Ratings based on 1,215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy, excellent gainesville hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
This hotel is a great find in Gainesville. Very clean, great staff, nice sized rooms and a fireplace in the middle of the lobby with cozy chairs around. All this with a large free breakfast and cocktail reception in the afternoon. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review. I am happy to hear to you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. We have a lot to offer to our guest from location, breakfast and cocktails. Thank you for staying and recommending us. I hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to visit the UF campus

Posted Jan 6, 2015
The property is just off I-75 and a perfect place to visit the UF campus, a few miles down off Archer Road. The breakfast buffet is a good way to start the day and the hotel is quiet at the end of a busy day. Beds are comfy but the AC unit is a little loud
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. We have a lot to offer from our location, evening cocktails, and the deluxe breakfast. Our Lodge promise is to offer clean and comfortable rooms with the best in hospitality. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grayling, MI

Our frequent overnight.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: It feels like home.
Cons: Being over 20 years old, some things are beginning to show their age. Not bad but not sparkly either.
A Northwoods Lodge in Florida. Huge fireplace, friendly commons area, and evening open bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review. I am happy to hear you were able to take part in our great amenities package we offer hear at The Lodge at Gainesville from the complimentary cocktails each evening to the deluxe hot breakfast each morning in our open lobby with large stone fireplace. Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Easy to Get to From I-75

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Best feature of this hotel is its proximity to the Interstate and a large selection of restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is adequate but far from luxurious. The much mentioned breakfast was a disappointment because virtually all the food was gone well before closing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Bob for taking time to complete this review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. Our location is phenomenal for shopping and restaurants. I am sorry to hear about the breakfast issues. I will make sure to address that with our food and beverage manager. I hope the remainder of your stay was great. Hope to see again soon. Thanks again for staying with us have a blessed new year. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a stop-over on a long car trip.

Posted Dec 30, 2014
The room was only fairly clean. Anything beyond a cursory inspection shows dust and dirt. The air conditioner only works when a wall switch is engaged, but no one tells you this until you call the front desk. The Wi-Fi in the room is too weak to be functional. The complimentary breakfast fare is modest, and the server and dining areas are poorly laid out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. I will make sure to address that housekeeping issues with our executive housekeeper and also the breakfast issues with our food and beverage manager. That is not the standard here at The Lodge at Gainesville. The AC switch on the wall is suppose to stay flipped on all the time. I apologize for any incontinence that may have caused. The switch dose get flipped down on accident occasionally. Hope the remainder of your stay was great. Hope to see you again soon to give us another try. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa

Two Nights during Christmas

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Lobby and courtyard
Cons: elevator
Location: Lots- if never been to Gainesville and you have time to spare check out the bat houses on campus at dusk- just a few miles from here.
We have stayed here about 4 times in the last five years but stayed here this time during Christmas break. I grew up in Gainesville so I am very familiar with the area. We have been pleased with this location and the price. No it is not super upscale but it is not a run down motel either. We love the lobby area where there have an indoor fire pit with lots of seating for sitting playings cards, visiting with family, or sitting on one of many couches watching on of several TV's. They have a breakfast bar with make your own waffles, fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs, muffins etc. It is a good variety compared to other places in this price range. They also offer basic bar evening drinks like rum/coke, 7/7 for a few hours early evening. Because it was Christmas Eve and day of course they were on limited staff so things were okay nothing negative just little things like asking for more towels at desk. The executive king rooms do have small fridges in room and a small balcony for like $10 more. I would say the courtyard and lobby we love and the closeness to stores and restaurants is a great plus. It is right off of Archer Road exit near 75 behind Steak and Shake. Also nearby is Target, Outback, Bonefish, Cracker Barrel and lots of chain restaurants. Yes, some more upscale places like Grand Best Western off 39th exit is available which is nice but for about the same price I prefer Lodge because of location of things available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Sharon for taking time to complete this review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a lot to offer from clean and comfortable rooms to complimentary breakfast and cocktails every day. Location is key when traveling which is one of our great attributes. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Have a blessed new year. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville Fl.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: reasonable price & added happy hour and free breakfast
got there in the evening & had to go around the building twice to find the entrance as it was not lit up. Other than that I had a comfortable room & a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Judy for the 4 star review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. I will make sure to talk to our Maintenance Chief about the exterior lighting to make it easier to find the front entrance to our lovely lobby. Hope the remainder of your stay was great. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Have a blessed new year. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Something different and unexpected

Posted Dec 26, 2014
We will definitely stay at the Lodge again. It was a really unexpected departure from the typical discount hotels up and down the interstate. A distinctive lobby with a great fireplace and a very cozy ski lodge feel help to make it feel a little like you're much farther north than Gainesville. The rooms are not fancy, but are spacious, clean, and very comfortable for the reasonable price. The staff was very friendly, much more so than the average discount hotel, and are obviously proud of their facility. A unexpectedly great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2015 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Frank for the 5 star review. We do have a unique hotel for being in the central Florida area. Our mountain lodge feel with the stone built fireplace in the lobby sets the atmosphere for a cozy ski lodge feel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for staying with us. Look forward to see you again soon. Have a blessed new year. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2014
This stay at the Lodge was great! Nice quiet room on the 3rd floor, that was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and efficient. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you taking time to complete this review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. Where to strive to offer the best in hospitality with a touch of rustic charm. Thank you again for staying with us . Hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to amenities

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The reception area. Great for socializing.
Cons: Was disappointed not having a fridge in the room. I guess not all rooms have one. I had one the last time I was a guest.
My daughter booked this hotel for her wedding party and guests in 2012. The location and the ambience of the hotel were main factors she considered in choosing the hotel. Since then this has been our choice when visiting Gainesville. The staff are very pleasant and breakfast was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank for the 4 star review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. We at The Lodge strive to offer hospitality at its best with a touch of rustic charm. I hope to see you again soon. Have a happy holiday season. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager