Ratings based on 1,350 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, excellent staff, terrible bed pillows

Posted May 20, 2015
Cons: Provide normal sized bed pillows, not "designer" pillows.
I spent three nights at The Lodge starting May 15, 2015. I found that the hotel staff was very efficient, courteous and helpful. This is an older hotel, but seems to be well maintained and my room was clean and well-appointed with two exceptions, one major and one minor. The minor problem was that no receptacle conveniently placed to charge my cell phone. The major problem was that my bed was equipped with pillows that were approximately 18 inches square. I found I could not sleep on such tiny pillows. I asked housekeeping on the first morning if they had any "normal" sized pillows and was told that they do not. I don't understand how anyone sleeps comfortably on such small pillows. It is for this reason that I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by Ashley Green Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay here at The Lodge at Gainesville. Where we strive to offer the best in hospitality with clean and comfortable rooms. The pillows are tucked in for a prettier appearance, but can be untucked to flatten and make larger/ longer for comfort. I do apologize that the Front Desk did not mention that when you called for larger pillows. I hope that does not hinder you from staying with us again. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Venice, CA

My Sixth Stay

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Location, loction, location.
Cons: Some front desk personnel could use more training.
Location: Short drive to UF. Can walk to shopping, many restaurants and movie theaters.
There must be something about this hotel that keeps bringing me back when I'm in Gainesville - location and comfort. Best location within walking distance of shopping center with stores, lots of restaurants and movie theaters. One day housekeeping did not get popcorn off the carpet from the night before, and did not put in the spare roll of toilet paper one morning, but otherwise, the room was clean. Most of the staff is friendly with a few exceptions. Upon checkout the desk clerk took my keys and asked "Yes, Ma'am is there anything else?" Didn't ask how my stay was; didn't ask for repeat business She needs more training. Housekeepers were friendly as were staff in bar/breakfast area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2015 by Ashley Green, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. We strive to offer the best in hospitality with clean and comfortable rooms. I will make sure to address the minor issues that you had with front desk and housekeeping. Thank you again for staying with us and your continual business. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south florida

repeat traveler

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: n/a
Location: if your kids attend UF its very centrally located off archer....miles from the university
I have been coming to this hotel for a total of 8 years while both my kids attended UF and I always had total comfort. they have great breakfast for on the go weekend. I got food poisioning from a local restaurant this last visit. It was a nigthtmare. My husband had to get duplicated bedding and towels and they were very helpful and understanding. They offered to allow us to check out an hour later which I really appreciated. It's very hard to get this kind of service. I want anyone traveling to Gainesville to feel confident booking this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by Ashley Green, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great 5 star review. I am happy to hear that you are a repeat guest at The Lodge at Gainesville. Sorry to hear about the local restaurants food poisoning. I am glad that you are ok and that the hotel was able to offer great service in the time of need. Thank you for your continual business with The Lodge at Gainesville. Where southern hospitality meets rustic charm. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
The hotel is located at a convenient place, but it seems it's washed up. The shower head and toilet were broken, thought were fixed by staff quickly once I notified them.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. I hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. There are things that can go unseen like the issues you had with the room. I am glad we were able to address those issues quickly during your stay. I hope you come back to see us again. Thanks for choosing The Lodge at Gainesville. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom fort myers

Convenient to Shands, UF , I-75

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Older property in need of updating. air conditioner was so loud we could not sleep. But the manager did offer a discount next time we stay there. Ok for one night but would not stay longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Helen for taking time to complete this review. I do apologize about the issues with the AC being noisy. We did have that addressed as soon as you told us about the issue. There are issues that can go unseen. We appreciate all feed back whether positive or negative. So we can offer the best service possible. There is a renovation coming soon. I do hope that you will come back to see us again soon. So we can show you what a true Lodge experience should be like. Thanks again for staying with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Room, bathroom were dingy

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The exterior. The hotel staff was very nice, close to U of Florida
Cons: room sinks, faucets and shower heads need to be replaced. They need in room safes put in.
Location: We were there to visit U of Florida, but my daughter has decided to go to U of South Florida Go Bulls!!!
Rust on shower head in bathroom so I didn't use it since i was only there for 1 night, The hotel looked very nice from outside(right off I-75t but could only be described as having a dingy appearance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. I will make sure to look into the issues that you had with your stay with us. We value all guest feed back, so we can ensure every guest has a great experience here at The Lodge at Gainesville. I hope that you were able to enjoy our great amenities such as the complimentary cocktails and deluxe breakfast. Thanks again for staying with us. I hope that you will come give us another try in the future. We would love to show you what a true Lodge experience should be like. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Well worn hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Nothing really, looked kind of worn and outdated. We usually don't eat the free breakfast bc we like to take our son out so I cannot comment on that.
Cons: Decor, elevator situation, more soap in room
Location: Is right off of Archer and close to 75
Hotel had nice, large, cozy looking lounge but the cushions on all the seats were so worn and thin it didn't look as inviting upon second glance. The bathroom in the room only had one soap...minor detail but need at least two-one for shower and one by sink to wash hands. Coffee maker was located in bathroom....bathroom was already a bit small and it's not really appealing to have a coffee maker in the bathroom...why not on the desk in the room? There wasn't a fan for the bathroom either. Hotel also only has one small, slow elevator...we were on third floor and found this to be inconvenient. Was a little pricier than other hotels we have stayed at in Gainesville...I was expecting more than I got. It wasn't a horrible experience but I have paid less and gotten more at other hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2015 by Ashley G FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. We value all guest feed back. I do apologize about the housekeeping issues with only one soap. We normally have at least 2 soaps ( one for shower (gel) / one for hands near the sink). We also have 2 elevators for convenient guest use. I hope you were able to enjoy the other parts your stay with us like the complimentary cocktails and deluxe breakfast. I do hope you will come to stay with us again soon to give us another try. Thanks again for staying at The Lodge at Gainesville. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to 75

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Ambience of gathering space
Cons: Update Color are dreay.
Location: Good location Near major highway.
Helpful at the desk. Directions to places were graciously given.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 3 star review. The Lodge at Gainesville strives to offer the best in hospitality with a touch of rustic charm. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Good location

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Spacious room. Had a king and sofa. Comfortable room & bed. Hotel was completely booked when there, so staff had a hard time keeping up with food at "happy hour" and breakfast. We got sausage, but everything else was empty - ate that, then eggs came out, etc. There were lots of kids - I think some sort of basketball or soccer tournament nearby - also some sort of sorority weekend. Still nice place to stay; could use a little refreshing (lobby looks a little worn).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We did have a very busy weekend with sports teams during your stay. I will get with our Food and Beverage Manager to address the breakfast issues. I hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Mountain Lodge Feel - Lovely Hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: My room was very comfortable. There's little noise and great extras like a friendly free happy hour and a delicious complimentary breakfast.
Cons: My family and I did not like feeling pressured to order alcohol at happy hour. I hope that changes quickly, as many people don't drink.
Location: This is a great location, an easy drive from UF, the Hands on Children's Museum and lots of shopping and great places to eat.
This is a great hotel. I have already told my company and we are going to try to partner with them in the future. I was so happy to find this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2015 by Ashley Green Front Office Managre, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to partner up with other companies. Reach out to our Sales Department for more information. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager