sure to talk to our maintenance staff about revamping and touch up the bathrooms. I do hope to see you again soon on the travels to and through Gainesville. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sherriefrom Miami

Central location

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very comfortable in the room. The lobby was very inviting especially with Happy Hour when the hotel provided free drinks and fresh popcorn. The only complaint was that the air conditioner is a wall unit which is noisy and does not make the room as cold as we would have liked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Sherrie for staying with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. I am excited to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Gainesville. I am sorry to hear about the AC I hope you let the front desk know so we could address the issue to make sure for future stays it wont be a problem. I do hope the remainder was pleasant. We hope to see you and your family again soon. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Desorganized breakfast

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Beds
Cons: Breakfast a
we waited about 30 minutes after 3:00 to check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. I do want to apologize about the wait at check in. That is not our standard for us here at The Lodge where we strive for hospitality at its best. I will make sure to look into why it took so long at check in. I do hope you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager