Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stopping in Gainseville

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to interstate, perfect for our travel to SW Florida from the Chicago area.
Enjoyed The Lodge. Friendly staff and a very comfortable room. We were treated like regulars though it was our first time there. The atmosphere was more like a northern Michigan lodge rather than a Florida hotel. Very nice happy hour and great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable

Posted Jul 20, 2015
nice breakfast and happy hour. clean room, good location for UF activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. The Lodge at Gainesville has a lot to offer our valued guests from the complimentary cocktails, clean and comfortable rooms with the best in hospitality. I hope to see you again soon on your travels to the Gainesville area. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Miami

Convenient hotel for UF preview

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: We like how clean it was and how homey it felt.
Cons: The coffee was not that great.
Location: Lots of restaurants close by and just a few miles from UF.
The breakfast was nice before rushing out to the UF preview. We will be back in August.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to Gainesville for UF preview. I hope you were able to take part in our great amenities from the complimentary cocktails and deluxe breakfast. Thanks again for staying with us at The Lodge at Gainesville where southern hospitality meets rustic charm. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything is close by!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
The hotel is nice although not fancy. The best part is that it is close to eating and shopping... Walking distance!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. The Lodge at Gainesville has a lot to offer our valued guests from location to amenities with clean and comfortable rooms. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waycross, GA

Posted Jul 11, 2015
The Lodge was conveniently located near the interstate and had plenty of places to eat nearby. It was clean, the hotel staff was very polite, and the breakfast was fresh.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Brian. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. Our location and price can not be beat for all we have to offer. I hope that you will come to see us again soon on your travels to the Gainesville area.Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Clean, but don't plan on breakfast.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
We stayed for one night with our four year old. The room was older, but very clean. Breakfast was not great unless you're good with waffles. The eggs were terrible. Would stay again, but not partake in breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Ashley G FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. We strive to offer the best in southern hospitality with clean and comfortable rooms. I will make sure to address the breakfast issues with our Food and Beverage Manager. Thank you again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa ,Fl

Ok

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Hotel needs to be updated! Old lamps full of dust in breakfast area are disgusting.Fireplace is nice but furniture around is very old. On the bright side breakfast was good and pool is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Ashley G FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. We value all guest feed back positive or negative. Some things can go unseen. I will make sure to address the dust in the lobby area. A renovation is in the works and will be coming soon. I hope you will come to give us another try on your travels to the Gainesville area. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
It was fine . Nothing more to say, ask me again and I will not use this website again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Ashley G, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you were able to take part in our amenities packages and enjoyed the clean and comfotable rooms we offer here at The Lodge at Gainesville. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Run down hotel. Smells moldy and like cigarettes. Old carpet. Free happy hour causes a few drunks hanging out in hotel lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us while on travels to the Gainesville area. We offer clean and comfortable rooms with great amenities packages. We are coming up on our renovation soon to make to appropriate changes to the hotel. I hope you will give us another try while in the Gainesville area. Thanks again for staying with us, hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jax

coffee my way please?

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Hotel was clean with comfy bedding etc.
Cons: Breakfast area & staff.
I again was very pleased with this hotel however, I am a coffee drinker and only require one very simple thing, plain coffee cream, not hazelnut or vanilla...just plain half & half or creamer. When I asked the attendant in the dining area to get me some she said there was none. I was not the only one, several people on that morning were looking for it. I was told I could use the milk for the cereal, or nothing...I went to the front desk on my way back to my room & mentioned it to the girl. She just stared at me like I was making an unnecessary complaint and made no comment or solution. Obviously not a coffee fan. The next morning I hoped the problem would be remedied however it wasn't and I found the attendant telling others the same thing she told me the day before...Now I feel I will have to call ahead to reserve coffee cream in dining area! Also there was a handicapped couple attempting to get some assistance with getting there coffee etc. They were using canes and trembling and I got there plates etc. for them in front of the attendant who I felt could've at least done that. I feel bad in retrospect that I didn't take the time to seat them and get their food for them etc. Why am I feeling guilty when the attendant was right there witnessing the whole thing and did nothing. Needless to say law suit in the making if they fell!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do want to apologize for the breakfast experience you had while you were here. I have already addressed the creamer issue, we normally have regular creamer and non dairy creamer as well. I know have a good cup of coffee is needed in the morning to start your day. I also have spoke with the breakfast attendants about helping others in need during breakfast in any way we can. Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. That is not the norm here at The Lodge at Gainesville. I do hope that you will come back to see us again on your trips to the Gainesville area. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager